Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventures in Zambezia
Let me just confess that I missed this one; don't even know if it hit the theaters. It flew under my radar and, if it weren't for the Blu-ray and DVD release, I would have never known about it. And it would have been a shame, because "Adventures in Zambezia" rocks! This is one truly entertaining and funny animated movie for the whole family, that come to us from South...
Published 22 months ago by Carlos E. Velasquez

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
For youg kids this movie would be great
Published 6 months ago by gamemaster


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventures in Zambezia, March 18, 2013
Let me just confess that I missed this one; don't even know if it hit the theaters. It flew under my radar and, if it weren't for the Blu-ray and DVD release, I would have never known about it. And it would have been a shame, because "Adventures in Zambezia" rocks! This is one truly entertaining and funny animated movie for the whole family, that come to us from South Africa, of all places.

The story takes place in the beautiful African landscape, where we immediately meet young Kai and his father Tendai, two intrepid falcons that are freely flying in the majestic sky of the savannas and canyons. Tendai is teaching Kai to improve his flying and hunting techniques. The father is a little angry, because his son doesn't follow instructions and is not careful enough. Once they return to their nest, they have an argument, because Kai wants to be more able to explore and see new places. Tendai leaves the nest, and leaves Kai alone for a while. It is at this time that they receive the unexpected visit of one of Tendai's old friends, who is carrying some pigeons with her. She is running away from two vultures-like birds who want to capture the pigeons. Tendai's friend tells Kai that they are on the way to Zambezia, which is the best, safe place to live, a "paradise for birds." Once Tendai returns to the nest, his friend leaves, because they had a disagreement - Tendai had bad memories about Zambezia. Kai, however, wants to go and see that fabulous place, and departs by himself - against his father's will -- in search of this promised land. Once he safely arrives to Zambezia, he discovers that it is indeed a great place. Furthermore, he wants to join "The Hurricanes," the "air force" that protects Zambezia, and which is comprised of the best of the best, the strongest birds in the colony. However, Kai's visit to Zambezia coincides with Budzo's (a giant lizard) plan to conquer this paradise. At the same time, Kai will learn things about his past which will play a role in his future.

"Adventures in Zambezia" has nothing to envy from the animation made by US studios. I have read commentaries that claim that the animation is a little outdated. I don't think so. The animation and script are sound, with a story involving good versus evil, with a love story in between. And the colors and landscapes are just awesome. Give it a try; you won't be disappointed. Plus, the voices are from Hollywood actors, such as Samuel Jackson, Leonard Nimoy, Abigail Breslin, Jeff Goldblum, and others. This is as good as it gets. The Blu-ray includes four featurettes and a music video (South Africa, 2012, color, 82 min plus additional materials).

Reviewed on March 18, 2013 by Eric Gonzalez for Sony Blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Fun Movie...Reminds Me of "Rio", May 12, 2013
By 
Gerard D. Launay (Berkeley, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Crazy birds, competent animation, and particularly a smashing South African soundtrack....this is one of the lesser known films for the whole family. This is a movie where the story unfolds only between the animals.

A young falcon (Kai) is brought up by his father bird alone in an African desert, but dreams of becoming independent and meeting friends. His father is anxiously overprotective, wants to isolate the young bird from danger, but ultimately Kai learns that somewhere in Africa there is a "bird oasis" - a world where birds flock and are safe from harm. Dad (Tendai) knows about the bird sanctuary...but has never encouraged his son to travel there or learn from the other birds. Curious. Bored and lonely and rebellious, Kai decides to wing it on his own to see Zambezia for himself. Here, the young fellow learns about his birth in Zambezia, falls in love, and struggles to prove himself worthy in the avian community. But there are predatory birds and lizards who have other plans...for the falcon and for Zambezia itself.

I reduced my score from 5 to 4 simply because the plot elements are predictable. Notwithstanding, the animation is done with panache and charm.

Every once in a while, I don't want to watch "Citizen Kane" or some other profound, complex movie. Just want entertainment - Think of this film as a fun adventure, and definitely enjoy the music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER BIRD MOVIE ADDED TO MY COLLECTION, July 15, 2014
This review is from: Adventures in Zambezia (DVD)
i bought this movie because it was another bird movie such as RIO1,2 and PENGUINS OF MADAGASCAR...The main character, KAI(a young falcon) leaves his home to head to a location in the distance named Zambezia, the fabulous city of birds.There he learns that he was born there and was later living out in the open plains area along with his parents but learns that his mom had died while he was an egg...
There are many colorful plumage of birds in this movie. Plus, loved the many various music playing during the movie and at the ending credits rolling-by....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saw the preview, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adventures in Zambezia (DVD)
we had seen the preview to this movie and thought it looked good and was not disappointed thank you so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great family film, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was very entertaining for the entire family! It's hard to find something the entire family can enjoy, but they did it with Zambezia! I highly recommend this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventures In Zambezia, November 16, 2014
This review is from: Adventures in Zambezia (DVD)
this is a awesome movie. I didn't expect this movie to be that good. I expected this movie to be one of those cheap animated films. but I was wrong. this movie is pretty good. and I was surprised to see the cast. this movie has a great cast. the animation was good and so was the story. this is a good movie for kids and adults. if you have not seen this movie then I recommend you do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love birds and this is a very cute story, August 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this movie for a friend because I had it myself. I love birds and this is a very cute story. My only complaint was the color of the falcons. Adults are blue and juveniles are brown. So the colors on the father and sun were reversed. But nice story about a young falcon that wants to set off to new lands to find adventure and defend his friends in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adventures in Zambezia (DVD)
For youg kids this movie would be great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adventures in Zambezia (DVD)
awesome movie and delievery time, very happy with this purchase :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good family movie, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adventures in Zambezia (DVD)
Fun movie, good theme, nice action for the entire family. Kids will watch it over and over again. Yes I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adventures in Zambezia
Adventures in Zambezia by Adventures in Zambezia (DVD - 2013)
$14.99 $8.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.