Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful 3rd Album!
I am really enjoying this album... The first song does veer towards pop rather than traditional, but it is an excellent song! There are also several awesome songs that tend more toward the traditional... like The Snows They Come The Soonest and Bold Jamie. Then there's Garden Valley, written by Scotland's modern poet laureate, Dougie MacLean, that Cara does a magnificant...
Published on July 12, 2007 by RC Metcalf

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting
Cara Dillon has been one of the artists I regularly listen to with great joy. Her voice and interpretation of the folk genre are phenomenal. Play either of her two previous albums and you'll be amazed. I've had many friends listen to Cara Dillon and become instant fans. Sadly, this album is not quite up to the standard I've come to expect from this artist...
Published on June 9, 2006 by Fractured Fantasy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, June 9, 2006
By 
Fractured Fantasy (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After the Morning (Audio CD)
Cara Dillon has been one of the artists I regularly listen to with great joy. Her voice and interpretation of the folk genre are phenomenal. Play either of her two previous albums and you'll be amazed. I've had many friends listen to Cara Dillon and become instant fans. Sadly, this album is not quite up to the standard I've come to expect from this artist.

In this album Cara Dillon begins to experiment and blend different musical styles. Rock/pop and bluegrass influences are certainly clear. Although Ms Dillon wasn't what you'd considerer a 'hard core' folk artist, she was pretty much solidly in the folk genre. When I listen to certain tracks on this album, I feel as if they have been watered down to meet public expectations, rather than a unique blend of styles. In some cases the final product just ended up sounding awkward or strange. Usually I like music that defies classification but this album seemed to be the perfect example of the pitfalls awaiting artists when they venture forth out of their niches.

Despite the problems I see in this album, there are tracks that get the balance right. It is very clear that Cara Dillon is in an experimental phase, or has taken some bad advice on how to widen her audience. Her strength is certainly with her folk roots and I hope that she'll remain true to them. If you are a fan, you might want to buy this album out of curiosity but don't buy it expecting to hear folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful 3rd Album!, July 12, 2007
By 
RC Metcalf (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After the Morning (Audio CD)
I am really enjoying this album... The first song does veer towards pop rather than traditional, but it is an excellent song! There are also several awesome songs that tend more toward the traditional... like The Snows They Come The Soonest and Bold Jamie. Then there's Garden Valley, written by Scotland's modern poet laureate, Dougie MacLean, that Cara does a magnificant job with. Granted, there are a few songs that don't highlight Cara's ability as well as they could, but her beautiful voice can compensate for a lack in any song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cara's best yet, June 21, 2006
This review is from: After the Morning (Audio CD)
This is definitely Cara's strongest and best album to date. After the Morning has Cara successfully combining folk with a little bluegrass to produce a beautifully melodic album with every track a winner and one that should appeal to a wider listening audience. Standouts for me were Brockagh Braes and Garden Valley but I haven't skipped a track when playing the album since I first heard it a few months ago. Her angelic voice and Sam Lakeman's arrangements are more confident on this album than the previous two albums - this is one I definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dillon's Voice Shines, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After the Morning (Audio CD)
Cara Dillon's lovely, high voice is always such a pleasure to listen to. We have another cd purchased some time ago, and this one is just as good. She has a lilting style, and her voice is calm and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After The Morning (MP3 Music)
Her voice is so pure and natural. And the songs are soothing and very easy listening. Would definitely recommend this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, August 28, 2013
By 
eugene walsh (bay ridge,brooklyn,ny) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After the Morning (Audio CD)
I am enjoying the CD. The singer is very nice. Sorta like Carol King. I would highly recommend this music and singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great voice!, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After The Morning (MP3 Music)
It's always nice to listen to the music of your heritage and it couldn't get much better than that displayed on this album! Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cara Dillon, May 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After the Morning (Audio CD)
Cara Dillon is the finest unknown singer in the UK. She's not really unknown, but she has a smaller recognition factor than say any of the so called new discoveries from any of the reality TV shows floating around. Cara Dillon should be a world wide superstar. Ms. Dillon's voice is a phenom. Breathy and articulate, masterful in it's ability to evoke feeling and emotion, with a lovely range. The songs are reworked folk songs or newer compositions penned and arranged by Ms. Dillon and her husband Sam. I own all of her CD's and cannot recommend them highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great album!, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After The Morning (MP3 Music)
I love Cara Dillon and all of her albums are great. After the Morning will not disappoint! I would recommend Cara Dillon to anybody who loves Irish singers in general and also to anybody who loves good music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it..., October 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After the Morning (Audio CD)
I did not give this CD 5 stars because it is not the same quality as Hill of Thieves. However, it is very good and should get 4.5 stars. Garden Valley is IMO Dillon's best song of all in her recording career. There is more pop influnce here, and bluegrass, as compared to Hill of Thieves. Overall I like this collection very much. Several tracks could easily have been recorded by Alison Kraus, they are in that style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

After The Morning
After The Morning by Cara Dillon
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.