Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great set
As a Christie collector, I'm always looking for ways to create space for the various wonderful uk sets of her work. This one is a real gem. WHY DIDN'T THEY ASK EVANS and THE SEVEN DIALS MYSTERY have been around for many years but both of them still stand up and these discs play well on a blu-ray player and a small screen. I have yet to try them on a larger screen. The...
Published 8 months ago by wisdomstar

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Did not care for the acting or filming
Published 16 days ago by susan shellenback


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great set, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
As a Christie collector, I'm always looking for ways to create space for the various wonderful uk sets of her work. This one is a real gem. WHY DIDN'T THEY ASK EVANS and THE SEVEN DIALS MYSTERY have been around for many years but both of them still stand up and these discs play well on a blu-ray player and a small screen. I have yet to try them on a larger screen. The real bonus is SPARKLING CYANIDE (2003) which started life as Yellow Iris, first as a short story and then in the David Suchet TV episode. The plot has been enlarged upon nicely here and updated for a modern audience, so there are surprises for those of us who know Christie, but the best part is the actors Pauline Collins and Oliver Ford Davies as a pair of retired spies who are asked to solve the murder. I wish they had done a whole series with these two and not just the one movie. They have a wonderful husband and wife give-and-take that is as much fun as the murder mystery. And it saves space on my shelf. Highly recommended for Christie fans who don't mind modern tinkering with Christie's stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic Period Agatha Christie Mystery, January 8, 2014
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
This set is a fine group that not only abundantly reuses Britain's finest actors but also incorporates the bits of wit from Agatha Christie. For instance; John Gielgud is as funny in "Seven dials" as Maggie Smith is as Dowager in Downton Abbey. It's period mystery by the great Agatha Christie. Two episodes are from the 1980s, thus nostalgic as well, and with the complexity of sleuthing which Christie is known to produce. Watching some of these Brit stars, now departed, is worth the set's price.

SUBTITLES provided for all 3 episodes
SPARKLING CYANIDE -95 min.; 2003 TV; 1944 Saturday Evening Post serialization titled "Remembered Death"
There is a table full of suspects when a nightclub partier is slipped a fatal Mickey Finn. The rich husband is played by Kenneth Cranham. The deceased's Aunt Lucilla played by Susan Hampshire (Pallisers). The complex case sets the government appointed MI5 couple to work: Col Reese (Oliver Ford Davies -Star Wars) and Dr. Catherine Kendall ( Pauline Collins -Upstairs, Downstairs). Not Collins' finest hour, but overall the show is typical Christie. Don't let the 2 seconds of nudity detour you, though I doubt it being A.C.'s intent.

WHY DIDN'T THEY ASK EVANS? -186 min; 1980 TV; 1934 novel
This is one of the better adaptations of this story and stars Francesca Annis (Lillie) as Lady Derwent, a beautiful but amateur investigator. He's helped by the Vicar's son Bobby Jones (James Warwick), a not-so-good golfer who discovers a body not-quite-dead. With dying breath the cliff victim utters the story title question. Bobby also helps in amateur sleuthing. Who's Evans? It's a Wales to London tale. Also watch the screen for the appearance of Joan Hickson who would soon become Miss Marple for a decade. The Vicar by Sir John Gielgud (Brideshead Revisited) who will like others perform in the last episode in this set as well. As humorous as it is mysterious.

SEVEN DIALS MYSTERY -131 min; 1981 TV; 1929 novel
Another cleverly written A.C. humor/mystery with Gielgud as a funny Marquis of Caterhan. A titled Lady nicknamed "Bundles" (Cheryl Campbell) does the amateur sleuthing this time after a country house (Chimneys) murder...or two. It's a complicated mystery with a clue coming from the lips of another dying victim about "Seven Dials." Why? Who? What?
You will see Joyce Redman (Les Mis). James Warwick (Iron Man) returns from the previous episode as does Robert Longden (Beiderbecke TV trilogy) who is the 3rd actor appearing in both.

Expect 1980s TV, but good 80s. Plenty more top actors unmentioned. They all want to perform in an Agatha Christie episode. The mystery is always spot-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good set for any mystery or Christie collection, February 11, 2014
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
This is a good collection of three classic Christie mysteries, and a blend of old and new adaptations. The earlier two THE SEVEN DIALS and WHY DIDN’T THEY ASK EVANS? are from the early 1980’s. This was the age of the multi-episode miniseries, and these two stories are well treated and full of details. The 2003 SPARKLING CYANIDE is a modern adaptation of the story, with technology playing a large role in the process of solving the mystery. This is not objectionable, and is a tribute in a sense to the timelessness of Agatha Christie’s characters and stories. This set belongs in the collections of fans, and would be a nice introduction to her mysteries that aren’t starring Poirot or Miss Marple. Sir John Gielgud is splendid to watch in both the early mysteries, his performance in SEVEN DIALS sent me back to the Christie novel to see how much of the character is in her writing and how much was Sir John’s professional touch. It is a happy blend of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christie, January 15, 2014
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
The Queen of Crime Collection brings together three of Agatha's Christie's best mysteries to one DVD set. Each one features a stellar staff and a delightful who-dun-it filled with intrigue and even a few laughs.

Sparking Cyanide - This the newest of the three shows, being filmed in 2003 as opposed to the eighties. In this story, poison is slipped into the cocktail of a businessman. A pair of MI5 agents come in to investigate. Was it his wife? A jealous business partner? Or could someone else be the culrpit.

Why Didn't They Just Ask Evans? - This story features a pair of amateur investigators but that makes the tale no less interesting. Bobby and Lady Frankie are on the trail of a possible murder suspect after the words of a man of on his deathbed lead them to believe his fall from a cliff may have involved foul play.

Seven Dials Mystery - It was supposed to be a fun weekend party but plans to make merry go down hill quickly when one of the guests winds up dead. This one has a lot of humor and a lady named Bundles takes the lead on the amateur investigation.

I really enjoyed these three mysteries. Some were easier to guess the killer than others, but they were all entertaining. I especially love how Agatha Christie always had strong heroines who were the equal of their male counterparts in a time when it wasn't all that common. This is a excellent DVD set and any fan of Christie will want to add it to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie's Crime Stories, May 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
Agatha Christie has long been renowned as a master of crime stories, and this DVD features three of her best: Sparkling Cyanide, where the wife of a wealthy businessman is poisened at a nightclub, Why Don't They Ask Evans based on the last words of a dying man, and The Seven Dials Mystery, where weekend guests die overnight and a sleuth is brought in to solve the crime. All three are very typical of Agatha Christie's writing style, with twists and turns in the plot. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
I really love mysteries...especially ones that leave me smiling at the end and are not R rated. These were successes on both counts. My favorite of this group was Why Didn't They Ask Evans? I will suggest that anyone who is contemplating purchasing this collection compare to other Agatha Christie mystery collections you may have to make sure you're getting something new. That's what I did, and I am completely satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me, March 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
Enjoyed all three movies and will watch them over and over again. Love her movies and will buy more later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Queen of Crime Collection., April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
I have all these episodes by different artists, it's always fun to see how they interpret Agatha. A nice addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice mixture of mystery, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
Three different mysteries from different collections. Two of them are rather poor quality, but the content makes up for the picture quality. I love these period pieces and having SDH subtitles is a must for my "slightly deaf" husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7, 2014
This review is from: Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection (DVD)
Excellent product. Excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection
Agatha Christie's The Queen of Crime Collection by Agatha Christie's the Queen of Crime Collection (DVD - 2014)
$49.99 $22.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.