Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Marple--All Geraldine McEwan--Complete mystery entertainment
McEwan debuted as Miss Marple in late 2004 and soon received a best actress nomination and the show was nominated as "Outstanding" twice including an Emmy. She's played crime before as Lucia in Mapp & Lucia AND she was Mrs. Tripp in Wallace & Gromit films. In 2003, Geraldine was chosen to play Agatha Christie's Jane Marple. She retired in 2007 from that role after...
Published on October 22, 2010 by Harold Wolf

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series -
I have been watching this series by taking advantage of free Prime Streaming and really do love Geraldine McEwan in the portrayal of Miss Marple.

If you are considering buying this "complete collection," I strongly suggest you price around, since there are multiple sellers here on Amazon, and this particular grouping seems to run a lot higher for the three...
Published on January 4, 2013 by Alex S


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Marple--All Geraldine McEwan--Complete mystery entertainment, October 22, 2010
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
McEwan debuted as Miss Marple in late 2004 and soon received a best actress nomination and the show was nominated as "Outstanding" twice including an Emmy. She's played crime before as Lucia in Mapp & Lucia AND she was Mrs. Tripp in Wallace & Gromit films. In 2003, Geraldine was chosen to play Agatha Christie's Jane Marple. She retired in 2007 from that role after completing 12 hugely popular two-hour mysteries. This set is the complete series of Marple stories with McEwan as the `Lady Sherlock.' 12 feature-length Agatha Christie Marple tales. Rather bully jollification!
Ms McEwan: "I imagine there must be people who don't like the changes but I personally feel that probably Agatha Christie wouldn't mind. A book becomes something else once it's dramatized. But what you want to be is faithful to the original essence of Agatha Christie."

Casts were super with stars like Joanna Lumley, Derek Jacobi (Cadfael), well the description lists many and that's just the tip of the iceberg. Locations are as fantastic as those in "Foyle's War", "Brideshead Revisited", and "Midsomer Murders." Costumes are just as wonderful.
CC subtitles are available for those of us who like them.

I really liked this Marple actress. Past complaints reappear as always when the actress playing Miss Marple is changed. But this time, it seems to have worked to advantage. Also there were, back in the original airing days, complaints about overacting. It didn't quite seem real. Get real complainers of the past. It's fiction. Anyone thinking a senior-aged female would be outdoing all of the police detectives of Britain is not quite together themselves. It is fun crime entertainment, with tongue-in-cheek realism, just right for a night on the sofa with a bowl of popcorn.

The Murder at the Vicarage 12.19.2004
The Body in the Library 12.23.2004
A Murder Is Announced 1.2.2005
4:50 From Paddington (aka What Mrs McGillicuddy Saw) 12.26.2004
Joan Hickson as Marple in 1987. A comparison opportunity, if you own them both.
Sleeping Murder 2.5.2006
By the Pricking of My Thumbs 2.19.2006
The Moving Finger 2.12.2006
The Sittaford Mystery 4.30.2006
Towards Zero 1.28.2007
Nemesis 2.25.2007
At Bertram's Hotel 4.1.2007
Ordeal by Innocence 8.19.2007

These Marple episodes had been released earlier, but not as a McEwan complete set and not at this lower price. A fine way for newcomers to learn to enjoy Agatha Christie's Marple character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Altered plots - but delightful!, May 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
Full disclosure: I'm very particular about my Marples. When it comes to Poirot, there's no argument that David Suchet is THE Poirot, but who is the real Marple? Geraldine McEwan is the winner, in my mind.

Are the plots of the movies altered from the original books? Yes. I actually prefer that to be honest. I've read every Agatha Christie novel so many times that it wouldn't really be a "mystery" to me if they hadn't changed the plots a bit, and I do like what they've done with some of them. In addition, the characters are, in some cases, a bit more stylized and over-the-top than I believe Agatha Christie intended. But the sets are fabulous, the clothes and makeup are spot-on and, as I said, Geraldine McEwan is a treasure.

If you're a purist, maybe these aren't for you. But speaking as someone who adores Agatha Christie, these adaptations are delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series -, January 4, 2013
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
I have been watching this series by taking advantage of free Prime Streaming and really do love Geraldine McEwan in the portrayal of Miss Marple.

