Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed Sequel
In addition to Leon and Courtney surviving the Black Beret massacre in Twilight of the Dead, we find out that Vaughn survived as well. Unlike the other two, he doesn't have any lucky breaks (ex: they drive back to Eastpointe in a humvee, Vaughn has to trek back on foot - severely injured). Since he's walking, thousands of zombies followed him back. Then Vaughn loses his...
Published on January 24, 2009 by Ursula K. Raphael

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the first
it wasnt as good as the first book, it took a little while for me to figure out what was going on and such. but when it got going it got going good it was a decent sequel, once it got going some holes were filled that were left empty from the original i look forward to reading the 3rd book..james...
Published on February 5, 2009 by J. Ploeger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed Sequel, January 24, 2009
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
In addition to Leon and Courtney surviving the Black Beret massacre in Twilight of the Dead, we find out that Vaughn survived as well. Unlike the other two, he doesn't have any lucky breaks (ex: they drive back to Eastpointe in a humvee, Vaughn has to trek back on foot - severely injured). Since he's walking, thousands of zombies followed him back. Then Vaughn loses his mind, wreaks havoc upon the other citizens of Eastpointe, and it's revealed that a group, known as the Odd Fellows, have been manipulating everyone for the past five years.

I loved the first book, but I think this sequel is a thousand times better. I was thrilled to find out there will be a third installment: The Exodus. I will be waiting for it on the edge of my seat, speculating what will happen to the survivors of Eastpointe. (I couldn't help but wonder if the Odd Fellows got the idea for the greyhound buses from the Dawn of the Dead remake.)

Another good book from Permuted Press is The Rage Plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twilight shifts to darkness, October 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
Travis Adkins continues the saga of the Black Berets that inhabit Eastpointe, one of the last human outposts in America after the undead apocalypse of five years previous. The story carries forward from where it left off, with Courtney and Leon stuck on top of a building in a town nearby after dealing with Dr. Aaron Dane, who had created a group of uber zombies encased in armor. With most of their fellow Black Berets dead back on the cruise ship that Dr. Dane had been floating around on and creating his army of super zombies, they need to return to Eastpointe. They do not realize that another one of the Berets, Vaughn Winters, the most instable of the lot, has also survived, and has returned to Eastpointe, dragging an entire city of the dead behind him as he escapes.
The plot here is pretty straight forward: we discover that Vaughn has been working for the Odd Fellows, the group of old men in Eastpointe who run things behind the scenes. They have worked hard to insure that no one knows of the other human settlements still out there, believing that the populous will be more manageable if they believe they are the last living souls on the planet. Vaughn, who was unstable to begin with, becomes unhinged after facing off against Dr. Dane and his metal misfits and when he returns to Eastpointe and deals with the obsessive Odd Fellows, who crave control over the cure Dr. Dane claims he had in his possession on the ship, quickly unravels and decides that Eastpointe and everyone who has lived in relative comfort for five years needs to suffer and die. With thousands of zombies now scratching at the walls, he has the tools he needs to cause their distruction.

Travis Adkins has produced a solid follow up to his first book, Twilight of the Dead. The writing style is even and he does a good job of describing the gore and violence that we zombie fans crave. While this story does not really spend much time with our main character of the first book, Courtney, it does develop a good deal more depth with the characters Leon and Tyrell, both introduced but not detailed extensively in the first book. The pace of the action is quick here, with the story covering a little over a day. We are given a few flashbacks to provide us with a background on Vaughn, the disgruntled and disturbed Black Beret who wants to see the whole world burn and eaten.

Overall, the story is entertaining but our villain lacks quite a bit in my humble estimation. It is only my opinion and perhaps others will feel differently but I felt that Vaughn was not too impressive as the bad guy. His efforts at smug superiority to everyone around him comes off as trite and insignificant. He is a wanna be metal head who was on track to becoming the next big thing in music when the apocalypse hit. He lost his sister, who he has, shall we say, a very personal relationship with, and has felt like he has been walking with the dead ever since. When he fails to outwit or outsmart someone he instead tries to menace and threaten them but he comes off as just a self absorbed goth with a chip on his shoulder.
Somehow, he is the one Black Beret who the Odd Fellows, the secretive leaders of Eastpointe, choose to be their primary connection amongst those that go out and procure needed supplies. So when they go out on procurement runs, he secretely collects things for them and more importantly, keeps other things hidden that they do not want the community to find. It just struck me as odd that he would be the choice of such a group of old men-the "devil worshipping" rocker with the vampiric complextion and long black hair with the worst attitude of anyone in Eastpointe. To me it felt like a stretch that they would trust someone like that with anything, let alone all their closely held secrets.

