Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic tools for the online gold rush
My experience was similar to that of "gordo the lordo." Plenty of clicks but just a few orders. Getting clicks isn't hard. What kind of clicks? That's the $1,000,000 question.

As a search engine advertiser, your task is to capture the clicks of consumers who have made a buying decision or are very close. These clicks will make money for you. The clicks of...
Published on September 6, 2007 by Rufus Quail

versus
83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Basic
I got through this entire book in under an hour. Unless you're looking for the most basic of introductions to online affiliate marketing and pay-per-click advertising, save your money. This book is so basic it can't even be called a primer. Fully half the book is used to describe how to sign up with affiliate programs and create an Adwords account. This book offers no...
Published on April 23, 2007 by Danny K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Basic, April 23, 2007
By 
Danny K. (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
I got through this entire book in under an hour. Unless you're looking for the most basic of introductions to online affiliate marketing and pay-per-click advertising, save your money. This book is so basic it can't even be called a primer. Fully half the book is used to describe how to sign up with affiliate programs and create an Adwords account. This book offers no guidance on researching profitable niches or keywords, doesn't even mention an "ad portfolio" or describe why you may (or may not) want to manage your ads with a portfolio approach, and gives the most simplistic formulas for measuring campaign performance. The most sophisticated advice it gives can be summed up in two sentences: "Don't set your daily budget too high; you may lose a lot of money quickly." and "Make sure your campaigns are bringing in more money than you are spending." The final chapter is called "Working At Home: Legal and Tax Requirements." It touches on "starting your own business" topics so lightly that the chapter would have been better left out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic start but could leave you broke.., July 11, 2007
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
Its true that money can be made by signing up for affiliate programs and marketing them on pay per click search engines. However, its possible to lose a great deal of money and this book doesn't do a good enough job helping people calculate the risks. For example, the author indicates he markets Amazon products. Amazon on its basic associate program pays 4%. A $20.00 book pays a comission of .80 cents. But in pay per click advertising a marketer can pay 30, 40 cents and even a dollar depending on the keywords. In a test marketing the new Harry Potter book (book 5) I spent over 9.00 in ppc ads that resulted in 4 sales. The click thru to sale was 13%... which isn't bad. The point is, I earned only about $2, but spent over $9.00 to earn it (a loss of $7.00). The author doesn't explain how to choose affiliate programs in terms of cost vs. payoff. Anyone who reads this book will get some basic information, but before spending money on ppc advertising they'd be better off buying The Ultimate Guide to Google Adwords which does a better job explaining keywords, writing effective ads and managing campaigns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Issue #1: A very Misleading and Deceptive Title .... Issue #2: ..., June 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
The stuff explained in the book is outdated to an extend that it should not be applied as described (or even can't).

Issue #3 Some examples would violate a lot affiliate agreements today. A beginner would be ill advised to do some of the things described in the book or will risk getting into serious trouble.

Issue #4 It is aiming at people without any knowledge about internet marketing who probably buy the book, because of the promising title, only to find out the hard way that they wasted not only money, but also time.

If you are a newbie to the subject, do yourself a favor and spend your money on other books from Justin Michie, Jeremy Palmer and Rosalinde Gardner for example.

The only positive thing I could find was the fact that the book is pretty cheap for a new hardcover.

Note:

I also like to note that the book got four reviews with 5 stars. What is funny about them is the fact that all four reviewers only happened to review this one book, with exception of one of them who reviewed a second product on the same day when he reviewed this book.

Either did somebody skew the reviews or the book causes one group of people to get extremely excited and do something they never did before and the other group of people to shake their heads in disbelieve that something like that made it actually to the printing press.

If you read the reviews and this comment, think and make up your own mind. You have a brain and a heart and able to be your own judge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Technique but no cookie, October 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
As someone who has spent over a decade on the Internet, I understand the fundamentals of the building of a tool or the utilization of a tool that can be used to generate money online. If you understand this too, then skip this one.

This book is for the complete novice. BUT if that novice buys it, they will regret it because they will spend hours and hours toiling to get to an expert level of understanding on how to build and utilize a system such as this and then be faced with the same outcome I was.

There is absolutely no recommendation for products and services that do well in this environment. All of the check copies posted in the book were dated from 2005 which most folks know was the hay-day of the search marketplace and literally was the first year in existence for the pay-per-click marketplace. Today's marketplace, especially in the affiliate realm, is extremely more competitive largely because of books like this. There was no effort expended in addressing this competitive pressure and the resulting gap reduction between affiliate commission and PPC bids.

