Customer Reviews


334 Reviews
5 star:
 (304)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Collection 2 gets re-mastered in Hi-Def from original film masters.
For Series 6 LWT (London Weekend Television) ran out of short stories and reverted back to the two hour format used in season 4, drawing stories from the longer Poirot Novels. (Series 5 used the Short Stories.)
This would be the last series for LWT to produce Poirot. Granada Television would do a hostile take over of LWT and the Poirot series would go on hiatus...
Published on September 3, 2012 by Paul J. Mular

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible!
This sucked they change all the stories. They end up being absolutely nothing like the books. It's horrible! David Suchet is a good Poirot though, the storylines are just massacred. Agatha Christie would be mortified!
Published 12 months ago by Leah Madsen


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Collection 2 gets re-mastered in Hi-Def from original film masters., September 3, 2012
For Series 6 LWT (London Weekend Television) ran out of short stories and reverted back to the two hour format used in season 4, drawing stories from the longer Poirot Novels. (Series 5 used the Short Stories.)
This would be the last series for LWT to produce Poirot. Granada Television would do a hostile take over of LWT and the Poirot series would go on hiatus until the A&E Network would pick it up in 2000.
Technically this would not be a real broadcast season as it was spread out over three years. It is just the last of the LWT productions.

The classic two hour mysteries are:

42 6-01 01/January/95 "HERCULE POIROT'S CHRISTMAS"
43 6-02 12/February/95 "HICKORY, DICKORY, DOCK"
44 6-03 11/February/96 "MURDER ON THE LINKS"
45 6-04 16/March/97 "DUMB WITNESS"

Even though these were filmed in 16mm, re-mastering them in Hi-Definition from the original 16mm camera films will produce a sharper image than the old 1995/1997 standard definition transfers made from 16mm copies, created from 16mm dupe negatives.

Now if only A&E would re-master their series 7, 8, 9, &10 from the original films, UNCUT. Yes the old A&E DVDs have some edits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those newly discovering Poirot, for fans upgrading image, Poirot is 6 star., June 27, 2012
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot, Series 6 (DVD)
It's REMASTERED. Of course it's reissued as series 6. 4 Poirots. Previously aired/released episodes, but now with better picture. According to friends using Blu-ray, it's great if you have a large screen. Excellent on normal DVDs too. Sets being offered are in original UK airing order. I've listed episodes, so check and see if you already own them.
If not, this is a grand opportunity for those new to this Belgian with `little gray cell' who out-sleuths `The Yard.' David Suchet made Poirot famous. Philip Jackson plays Chief Inspector Japp in 2 episodes. Hastings (Hugh Fraser) Poirot's right-hand arrives in two episodes. Miss Lemon (Pauline Moran) is back for one episode.

I've never been disappointed with Poirot. Agatha Christie stories always fantastic, but Suchet makes adaptations soar to new heights. Humor, scenic bliss, and costumes rival script brilliance. It's tough cutting books to 100 TV minutes. This series does it well. Trivially note: Poirot fictional character was granted a 1975 New York Times front page obit.

SUBTITLE option available for all 4 feature-length episodes. Guest stars aplenty, as normal.
~~~~~Hercule Poirot's Christmas- 1995
The detective Poirot takes a holiday. A family Christmas gathering leaves a man murdered, apparently by one of his adult children. So much for a cozy Christmas by the Yule log.
~~~~~Hickory Dickory Dock- 1995
Petty theft turns to murder in a heartbeat, or lack of. Miss Lemon convinces Poirot to look in crime in her sister's hostel. See Jonathan Firth playing Nigel, yes Colin's brother.
~~~~~Murder on the Links- 1996
Poirot's and Hastings' reputations travel to France. Oui, Oui, more murder, kidnapping, downright nasty crime for the pair to sleuth. Some just die for a game of French golf.
~~~~~Dumb Witness- 1996
It's more than a family affair, and estate planning. Poirot and Hastings solve a murder through strange means. Communications with..."Speak doggie, speak." I first saw Kate Buffery starring in the good "Wish Me Luck" war series.

`
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot Entertains Again, July 4, 2012
I have all the modern(BBC) David Suchet DVDs of him playing Poirot. All of them are very entertaining and are more enjoyable than 98% of anything else on TV. Watch them all and be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE POIROT!!!, September 13, 2013
We love all the episodes, watch them over & over. We own one box collections.
The historic buildings & locations, interior decor, vintage clothing & automobiles.
The story lines & plots are intriguing, delightful humor and always a twist & surprise endings.
Last, but certainly not least, the characters are superb actors, especially David Suchet;
his facial expressions speak volumes. Very well done. We actually prefer British TV over
American. We're also Sherlock Holmes fans; own the entire collection, and a book containing
all the writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oooh those little grey cells!, August 23, 2013
I have spent the last month binging on the first six seasons of Poirot [free with Prime] and am now re-watching them from the beginning and enjoying every minute of the experience. Ahhh the eye candy! Art Deco - glam ladies and gents in high fashion 1930's London [and trips out and about to seashore, Europe, Lake Country, etc] All is perfectly framed gorgeous scenery and sets - tho the sets are on-location - always with the Art Deco streamlined crisp clean, opulent sophistication . yum. Oh - the mysteries themselves? Clever, always successfully entertaining - the primary characters are perfect in their parts, and each individual personality remains constant thru all the seasons [acting is superb, by the way, hard to pull off, as its all really a bit silly over-the-top camp thirties], David Suchet is some kind of genious / artist to pull of Poirot with all his supercilious egotistical, mincing perfectionism - Well, the whole thing is a gently played tongue-in-cheek running-jokes comedy... Such a great show! And yes, Mssr. Poirot's "little grey cells" come through time and time again - explaining to all the answer to the Great Murder Mystery [or whatever] of the Moment ... [have I effused enthusiasm enough to whet your interest? Magnifique!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Agatha is on top with this!, September 13, 2013
Sweet Agatha is on top with these characters and the TV series.The producers definitely got it ALL right!. The actors, the action and especially the time setting and stage sets. Love the art deco theme though out. I wish I had lived during that era, well except for a few portions of it. David Suchet plays the role impeccably well!

Better than any on screen production of Sherlock Holmes that I have ever seen.

I have seen them all on PBS, but they are so good, I love to watch them all again! And Again!

R/S

David A. Hardin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot is a delight, July 11, 2013
I love, love the Poirot series. Only wish the rest were available with Prime. The time period, the buildings, trains, planes, and cars. All make for fun watching. You really do get a feel for the period . And of course, the mysteries are worth the watch...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories!, May 26, 2013
I love David Suchet as Hercules Poirot. He's just so daintily fabulous. I happened upon the series on Amazon and will be watching more to remember the good old days when I used to sit and watch the episodes on Mystery Theatre with my mom. I miss her. She's been gone almost 2 years now, but the old shows help bring her back.
Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Super Sleuth!, March 12, 2013
Poirot always finds the culprit! Love his series! He is the Master super sleuth! This series is better tan watching most of the crap on the regular channels and no commercials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love everything Poirot!!, September 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been reading Agatha Christie novels for years, and have probably read everyone with Poirot. Seeing them made into a movie has been a pleasure and i've seen nearly everyone by now but still love to watch them. He has never disappointed me, and I love the suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Agatha Christie's Poirot, Series 6
Agatha Christie's Poirot, Series 6 by David Suchet (DVD - 2012)
$39.99 $25.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.