Customer Reviews


608 Reviews
5 star:
 (341)
4 star:
 (170)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Jax and Gia's story
Again, Sylvia Day did not disappoint me... I just love Jax and Gia's story to the max! Yes, it was short but as she said this is a "novella" and readers should understand what a novella is. Can't wait for the next book. by the way, Gia's character is awesome. She definitely is a strong-willed character and knows what she wants.
Published 16 months ago by sydneymum

versus
140 of 146 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short and should have just put book 2 with it
I must say... I love your writing but what's up with splitting your books up this much? First, the Crossfire series being dragged out and now this book was so short only to find out there is a book 2? Why not just make it one book? So frustrated with authors who keep dragging their stories out over spans of books to make more money.
Published 16 months ago by StephS


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

140 of 146 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short and should have just put book 2 with it, August 15, 2013
I must say... I love your writing but what's up with splitting your books up this much? First, the Crossfire series being dragged out and now this book was so short only to find out there is a book 2? Why not just make it one book? So frustrated with authors who keep dragging their stories out over spans of books to make more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lost me as a reader on this half attempt in selling the upcoming sequence - it's a chapter, not a book, and badly written too!, August 17, 2013
Sorry to even have bought this one. You have lost me as a follower, for sure. This marketing stunt in stopping half way a story is annoying and does not achieve anything. Waste of time, wast of money, waste of effort. Go back to writing books, not selling a chapter or introduction! Not clear what was meant, but I am not impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a book, perhaps a chapter, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read and enjoyed other Sylvia Day books, but this one barely gets off the ground--it appears to be the first chapter of a book, rather than a book, and a long and unsatisfying first chapter it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not her best work, August 15, 2013
By 
ShannonH (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
I was not into this book. I usually hate when others say this, but Jax is a jerk. And unlike other Sylvia Day books this one isn't long enough to show his redeeming qualities. You just think "girl have some self respect". He is crappy to her and she repays him by having sex with him again. This format is just too hard to pull off in 100 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money..., August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book went no where and just ends. It felt more like a long drawn out chapter, than a book. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what happened?, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If this book ended any more abruptly, I would say it was impossible. Is this the way to get me to buy the next book? Not a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
10 chapters.....to be continued??????
Characterizations were shallow. The story was disjointed. I thought it would be a fun summer read. It was just a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why?, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wonder - happend to writing a book - finish it and move on to the next story. This very short story gave me a bad feeling of being manipulated. I'm sorry Sylvia Day - you lost me as a fan. However good your books are - man up - and make them at least a lenght worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Jax and Gia's story, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Afterburn (Kindle Edition)
Again, Sylvia Day did not disappoint me... I just love Jax and Gia's story to the max! Yes, it was short but as she said this is a "novella" and readers should understand what a novella is. Can't wait for the next book. by the way, Gia's character is awesome. She definitely is a strong-willed character and knows what she wants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afterburn will utterly seduce you, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rating: A ... Heat: Sizzling

Gianna Rossi is protégé to a powerful and successful restaurateur. For the last year she has been learning the ropes, putting in her hours. Gianna's pretty much married to her career... Or avoiding men and dating because her heart hasn't mended. Even though she's a confident, bold, smart, and goal-oriented heroine who's not afraid to play with the big boys, there's one boy who broke her heart and she hasn't moved on yet.

Because when Jackson Rutledge breaks things, he does a thorough job. Jackson and Gia spent five weeks together full of passionate sex and tender words and sweet promises. Until he just didn't show up one day. Jackson is a sensual, erotic mystery. He's obviously damaged by his family but there's so much still unknown. What we do know? Jackson is a beast in bed and when he's f-ing, he makes you think words like raw and primal and rutting. Seriously. Raw. Primal. Rutting. He'll make your panties drop the moment he walks on the page with that confident swagger of his. *sigh*

Because, let's face it--Sylvia Day knows how to write a hero, am I right? First Alistair Caulfield (Seven Years to Sin) then Gideon Cross (Bared to You) and now... hello Jackson Rutledge! If I want to read a book with a sexy hero, who's chock full of carnality and sensuality, that will leave me utterly breathless and totally turned on--there is no one hotter than Alistair, Gideon, and Jackson.

Ahem.

I also appreciated the loving family dynamic of the Rossi clan. Gianna has a great family and great brothers. They're a very tight-knit bunch, as opposed to Jackson's family which comes across cold, calculating and all-business. Someone needs to show Jackson what love is... and I think the perfect person for the job is Gia.

Afterburn will utterly seduce you. Be prepared to be completely emerged into the cutthroat world of restaurants and restaurateurs. They say you should never mix business and pleasure, but I think Gianna and Jackson prove that sometimes it's very, very okay to do so. There is a bit of a cliffhanger and, yeah, waiting three months for the next installment is a major downer but what can you do? It's worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Afterburn
Afterburn by Sylvia Day
Used & New from: $4.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.