Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspense Thriller / Good story writing
I picked this movie up with friends one night on a whim at video store. It looked interesting and that it was. A four story suspense thriller. A college professor invites students over one night to talk about psychological studies of the mind. He begins to tell suspenseful tales of scary scenarios. Then the students play a joke on him. The end story is the most schocking...
Published on April 29, 2004 by N. Damiano

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but not good
In the vein of stuff like Creepshow and the like comes a movie about a strange college professor (Ramy Zada), who attempts to provide to his students the most intimate understanding of fear by scaring them as much as he can.

So they go to his house and tell typical urban legends complete with women in distress, creepy phone calls, empty gas stations, and yes, a...
Published on December 29, 2005 by PolarisDiB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspense Thriller / Good story writing, April 29, 2004
This review is from: After Midnight [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I picked this movie up with friends one night on a whim at video store. It looked interesting and that it was. A four story suspense thriller. A college professor invites students over one night to talk about psychological studies of the mind. He begins to tell suspenseful tales of scary scenarios. Then the students play a joke on him. The end story is the most schocking one. All the stories are creepy and suspenseful. Very good story telling and writing also quite frightening a good horror movie with imagination rather than the usual gore and slash. One of my favorite suspense movies worth viewing with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but not good, December 29, 2005
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
In the vein of stuff like Creepshow and the like comes a movie about a strange college professor (Ramy Zada), who attempts to provide to his students the most intimate understanding of fear by scaring them as much as he can.

So they go to his house and tell typical urban legends complete with women in distress, creepy phone calls, empty gas stations, and yes, a flat tire in front of a scary mansion. Well, it started all right.

The three stories are overarched by the story of the students in the professor's house, one that has its own sort of horror conceits coming in towards the end. In typical 80s b-movie bonanza, it's just a dream. So honestly, if you're looking for something--I don't know--compelling? you won't find it here. This is just something to have around for, like, television fright night specials or Halloween ghoulies for preteens.

Which is too bad, because the beginning of this movie points out something very important, something that I wish horror film makers would realize to a stronger degree and utilize correctly: fear is a profound psychological effect, and in a way, it's important to feel strong levels of fear to understand yourself more, how you function and who you are. Too bad horror movies then just throw all that stuff away for cheap skeleton effects, bugs, and cat-out-of-the-bag gags.

Oh well.

--PolarisDiB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "To understand fear, you have to experience fear.", November 1, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
I do enjoy horror anthologies, as it allows for short stories to be presented in such a way as to appeal to their strength, that being that they're short (as a bonus, if you don't like one story, another is coming soon). Let's face it, if you tried to stretch some of these tales out to a feature length film, they just wouldn't work...keep it short and sweet, and move on...which is exactly what they do here in the film After Midnight (1989). And speaking of horror anthologies, I'm especially looking forward to the upcoming remake of the 1982 film Creepshow, along with Creepshow 3, both tentatively scheduled for a 2006 release...but back to this film...co-written and co-directed by Jim and Ken Wheat, the brothers who wrote the story for the movie Pitch Black (2000), the film features Marg Helgenberger ("China Beach", Species), Ramy Zada (The Judas Project, "Port Charles"), Jillian McWhirter (Strangeland), Marc `Jimmy Olsen' McClure (Superman, Back to the Future), Pamela Segall (Sgt. Bilko), Judie Aronson (Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter, Weird Science), Nadine Van der Velde (Moving Violations, Critters), and Luis Contreras (Extreme Prejudice, Alien Avengers II), among others.

The film begins on a college campus where we see a blonde girl named Allison (McWhirter) meeting up with her friend Cheryl (Segall). It's the first day of class, and something isn't sitting well with Allison (probably her lunch)...actually, it's the course Cheryl talked her into taking, a psychology class the students have dubbed Fear 101. Here we meet Professor Edward Derek (Zada)...why he has two first names I have no idea...and we quickly see his methods are a bit out of the ordinary, along with learning his belief that to truly understand something, you must experience it...after a student complains about the Professor's unorthodox ways (there's always a whiner in the bunch), the Professor offers to hold seminars in his home, for those students truly interested in further exploring the subject matter at hand, outside of the restrictive college classroom setting. A handful of students arrive later that night as a storm begins kicking up, and the group begins passing scary stories around, the first being about a young married couple, out celebrating the mans birthday, finishing out the night by taking a midnight drive. Their car breaks down near a creepy, secluded mansion (legend has it it's a murder house) on a twisty, coastal road, and they're forced to seek help from within...a light indicates someone might have taken residence of the long vacant property, but I wonder if they'll be helpful...the second story involves four young girls out for a night of fun in the city (girls gone mild), but circumstances lead them to get lost in a very deserted warehouse district. After a run in with a greasy, crazed, knife-wielding drifter, his bitey dogs pursue the girls vigorously. The third story features Helgenberger as Alex, the lone overnight operator at an answering service who ends up taking numerous phone messages for one of her female clients from a real wack-a-doo. Obsession quickly turns to murder, and Alex soon finds out she's next on the mental defective's `kill' list.

