Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Old Radio Shows
Classic Old Radio shows starring Basil Rathbone & Nigel Bruce. The series ran from 1939-1946. This series of shows seem to be from quite late in the run. The sponsor here was Petri wine & the commercials are quite awful, but they can be overlooked. There are also a few interesting war announcements. The only problem with the cd set is that the shows are not released...
Published on January 23, 2012 by Karen R. Haynes

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaudiable
This has numerous sections which are inaudiable. Was not aware there would be commercials. Very poor quality. I am returning.
Published 7 months ago by Ellen L. Bratton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Old Radio Shows, January 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
Classic Old Radio shows starring Basil Rathbone & Nigel Bruce. The series ran from 1939-1946. This series of shows seem to be from quite late in the run. The sponsor here was Petri wine & the commercials are quite awful, but they can be overlooked. There are also a few interesting war announcements. The only problem with the cd set is that the shows are not released in chronological order & you don't know the dates of the shows (but they are from late in the series). Other than that they are great radio mysteries. A must for the Sherlock Holmes fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHERLOCK HOLMES 3, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
MY HUSBAND LOVES SHERLOCK HOLMES, WE PUT THEM ON IN THE CAR AND THE TRIPS BECOMES EASIER AND MORE FUN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elementary, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
I have the first 2 volumes,i love these old radio programs with Basil and Nigel. The chemistry is there, perfect together. Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Time Radio essentials, July 24, 2014
By 
Rumplefrogskin (Hopping on the Keyboard) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Sherlock Holmes in many incarnations for the past 45 years. My mother used to get me out of bed to watch 'The Late Show' on TV back then if they were running The Marx Brothers or Sherlock Holmes. I'd drag off to High School the next day, none too bright eyed nor bushy-tailed, but in my honest opinion, enriched for having been exposed to the likes of Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce in those fine movies.

I didn't discover Old Time Radio dramas until much later, but this was a good purchase. The dramas aren't quite up to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, but they are enjoyable nonetheless. I have a half hour drive to make several times a week, so this length is perfect to listen to one mystery driving over, and another driving back again.

I do unfortunately have a very good memory, so I have to put these away for a while thereafter to enjoy again later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basil & Nigel, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
Doesn't get much better than this for listening to old radio shows. Of course they are not the cannon and Holmes battles Nazi's and sundry other bad guys that Doyle never thought of, but who cares? These are fun stores, with two great actors that you get to spend half an hour with. The organ music is a touch cheesy, but back then I guess they thought it was great.
Swell shows that went with a swell wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
Awesome!!! Love to listen over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Inaudiable, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
This has numerous sections which are inaudiable. Was not aware there would be commercials. Very poor quality. I am returning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU CAN'T GET ENOUGH HOLMES!!, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
Virtually every program included in this & all the Rathbone/Bruce collections on CD are as satisfying & as much fun as the films (some even more than the lesser films)!! - jfa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to hear, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
Whilst the stories are somewhat diluted,the ethos of their popularity and commercial attraction s very evident. It's English literature in American cosmetic clothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two of the best ever, August 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three (Audio CD)
Their will never be another like these two greats. Hollywood don't know how to produce stories like these. Morgan Freeman in "Alone Came A Spider" was very, very, good, but he could not match these two greats. Hollywood is sad, I don't see much coming out of the Wood, we need to find our way back some how. The Wood make good movies to make big money, lets see them make a great movie to last for all times. These radio plays are some of the great works that Hollywood produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three
The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Collection Volume Three by Denis Green (Audio CD - December 6, 2011)
$14.99 $11.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.