Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have
If you are even thinking about taking an extended trip by motorcycle, you MUST have this book. It will become your Bible. Great tips, details on bikes, equipment, trip planning, paperwork, do's and dont's, etc. + good travel stories.
This book is geared toward offroad travel and travel trough continents. If you are riding from LA to Chicago than forget about this...
Published on November 28, 2001 by Johan Rodskog

versus
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good guidebook but ...
The author has wisely involved a number of other very experienced adventure travel riders in what has come to be regarded as perhaps the best of the very few books on the subject of international/adventure riding. There are some faults, though, to which many similar travel guides are heir. One is that circumstances change, and that what may have been correct or useful 3...
Published on November 28, 2004 by Estanislao "El Patiperro" E


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, November 28, 2001
By 
Johan Rodskog (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
If you are even thinking about taking an extended trip by motorcycle, you MUST have this book. It will become your Bible. Great tips, details on bikes, equipment, trip planning, paperwork, do's and dont's, etc. + good travel stories.
This book is geared toward offroad travel and travel trough continents. If you are riding from LA to Chicago than forget about this book. If you are planning/dreaming of a trip to South America, Asia or other foreign place then buy it right now.
If you were not planning a trip before, you will after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good guidebook but ..., November 28, 2004
The author has wisely involved a number of other very experienced adventure travel riders in what has come to be regarded as perhaps the best of the very few books on the subject of international/adventure riding. There are some faults, though, to which many similar travel guides are heir. One is that circumstances change, and that what may have been correct or useful 3 or 4 years ago when the research or experience was current, are no longer valid. To address this, there is mention of websites which tend to stay more current than the once-written-now-obsolete paper books. In general there is a good technical comparison of the relative values and utility of certain features and brand models, but there is also a detactable bias against some models which ironically are among the most commonly and successfully employed in international adventure riding. If your interests lie in the territory covered by this book, then by all means obtain a copy, bearing in mind that a great deal of independent research and thought is also in order. Think of this guide, and many others like it, as simply a point of departure for further study. If I had relied upon it as my principal data source before departing the US for Argentina on a motorcycle, I would have been woefully underprepared and misinformed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter book, July 20, 2007
By 
B.H. (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide (Paperback)
I have to say, I read this book cover to cover. I was surprised how up to date it was. I've been motorcycling for a few years for general transportation and fun. I started getting interested in adventure motorcycling this past year. I like to get off the normal tourist routes when I travel and adventure motorcycling looked like a great way to to see some parts of the world.

The book does a good job of covering all the major topics - picking a bike (it reviews 10-15 of them), what to wear, items to bring, how to pack, gear, typical mechanical issues to expect, safety, border crossings, etc. It also covers popular routes in different regions of the world. These sections are okay, but they really didn't have enough depth for me to decide where I might want to go. It only acts as a stating point. Then again, I'm sure there's TONs of routes to take per country, so I can't imagine it would be easy to add more detail to any level of comprehensivness. If the author reads this - a set of top 10 routes might be nice, especially if it included a rating system for different attributes. The second half of the book is made up of 2-5 pages short stories or diaries from riders. These stories were the best part of the whole book. I wish there were more because they're very interesting and you learn from those as well. They really leave you wanting to go out and hit the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and well editted., December 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide (Paperback)
Very good book on the subject and immensely enjoyable but I am only 1/3 thru it.

Best point is the terse language. Say what needs to be said on a particular subject and move on. Don't dwell or indulge yourself. Any english teacher would be very proud.

Worst point is the small form factor of the book which detracts from some of the black and white photography making the pictures hard to see for my 40 year old eyes. This format is meant to be taken with you on the adventure. But the author publisher could indulge himself in a large format book that is used only for the the planning stagess at home when space is not a problem. I think the english teachers would allow a bit more. Both would still be recommended. There is no deception. The listing correctly lists the format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need it or no?, June 26, 2001
This book has a lot of good pointers, especially if you have never travelled on a motorcycle before. I have done quite a bit of traveling and was looking for help in foreign motorcycle travel. I live in the USA and will be travelling south of the border so this book didn't offer much help. It would be helpful if you were in Europe and planning to travel around Europe or into Africa by motorcycle. For New Worlders, however, this book is quite lacking. There are better books out there for travelling in Central and South America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best place to start, November 16, 2008
This review is from: Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide (Paperback)
If you're even as much as thinking about riding a motorcycle unsupported across vast distances, you should buy this book. It's certainly not the be-all and end-all of adventure motorcycling, but it comes as close as possible. This is a practical, straightforward, well-written book that covers the basics of traveling across formidable terrain on two wheels.