At the end of the day, folks, there are no easy millions. You must be ahead of a trend like Mr. Borelli, to exploit such an opportunity. Once the rest of the world has caught up, the only thing you can hope to do is ... you guessed it ... sell a book to teach others how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic tools for the online gold rush, September 6, 2007
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
My experience was similar to that of "gordo the lordo." Plenty of clicks but just a few orders. Getting clicks isn't hard. What kind of clicks? That's the $1,000,000 question.

As a search engine advertiser, your task is to capture the clicks of consumers who have made a buying decision or are very close. These clicks will make money for you. The clicks of people who are "just browsing" will cost you money. You have to be a student of online search behavior.

You capture money-making clicks by finding highly relevant keywords and writing focused ads. How hard can it be? Get your ads up and running, tweak them, and watch the money roll in. You only need basic English skills and common sense. A degree in advertising or English is not going to help.

I would encourage anyone to try it because you may discover that you have the knack. By spending $500 or so, you should be able to get an idea how well you might do. Don't make the mistake I made, which was to let my ads capture several hundred clicks without getting any orders. I kept thinking "the orders will kick in." They didn't. Stop your ads after 200-300 clicks and wait for results. (Even 50 clicks are too many with retail sites.) You can either tweak the ad (if it's close to break-even) or abandon it and try something else. Tweaking wouldn't have helped my ads, which earned pennies for every dollar spent on clicks.

You are playing the keyword market on Google. Some keywords sell for $20 per click and more. Search engine advertisers don't get caught up in keyword "bubbles." They are only after potent "value" keywords that sell for 25 cents or less.

The keyword market is like a gold rush. Everywhere you look the ground is torn up by hordes of stampeding prospectors. You wander far and wide hoping to find a stone that hasn't been turned. How many thousands of other guys are out there trying the same thing? Good luck.

You never know. You might have the knack. Affiliate Millions gives you everything you need to know to get started. When I joined my first affiliate program and set up my first ads, I had the book open and followed it not step-by-step but word-for-word. It's just the kind of "excruciating" detail a beginner needs.

Mr. Borelli explains how to evaluate the earnings potential of an affiliate program. The profit, or course, depends on your revenue per click. An adgroup for $20 books may not be the way to go.

Should you actually make money, there is a chapter on campaign finance. You have to manage your cash flow to optimize performance. If another book on online advertising has this kind of chapter, I haven't seen it.

Mr. Borelli has set up the Affiliate Millions website for "prospectors." The only item listed for sale is the book. There is a free monthly newsletter. There are no ads. Mr. Borelli answers questions on the site's discussion board. If you are at all familiar with the "get rich online" racket you know how exceptional this is. Such sites are usually crammed with ads and have little useful information.

Mr. Borelli's advice is a bit sketchy and vague. He has developed a magic formula for writing ads that attract buyers while somehow discouraging clicks of the merely curious. He's not about to share his ad-writing insights. His only comment is "Content is King." OK.

Evidently, if Mr. Borelli were to provide even broad hints, everyone would catch on and put him out of business. You get all the sizzle but no steak. On his website, Mr. Borelli offers to critique ads sent to him by acolytes. Take him up on the offer. Maybe you too will discover those hypnotic buzzwords that make the difference between zero and hero.

Mr. Borelli makes no promises that prospectors will get rich. He merely suggests that it is possible. He ends the opening chapter with "Take it step-by-step and read the chapters that follow, and you'll stand a good chance of becoming an Affiliate Millionaire yourself." If he starts the book by saying your chances are practically nil, no one will continue reading.

Like "gordo," I'm amazed that anyone could make millions at this. A million dollars in a year is $2,700 a day. You would have to consider yourself pretty successful with $2,700 a day in SALES, never mind commissions. You would have to strike it rich with multiple million-dollar campaigns. You would have to come up with new ones all the time.

Think of the millions in revenue Mr. Borelli is generating for the companies he advertises for. They should throw a party for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work for me, August 20, 2007
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
I tried the principles in this book. I set up some ads for a variety of products and different companies through Commission Junction and was, at first, delighted that I was getting a good amount of clicks. I was confident the ads were good enough because of some experience I've had in the past writing copy.

However, after over 250 clicks to major websites that boasted a large earnings per click, I got one sale and a large $ loss. The ads were good enough to catch the people's attention, but no one was buying.

I think this is a tough way to go at it. A website might be the better way to go. I am amazed that anyone could make any money doing this, never mind millions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Affiliate Marketing for Newbies, June 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
I'm always on the lookout for new books on affiliate marketing, and I recently came across "Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune Using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond," published April 13, 2007.

The book is geared towards affiliates, and I was anxious to read it, as there are few books about the industry, and a lack of resources to provide quality training for affiliates.