If you are considering buying this "complete collection," I strongly suggest you price around, since there are multiple sellers here on Amazon, and this particular grouping seems to run a lot higher for the three seasons than you can buy elsewhere here online.

I love the series, but prefer the lower prices of other venders. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Miss Marples, December 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
Geraldine McEwan is my favorite Miss Marple along with Margaret Rutherford. Both collections of the Christie stories offer some of the best takes on the novels. McEwan's turn in both Vanity Fair and this collection are not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked the new versions, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
The plots are more updated. There is only so many times you can redo The Body In The Library, etc. So throw in a couple of lesbians in uptight 1950's, and there you go! It would have been funnier with a couple of gays, but lesbians are kinder and gentler. I enjoyed the new plots, but my favorites are mysteries that Marple was never originally in. Some of the actors (especially Eileen Atkins) are marvelous.

Miss Marple this time around is more of a Bohemian, puckish kind of sleuth. Kind of cute, hippie Miss Marple. It fits Geraldine McEwan's petite size. I do love Joan Hickson as Miss Marple, but this is a nice change. With Hickson, she's prim and proper. With Julia McKenzie a warm, rather stout Miss Marple. They are all good actors.

So give the new versions a chance. They'll grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *Enjoyable* Collection Featuring McEwan As *Marple*!, February 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
I can't speak to whether or not the stories have been changed dramatically from the actual books they're based upon, but I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed watching all three seasons of "Agatha Christie's Marple" staring Geraldine McEwan, which are collected here in this very affordable set AGATHA CHRISTIE'S MARPLE: THE GERALDINE MCEWAN COLLECTION DVDs.

There's over 19-hours of mysteries to get involved in and I enjoyed McEwan's portrayal.

If you read my other review for the fifth season of Agatha Christie's Marple: Complete Series 5 [Blu-ray] you'll know that I started with that season and so I'm working my way backwards into this show. Anyway, I really enjoyed season 5 and so I decided to get this collection; I'm glad that I did.

Even though there is a cast change after season three and Julia McKenzie takes over the role of "Jane Marple" from Geraldine McEwan, both actresses do a fine job in it. Now I've read some of the other reviews who felt that neither actress did justice to the character, or felt that Joan Hickson (Miss Marple - 3 Feature Length Mysteries (The Body in the Library / A Murder Is Announced / A Pocketful of Rye)) was the definitive Miss Marple, but I enjoyed all three.

Mind you that I've only read one Christie story, "The Blue Geranium," so I'm not at all an aficionado of Christie or her characters, but I found the mysteries on this collection entertaining and I'll be watching them over and over again. The scenery, music, cinematography, clothing and set decoration is absolutely gorgeous and each episode is a finely honed story.

However some die-hard fans of the books have have not been pleased with story tweaks and reworkings, but I think if you enjoy mysteries and British accents, and aren't too much of a Christie purist, you'll really enjoy these shows.

Here's a run down of the special features on the set:

*** SERIES 1 ***
-- Behind-The-Scenes Featurette - 01-hour:54-seconds
Geraldine McEwan ("Jane Marple") talks about the show and stepping into the iconic character and canon and this fabulous featurette shows behind the scenes of the filming and includes interviews with Joanna Lumely ("Dolly Bantry") and Jack Davenport ("Superintendent Harper"), among others.

-- Text - Viewers can read additional information:
"Marple On Film & TV" and "Christie Bio"

*** SERIES 2 ***
* Behind-The-Scenes Featurettes * (Instead of combining the featurettes into one showing the DVD's producer split them up so that each one is on the appropriate episode)

-- "Behind-the-scenes of Sleeping Murder" - 16-minutes:19-seconds
McEwan talks about character and this featurette includes interviews with cast member Sophia Myles and Aiden McArdle, director Edward Hall, and shows rehearsal footage.

-- Text
Agatha Christie Bio & Select Cast Filmographies

-- "Behind-the-scenes of By The Pricking Of My Thumbs" - 16-minutes:34-seconds
McEwan, Anthony Andrews ("Tommy Beresford"), Charles Dance ("Septimus Bligh"), Jane Whitfield ("Mrs. Lancaster") talk about their respective characters, etc.

