Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Format: DVDChange
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon June 22, 2009
A terrier dog named Bobby, known since the mid 1800's in Edinburgh as "Greyfriars Bobby" has a monument to his devotion to his master. His story is one of love, unwavering loyalty, determination, and dog charm. Bobby became the hero and object of affection to a city, old and young, rich and poor, all united to forever keep the story of such a magnificent dog alive forever.

Bobby was nothing but a small Skye Terrier who was so devoted to his master that he could not stand to be away from his grave after the funeral. Bobby's story is of the extreme measures needed to be taken to remain atop the grave of the man he loved. The cemetery allowed no dogs.

This version, "THE ADVENTURES OF GREYFRIARS BOBBY" is a bit more accurate to the true Scotland events than the much acclaimed Walt Disney version titled "Greyfriars Bobby", the same title as the book by Indiana's author of youth books, Eleanor Atkinson. See my reviews of both the Disney DVD and the book. Both are recommended at 5 stars, just like this DVD version.

This newer release, has some really fantastic music. The scenery of the film is as good as any Scotland travelogue could provide. The tale is as heartwarming as any could be written--AND REMEMBER--this is a TRUE story, not fiction. I fell in love with Bobby.

Greyfriars Bobby will live on in the lives of the people of Edinburgh forever. It will in your mind and heart as well as soon as you watch one or more of the versions of this fine dog-devotion story. It makes no difference if you do it movie style or by reading. I recommend both.

This is one fantastic childrens' gift, although adults will enjoy it completely as well. For the very young, I might suggest the Disney version DVD, as it shows a little less peril. And Disney decided to end the story prior to Bobby's death.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2007
As I Westie owner I could not get enough of this movie and was disappointed when it ended. I absolutely loved it. It has a great moral story and really shows the attributes of Westies. A little sad at parts but overall it was uplifting and delightful.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on May 12, 2007
I am a Westie owner and loved the Westie in this movie...Since it was not available in the US, was thrilled when I saw it on Amazon. Was used but in perfect condition...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
This movie is most charming. At first the Scottish accents are so strong that it is difficult to understand. However, just turn the volume up and then things start to fall into place. It is the true story of how a dog's loyalty to his deceased master becomes a rallying cry for the poorer inhabitants of Edinburgh to contradict the local mill boss. It is very moving and conveys a message of hope against all odds. This movie makes for a wonderful family evening. A very recommendable and clean film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on May 12, 2008
The original Greyfriar's Bobby movie from Disney is one of my favorite movies... and my wife's absolute favorite. I was excited to see a new movie with a Westie in the title role. This latest version is a travesty! It strays from the original true story to put in a predictable and 100% fictitious story line involving a wicked mill owner (dirty capitalist!) who is bound to murder Bobby so his oppressed workers might not be distracted by the dog. What tripe! The original Greyfriar's Bobby story is true and the 1961 Disney sticks basically to the actual story. The actual story is truly remarkable! Why the makers of this latest version felt the need to "spice it up" I will never know. Their additions, including Bobby being a psychic and a dramatic performer of pantomime, are laughable for the wrong reasons and detract from the actual true story. Do your family a favor and buy the 1961 version instead.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2008
Where to start?.... Being of U.K. descent,you grow up with the story of "Greyfriar's Bobby" with all of it's morphings, so much so, that it is hard to know just where the legend let's off and the truth begins! Hence my difficulty here,because this is yet another version based on the story of the little Scottish Skye Terrier who would not leave his Master's grave site in Edinburgh for 11 to 14 years (depending on which wee legend tickles your fancy!). Anyhow, John Henderson (The Borrowers,Heroes & Villians: The Last Englishman and Loch Nesswho co-wrote and directed this version has a fairly saccharine Disneyesque approach that puts me in mind of The Three Lives of Thomasina....just so perfect,and squeaky clean and predictable, that it will work for kids, but not really grabbing at an adult audience like the more recent factual/fantasy The Water Horse - Legend of the Deep (Two-Disc Special Edition) did with more character development and frankly more down to earth characters.A wee bit on the frivolous side for my tastes, but young children should enjoy learning the lessons that a loyal dog has for it's owner.Do not take this film as truth...especially since Henderson chose a Westie over a Skye Terrier (which Bobby really was!).NOTE: America gets it's mold for "Lassie" and "Rin Tin Tin" from this story.NO DVD EXTRAS.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on November 2, 2007
NO, they didn't use a Skye Terrier as the story is about, but the Westy star is a winner, bordering on "too cute" at times. For a film company to want to redo this story to be more accurate, as they touted, this story isn't as strong or any closer to the real story than Disney's version. Still, it's beautifully filmed, heart-warming, and enjoyable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 26, 2007
Delightful film done in a beautiful Scottish setting circa 1858. If you've ever had a really loyal dog, then this film is for you. Great message, family friendly.

Based on a true story, this one will tug at your heart. It shows human nature at it's best and it's worst.

As a westie owner, the dog actor really showed the attributes they are known for, hunting, loyalty, persistence and rugged stubborness.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on September 13, 2007
Based on a true story that took place in Scotland in the 18th or 19th century( I can't remember which), this movie is about a terrier who is so loyal to his master that he insists on sleeping on his master's grave after the man dies from tuberculosis. However, dogs are not allowed in the cemetery. The movie's plot revolves around how Bobby (the terrier) and his human friends try to work around the silly cemetery rules. Sounds like a thin plot, but the dog (a West Highland White Terrier) is so darn cute and the Scottish accents (of the humans) are so, well, SCOTTISH,it makes for an entertaining movie. The fact that it's based on a true story also helps. (They actually have a monument to Bobby in this town in Scotland.) Don't miss the song at the end of the movie, "Here Inside," which is the most beautiful and moving song I've ever heard about missing someone who has passed away.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 13, 2013
Great movie Although the original dog was not a westie but a close cousin, the westie is the star of this movie. The movie is a fun and heart warming story. If you have or love westies then this movie will be a special treat!
The Dvd arrived quickly and was as described.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Greyfriars Bobby
Greyfriars Bobby by Donald Crisp (DVD - 2004)

Stone of Destiny
Stone of Destiny by Charlie Cox (DVD - 2013)

Greyfriar's Bobby
Greyfriar's Bobby by Eleanor Atkinson (Paperback - December 18, 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.