Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Commendable Documentation of African-American Art, April 2, 2004
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
Samella Lewis has updated and further developed her definitive guide on African-American Art. As a former student instructed on the subject with her first edition of this book as our class text, I can definitively say that this book provides a solid understanding of the different art movements and a variety of examples of the works. Also from the perspective of a young museum professional who has worked with African-American art collections, I highly recommend this volume as a foundation of basic knowledge on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars African American Art and Artists, Revised and Expanded Edition, July 19, 2005
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
Excellent book! It has pictures and a bio on todays black artists. My favorite would have to be Ben Jones, my old college professor! lol [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got it for class, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
When I ordered this book on Amazon, I was not sure what the quality was like or if it was in fact the right textbook. When it came, it was in perfect order for being a used book and was not missing any pages. It also was the right book for class and contains a lot of information regarding African American Artists, mainly the ones of the visual sorts. Good read, lots of images in black/white and also in color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, cheap textbook, September 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Is an older edition but is basically the same as the newest edition being used in my African American Art History class. Condition was as described by seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!!!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
I bought this book for my humanities class and it is really worth having in your collection both for your education and your home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars African American Art and Artists wonderful, July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
The book was so interesting. I read 100 pages at a time. It was a good broad overview. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great information on the history of African American Art, September 13, 2013
By 
aries_BLU (Bay Area, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
This is a book that was a necessary component in an African American Art History course that I took, and it definitely accomplished the job. It is an older edition, but that does not detract from the bountiful amount of information about art in each respective periods, as well as the colorful pictures of artwork that accompany as examples. This is a great and useful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have, September 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Get this book before it becomes unavailable. A critical part and enlightening review of American art history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 6, 2014
By 
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
More color photos would really upgrade this book, but its a facinating and much needed history book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was good, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: African American Art and Artists (Paperback)
It met the requirements and I had no problems with it. The highlighting weren't too much and it was quite neat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

African American Art and Artists
African American Art and Artists by Samella Lewis (Paperback - March 18, 2003)
$41.95 $36.87
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.