To be honest, I was disappointed in the book. While the book promises the reader they can "Make a Fortune Using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond," the approach was elementary. Not the sort of level that's going to bring somebody their affiliate millions.

The book kicks off with explanations of affiliate and search marketing and then follows with individual chapters dedicated to somewhat intuitive processes like joining an affiliate network, applying to an affiliate program, and setting up a ppc search campaign.

Each step in excruciating detail. It seems like they were trying to reach a word minimum, rather than write a helpful guide for affiliates.

If you're brand new to affiliate marketing, this book could be helpful in pointing you in the right direction. But if you've been working as an affiliate for a couple minutes, you'll have a hard time reading beyond the first chapter.

Also, being that it's a print book, some of the key information is already out of date.

The central theme of Affiliate Millions is that affiliate should buy traffic from the pay per click search engines and send that traffic straight to the advertiser's site.

One of the affiliate programs prominently cited in the book is eBay. The problem with this example is that the strategy endorsed by the book (sending traffic straight from ppc search engines to advertisers) is something the eBay affiliate program no longer permits.

Also, I noticed a screenshot in Chapter 2 (Learning About Affiliate Advertising) where a search on MSN is shown with "iPod Nano" as the keyword being targeted. The Apple affiliate program forbids buying keywords with any of their trademarked names.

So if you get Affiliate Millions, take the advice with a grain of salt. It's a decent introductory book for the newest of new newbies.

Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend the book for affiliate marketers with any degree of experience under their belts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, March 22, 2010
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
I just bought this book because I wanted to learn how to be a search marketer. This book came out in '07, and in just three short years so much has changed in the world of internet marketing. This book is outdated and much of the information in it is useless and irrelevant now. The author promises to show you how to make money online without the need to create a website, but most advertisers don't allow you to do that anymore. Do not make the mistake that I made. When buying a book on any subject regarding the internet, make sure it is up-to-date, I would say the safest bets would be a publishing date of a year or less, if possible (today the ideal would be late '09-'10). This will ensure you get information on the latest trends in anything having to do with websites and/or the world of the internet. I am promptly returning this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of Date, March 16, 2011
By 
Ryan Till (Elmhurst, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
I just read this book on a 12 hour road trip. I took lots of notes and was very excited to get back to my computer to try out all I learned. When I got back to the computer and checked some things out, I unfortunately learned that the search marketing taught in this book isn't really allowed anymore by most advertisers. You cannot direct link to most advertisers' websites anymore. While the book was very well written and easy to understand, it is really disappointing that most of it can't actually be applied in the "real" world anymore. Being that it was published in 2007, I'm not surprised that things have changed since then. Lesson learned: in the technological and internet world, don't rely on information that is over 3 years old (or 6 months to be more realistic!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ever got burnt in PPC advertising?, November 6, 2010
This review is from: Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond (Hardcover)
This book advises that you do direct marketing of an advertiser's products using search engine via PPC ads. Be careful! If you've ever got burnt thousands of dollars through PPC advertising, please read more elsewhere first. Why send our hard-earned dollars to an advertiser's landing pages directly when statistics show that the vast majority of online visitors will NEVER buy at first glance from ANY website?

Common sense tells you that you'd be wasting your money placing ads for advertisers (they're the ones getting FREE advertising through you) while you hope to get lucky gambling away your hard-earned money in PPC advertising, hoping that a visitor will buy someone else's product that you're spending money to advertise. You're the one spending hard-earned dollars for advertisers whom you don't personally know, while facts show that visitors aren't buying anything, most won't anyway, not at the first visit. In business, you don't bank on hopes and pipedreams, lessons can be hard on you. Try claiming your money back from Google and see what they say. Don't say that you've not been warned.

The author doesn't comprehensively cover competitive keyword research in this book, when the subject of research is an important one. Typing a few keywords using a basic search tool isn't enough. The author also doesn't provide his list of keywords that made him successful, so is he really thinking about OUR success after having his first claimed million dollars? Like most gurus online, he doesn't want us to be his competition! After being scammed online from so many so-called gurus, I've come to believe that because they don't want competition by revealing their secrets, they want attention which is free traffic for them, they make money selling pipe-dreams, they write books, courses, etc. as smokescreens. So, may I conclude that this book could be a distraction to pointing us in the wrong direction so that we readers can't imitate what he really does in reality?

Reviewer devonsky3 "devonsky3" says that this book is outdated. He's right.
The world has changed so much since the first publication of this book in 2007.
This is the year 2010. Read and learn from books that are published since 2009.
A lot of things online have evolved since 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Affiliate Millions: Make a Fortune using Search Marketing on Google and Beyond
$24.95 $16.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.