The film consists of three proper stories, tied together by a fourth, usually called the `wraparound'. The wraparound story is generally the weakest part in the horror anthology film, as its primary function is to serve as filler between the stories and pad out the running time, and here this holds true. On the surface the wraparound tale here seems kinda cool, tying itself into the other three stories, but it uses a technique, which I won't disclose as not to spoil things, that I generally abhor only because it allows for so much leeway and opens the door for the laziness exhibited here near the end of the film. Things quickly switch from interesting to just plain bizarre, to which I immediately guessed what was going on and where the story was headed, thereby putting the kibosh on any surprise intended by the writers. As far as the various stand alone stories, I thought they were pretty well done, for the most part. The first tale featuring the young couple was a fun one, complete with a spooky house, great atmosphere, and good set up, but I did manage to figure the twist out before it was revealed. The second story seemed the weakest, as it involved no twist, and I found the characters fairly annoying and ultimately victims of their own stupidity. The good thing is the character I found the most bothersome ended up becoming kibble for the dogs, the bad thing is the rest didn't...the third story, featuring Helgenberger, was the best of the bunch, despite some flaws. The antagonist character was a bit over the top, and I couldn't figure out why Helgenberger's character didn't call the police immediately after she learned the stalker was in her client's apartment (she only called her boss). Seems to me this would have been standard operating procedure, but whatever...the pacing is quick, keeping you on your toes, allowing little time to figure out what's going on before the surprise ending. The good thing about all these stories is that they're kept relatively simple, move along well, and populated by professional actors, although I didn't care much for Zada as Professor Edward Derek. He's certainly a handsome man, but his portrayal felt odd only for the sake of being odd, and not a characteristic emanating from within the character himself (his dumb antics at the school would have surely gotten him fired, and most likely arrested, deservedly so). One aspect I liked was how the directors were able to develop some worthwhile tension at a number of points in the movie, keeping my interest throughout. The bad thing is the was a sense of predictability and familiarity throughout, but the effort was there (except for at the very end), and that counts for something with me.

The DVD has both the anamorphic widescreen (1.85:1) and fullscreen formats, and looks very clean. The Dolby Digital mono audio comes through very well, with no complaints. There is an original theatrical trailer included, but nothing else in terms of extras. All in all, a decent film with some good moments, but I'd definitely recommend renting before buying.

Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Scary Movie with one outstanding story., April 29, 2002
By 
Daisy Randone (Chicago's North Side (Edgewater)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After Midnight [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of those with four different stories connected by stories being told by a group of people. They all manage to be frightening, especially the one about the teenage girls and the very last on with miss CSI herself, I warn you to lock your doors and leave the light on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tell Me A Story..., May 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
A college professor teaches a class entitled, "The Psychology Of Fear", using unconventional and controversial methods to get his message across (fear can only be understood through experiencing it). After being reprimanded, the prof decides to invite any brave students back to his home for further study. A small group shows up, and the storytelling begins. STORY #1- A young couple venture into an old, abandoned house after getting two flat tires. Of course, the place has an eeevil and mysterious history, culminating in shock and death! STORY #2- Four teen girls find themselves in the "bad part of town" while looking for a swingin' night spot. This leads to an evening of terror when they are confronted by a knife-wielding madman and his attack dogs! STORY #3- A late-night answering service operator (Marg Helgenberger from SPECIES 1 and 2, MR. BROOKS, tv's CSI) is caught up in a homicidal maniac's deadly night of revenge. AFTER MIDNIGHT is an exceptional horror anthology w/ a very good wrap-around story to anchor its three suspenseful yarns. Highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decent starts, but bad writing leads to bad endings., March 12, 2014
By 
Doctor Dean (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
I saw some positivie reviews for this set, and have been so disappointed in horror films lately that I thought I would try it. Each one of these little stories starts out with a good premise, and could have turned out truly frightening. However, bad writing, plentiful plot holes, and "forced" endings made them all, in the end, boring and ridiculous. I guess the positive reviews must have come from the writers and actors and production company owners--I don't see how anyone, unless they were trying to sell a copy, could find these as "excellent," which is what "five stars" should mean. If you like to be frightened, try the first few seasons of the After Dark Horror Fest: Eight Movies to Die For, the two seasons of Masters of Horror (and follow up one season of Fear Itself), or the Ghost House Underground collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Saturday Night Scary Movie, August 18, 2007
By 
Jeff Marzano (Essex Junction, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
This would be a great movie for teenagers to watch on a Saturday night.