But enough of my criticism of Vaughn. While I did not buy into the menace and smug superiority of this bad guy, I could appreciate the development of the rest of the characters here. Vaughn's descent into darkness moves the plot along, carrying things forward and getting us to the meat of the story, with the undead once again clashing with the living as more and more of the human race is diminished and devoured.

I do enjoy the writing style that Travis Adkins has and though I might feel that his villains in both his previous book (Dr. Dane) and in this novel lacked something, I think he has done a solid job with these two novels. If you enjoy zombie fiction then this is certainly one to take a look at, along with its predecessor. I look forward to the third installment, Exodus, when it comes out next. Courtney, Leon, and Tyrell are characters I have grown interested in and I am curious where their journey will take them next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the first, February 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
it wasnt as good as the first book, it took a little while for me to figure out what was going on and such. but when it got going it got going good it was a decent sequel, once it got going some holes were filled that were left empty from the original i look forward to reading the 3rd book..james...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Sequel of Shamblers and Such!, December 17, 2008
By 
Dr. Michael C. West (New Cumberland, WV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
Travis Adkins adds to his mesmorizing account of the zompocalypse with "After Twilight: Walking with the Dead". Have the survivors become too complacient in feeling safe? You bet yer undead butt they have ... And BOY HOWDY are they going to pay for it.

Adkins has his chops down in his descriptive abilities and story flows as does the carnage this book portrays. This is just an excellent addition to the "Twilight" series of zombie goodness.

Buy your copy today!!

Doc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Zombie Novel!, December 28, 2012
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
If you enjoyed Philip Nutman's Wet Work, or David Wellington's Monster Trilogy, or Brian Keene's The Rising, then you will enjoy this book as well!

Adkins' writing never slacks, and he keeps up a steady pace, which makes for a fast read.
He devotes entire portions of the book on each of the main characters and their backgrounds, giving them just enough depth where you will actually care about what happens to them.
Adkins' also includes maps, newspaper articles, military documents, files, diaries, etc, which really helps focus on the "reality" of the story.
He also brings to vivid life the undead - or "skin-eaters" as they are called in the book.

Adkins has great character development skills (both past & present) and he is very descriptive in his writing. He is one of those writers where you feel as if you are really there, in the story.
He is also great with the emotions, relationships, and struggles of the characters that he has created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the appetizer., September 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
If Twilight of the Dead was the appetizer, the main course is mch better. A much meatier plot than the first. If Travis Adkins is going to continue to feature guns in his stories I wish he'd actually learn a few things about them, first off the difference between a cartridge and a bullet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent story, interesting portrayal of the villain., April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
This story definitely had it's moments and had an unique style. The action scenes were rather exciting and I could really visualize what was taking place.

Something intriguing to me was how the villain was not only an Atheist, but had really, really warped morals. As a Christian myself, I wonder what the author's religious beliefs are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
Great book. There is and end to this but in the very back he says Twilight of the dead Exodus coming soon and its been years. I really enjoyed this book and i hope Travis comes out with a Third installment soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, October 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
I will keep it simple I read this first, did not know there was one before it. Love the book, loved how the characters where explained I cant wait to read the first one..Anyone know when the next one comes out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Follow-up book, September 13, 2010
By 
ZombiesRComng (Massillon, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: After Twilight: Walking with the Dead (Paperback)
This is a good follow-up the Twilight of the Dead. The lead characters, Leon and Courtney are further developed as well as a few others, but the unfortunate flip-side to that coin is Vaughn. He takes a more pivotal role in this book and the more we learn about him, the darker he turns out to be. He survived the battle with Dr. Dane in the first book, but I am unclear if Dane turned him into a "smart zombie" (rolls eyes), or if he was just given something to heal him.

Overall the book is a good read and a nice follow-up to the first book. I hope there's a 3rd book soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd9c762ac)

This product

After Twilight: Walking with the Dead
After Twilight: Walking with the Dead by Travis Adkins (Paperback - December 1, 2008)
$16.95 $14.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.