-- "Behind-the-scenes of The Moving Finger" - 13-minutes:44-seconds
Interviews with cast members McEwan, James D'arcy, Emilia Fox, Frances De LaTour and others.

-- "Behind-the-scenes of The Sittaford Mystery" - 11-minutes:42-seconds
Interviews with cast members James Murray, Zoe Telford, McEwan and others.

*** SERIES 3 ***
* TEXT * they got cheap on this season with no behind-the-scenes extras, but includes text on Christie Bio and Booklist, Cast Filmographies, and Still photo galleries.

Anyway, this is a great DVD set and it comes housed in three regular sized clam-shell DVD cases, each holding four DVDs, within a box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ****************, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
The Geraldine McEwan collection is fabulous and I really love this actress' portral of Miss Marple. I would definately purchase more if see starred in this Agatha Christie series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full pack and nice episodes, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
Geraldine is my favourite Miss Marple!
This was a gift but I am sure the person love it - we used to watched the episode together on tv!
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Marple actress, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
It is a genuine pity McEwan past away. She is far and away the best actress to ever play Jane Marple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Travesties that make a dog's breakfast of the original Christie classics, October 11, 2012
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection (DVD)
Unfortunately these rewrites of Christie classics are anything but "true to the spirit" of Agatha Christie. She must be spinning in her grave with indignation over these travesties.

Characters are dropped, others are made up and inserted for little or no reason. Teenage characters (13 and 16 years old, main characters in different stories) are portrayed as being older than the same character in the novels and far more sophisticated (if you equate a certain type of sexuality with "sophistication").

All the older characters drop a full generation, so that middle-aged characters are now twenty-somethings and elderly characters are now merely middle aged. EVERYBODY is far better looking than in real life OR the novels. Culprits are changed and the sexuality of main characters is modified. "Romantic" themes that were not present in the original stories, usually involving main characters that were invented solely for these TV episodes, are inserted for little or no reason, and add not a thing to the main story line.

As for Geraldine McEwan being the ultimate Marple, sorry, but she's not. This "Marple" bears little resemblance to the Jane Marple of the books. There is nowhere near enough of the wry humor of the original, nor of the air of genteel poverty that Miss Marple lives in, as is clear throughout the original Christie tales. She has an "income" but it is not sufficient to keep her in true comfort; hence she trains young girls who want to "go into service" for that little bit of extra income and/or in exchange for their services while they are in training, and in her declining years she is largely supported by her nephew.

In particular, Miss Marple wouldn't have been caught dead dressing like a dowdy charwoman, which is what the wardrobe choices for her in these episodes make her look like.

Main characters are relegated to becoming bit parts, disappear altogether, or are warped into totally unrecognizable caricatures of stereotypical types that bear absolutely no resemblance whatsoever to the originals; in one case, the original character of a bumbling country priest is transmogrified into a snarling raving Nazi. The character isn't the only thing about that story that's insane; whoever mangled these stories for the sake of "modernizing" the scripts ought to be stood up against a wall somewhere and summarily shot.

These stories have not been improved by any stretch of the imagination. Instead, they've been mangled into near unrecognizability, with Christie's witty, gentle, loving character studies being replaced by prurient sensationalist "plots" that are about as subtle as the blunt object the murder victim gets clubbed with.

Don't confuse these travesties with the fine productions staring Joan Hickson. She didn't quite capture all of Miss Marple's character - she's just a tad bit too severe - but she at least rang true to the era and the character, even if incompletely. She just didn't have the "birdlike" quality Miss Marple of the novels has, but she hit almost every other Marple note dead on. The wry wit, the gentle but inexorable sharpness of her intellect, her masterful and largely non-judgmental grasp of the vagaries of human existence; Joan Hickson got those all dead on. Of course she was undoubtedly helped no end in her portrayal by being given scripts that are as true to the original novels as possible. Miss Marple fits into that world as created by Christie for her. Change that, and the Miss Marple you get is something wholly different and entirely (in these cases) unsatisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Agatha Christie's Marple: Geraldine McEwan Collection
$99.99 $56.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.