It's based on an interesting idea which is what is fear.

It's funny because this guy is supposed to be a college professor but his teaching methods are unorthadox to say the least. Kids might actually believe that a teacher could do something like that.

This is one of those movies I had seen many years ago and then one day I started thinking about it and miraculously I was able to find it without knowing the title. I thought the star was Christoper Reeve so I searched on him but somehow found it even though it's someone else.

Jeff Marzano

Phantasm

The Thing from Another World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but a nice little thiller!, February 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
Three short stories with one wrap around story.
Each story offers something different. Nothing really gory, but good stories. The best stories are the first one, about a couple who break down and go to a roadside abandoned house for help, and the last story about a stalker. the middle story, about 4 girls going out for a wild night on the town and are running out of gas is good, but not as good as the other two. And the wrap around story is just so-so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1.5 STARS: Interesting idea for a mini anthology, but could have been much better., October 29, 2005
By 
HorrorMan "HM" (The Marsten House) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
Please allow me to preface this review by stating that I like "After Midnight" overall...I really do, but some of the movie was lame in my opinion. The first story about the abandoned house wasn't very good in my opinion, although it could very well have been...the setting was there for it, but I just didn't like the story...it wasn't scary and it was very predictable. If you have a scary house, go with that theme and use it to the fullest, but the way that story ended was kinda sorry.

The second story was the worst in my opinion...it starts out like it might be good with the teenaged girls in the wrong place at the wrong time, but the crazy guy they run into and the killer dogs just didn't do it for me from a horror movie fan's perspective. I just did not find the killer dog idea to be conduicive for genuine horror because it was not scary. Yeah, I am scared of killer dogs, but it is not a good idea for a horror movie and if I wanted to watch a killer dog movie, I would watch "Cujo" which is much better, but I don't find it scary either. I don't know...maybe it's because I like dogs.

The third story is truly great!!! I think this story about the psychopathic killer and the the girls/operators at the answering service is a true masterpiece and would make a great movie!! What a great idea and setting for a horror movie...I am surprised this has not been picked up on and developed into an actual movie because it would work nicely. There is horror and suspense in this story because you don't know what's going to happen, but you know someone is going to be murdered. The killer is somewhat psychotic, unpredictable and is fairly convincing as a killer. The fact that the operator is alone in this building (despite the futile presence of Ray) is very scary and the story has a great ending.

The third story is definitely the highlight and the reason that I like this movie overall. Finally, the plot behind the stories themselves which involves the psychology of fear class was interesting in my opinion and while I did like the idea, I thought it could have been better and executed in a more effective manner. The professor does a decent job as the crazy professor and is a little bit creepy to a certain degree in a mild kind of way, but it's not good enough to make a scary movie as it is executed poorly which makes it come off rather artificial. Perhaps, if there was more theme and character development with the psychology of fear class, the movie would have been better overall, but in this area, the movie lacked a viable atmosphere necessary for cinematic horror development. Still, "After Midnight" is mildly entertaining as is.

All and all, I would have liked the third story about the serial killer and operator to have been longer and more fully developed, drop the other two sorry stories or at least change the scary mansion one for a better script, and finally, I just felt that the psycho psychology professor and class could have been developed and executed better to create an overall finer product...overall, I thought the Professor came off looking like a pu$$y. Still, "After Midnight" isn't a total zero (I've seen a lot worse I'm afraid) as a late night endeavor for the die-hard horror movie buff, but don't expect too much aside from the high points that I mentioned above. Two stars is really being too generous to this movie..."After Midnight" deserves 1.5 STARS at the very most and my grade as well as my review for this movie reflects this fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MGM screws up again, February 24, 2006
By 
Edward Aycock (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Midnight (DVD)
The movie itself is an overly tame, bloodless piece that would merit a PG-13 nowadays. The stories are okay, with Marg Helgenberger turning in the film's best performance as a victimized answering service operator, but there's nothing else about the film that stands out.

Except ...

MGM Home Video, the people that messed up the ratios of the Ingmar Bergman films a few years ago, and then rereleased "The Graduate" on DVD in the same non-anamorphic print with a new cover proves they are still asleep at the wheel by claiming this DVD is anamorphic. It isn't. Another disappointment from a once major studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

After Midnight
After Midnight by Ken Wheat (DVD - 2005)
$11.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.