With that said, you're definitely going to do more than just read this and take off--especially in the age of the internet (and especially if you're thinking about staying on the pavement). But look at this as your jumping-off point; and really, if you're planning on spending enough money to, say, ride a motorcycle around the world, you should start off with this relatively minuscule investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, August 13, 2009
This review is from: Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide (Paperback)
It s really a good book. A lot of info important for your trip you can find all in one place. You can also find which bike to chose for your trip.
I liked trick and tips for better ride but I wish it was more about it.
Anyway really a good one. Thumb up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No motorcycle or adventure travel collection should be without!, October 18, 2010
This review is from: Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide (Paperback)
Adventure Motorcycling Handbook: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide provides a powerful winning survey of how to use the motorcycle for world travel, offering a revised fifth edition with the latest practical tips on motorcycles, documentation, preparing a bike for touring, and trans-continental routes across Africa, Asia, Latin America and even the Australian Outback. No motorcycle or adventure travel collection should be without!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent condition, dated information, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide (Paperback)
There's a lot to be said for this book, but I didn't realize how old it was or I might have not purchased it. Much of the information is still valid, but things have changed a lot in the last 8 years - web sites, motorcycles, and even places. This book is from 2005, probably written slightly before that. Overall, in spite of the age, the book is written by someone with a lot of direct experience touring the world on an adventure motorcycle and it feeds my wanderlust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice, February 19, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Anchorage, AK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide (Paperback)
My wife bought this book for me as a gift, and I have to admit...I pretty much devoured it. Unless you are a seasoned traveler -- and maybe even then, if you aren't an experienced *motorcycle* traveler -- this book is a must-read before heading out around the world on your own. The author covers pretty much every aspect of exploring out planet on two wheels, such as stressing the importance of doing your homework before leaving, selecting a suitable bike, equipping your bike for the trip, paperwork and bureaucratic issues, the politics of border crossings and routes across the continents (obviously in rather general terms, since a detailed description of every possible route would probably require a set of books the size of the Encyclopedia Brittanica). Throughout the text, the author liberally provides anecdotes from other travelers illustrating the points he is making in that chapter or section.

I have only two criticisms of the book, and they are minor: 1) in a book, there will always be information that is outdated by the time it hits the presses; and 2) there are parts of the book that are definitely subjective by nature, and in these areas, the author's biases are evident. However, do not let these quibbles deter you from buying the book. My first objection is inherent to the medium -- there will inevitably be a lag between the author's experiences (and the reports of others whom he draws upon) and when the book is published. The author addresses this issue himself, and references his web site and other resources on the web to provide more up-to-date information. For example, he mentions that the borders in Algeria are not as easy to cross, but still discusses Egypt, Libya and Tunisia as routes into the Sahara. After the "Arab Spring" last year (and the more recent actions of the police forces in Egypt in the last couple of months), I suspect many Northern African countries are considerably less hospitable than they were when the book was penned. The second objection deals with the author's opinions, particularly about what motorcycles are best for long distance adventure touring, and in his descriptions of countries. It is obvious the author favors BMW's adventure bikes (they *are* ubiquitous), but I didn't quite understand why he was less enthusiastic about the Kawasaki KLR650 or Suzuki DR650 -- by all accounts, both eminently capable bikes. My beloved V-Strom gets barely a nod (but I'm biased, too!). Likewise, the author did not seem to be overly impressed by Cambodia inserts barely even a footnote on Malaysia. In fairness, however, he gave space to other travelers to describe their experiences, including a contributor who apparently enjoyed Cambodia immensely.

In short, despite my nit-picking above (and to be clear, it *is* nit-picking), the book is very well done and certainly worth your time to read. In particular, the author does a good job of interspersing real-life case studies from other writers like Lois Pryce and Ted Simon, which works wonders for keeping the book light-hearted, enjoyable and readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adventure Motorcycling Handbook, 5th: Worldwide Motorcycling Route & Planning Guide
Used & New from: $1.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.