Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 30, 2015
A quick overview of what technologies are currently being developed today. If the reader wants to go more in depth then there are great footnotes and links to find out more information. I enjoyed how broad the book went and on the many industries that it touches on. The internet of things and uber-fication of our lives is a continuing trend that will yield many new and powerful tools in the coming years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
This book is interesting but it's more like a glorified catalogue of cool devices to buy. Along with a discussion of the benefits, I expected much more discussion of the gritty issues and challenges with the emergence of cyber-physical systems, such as security by design, security throughout the lifecycle of devices, and recalibrating internal business procedures. Additionally, it would have been nice to take into consideration more of the effects imposed on other actors involved in the development and adoption of emerging technology, such as governments and citizens/civil society.

I guess it's a good book if you want to get excited about the near future of technology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
This is a look into what is going on right now in the world of business, since writing this, Israel has written another book on the same topics that update things and bring everything into the new and ever-changing world of social media.

Narration was done by Jeffrey Kafer, and boy does he nail this. How hard do you think narrating a book about technology and business is? I can’t imagine that it’s easy by any means, but Kafer seems to do this flawlessly. I’d first heard Kafer when he narrated the newer book written by Israel, and I had to go back and listen to this.

Like I mentioned before, I read these books out of order so some of the information felt redundant and outdated to me, but with that being said, this is a really great “intro to technology for business owners” type of a book. Written with the business owner in mind, Age of Context explains the different forms of technology and how they are being used/implemented in the world of business.

Israel and Scoble really have a grasp of what is going on, and it shows in their expert analysis and explanation of these sometimes confusing technological topics. They will definitely be added to my list to read in the future, and I sure how Kafer will narrate for them again!

This book, being written in 2014 isn’t outdated yet, but it will be in the next few years. The authors seem to understand this and write everything out as it stands now and even go into detail about things that are coming soon.

This should be required reading for business majors at all major colleges. These are topics that, sadly, mostly college professors don’t talk about at all in class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2015
The book though dated, its a excellent read. The book was written in 2013 and its nice to see a vision coming live now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2015
Great book by a pair of smart professionals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
This book was written in 2013. But lots of the technology it talks about is either coming out today or still not hitting market yet. The book discusses how sensors are getting put in everything from tires, to phones, to tshirts. They discuss big data. The also discuss how the benefits in some aspects outweigh our loss of privacy. This book makes me excited for what is to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2015
Good read. Recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
Scoble and co-author get down to the business of context. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
Age of Context is like a 1950s B-movie version of a technology book. It has many of the elements that make the genre great: lots of examples, a conversational style, an attempt to address the social implications of rapid and inevitable change. Alas, it is also unlike those rare films that transcended their genre to become classics. It is really nothing more than the authors saying "this is soooo cool!" for nearly 200 pages.

As such, it lacks depth. The promise of the title and how context will reshape us is forgotten amid a string of anecdotes and descriptions of start-ups categorized by type. Sure privacy is repeatedly brought up as a potential drawback.But there is only limited discussion on how policy, online social movements, or technology itself can tackle the challenges. There is also little on how this new age could fundamentally alter personal and professional relationships, let alone the economics of developed countries.

It may be the authors are unable to get past their unabashed enthusiasm for new technology to truly consider technology's impact. Or maybe they are just shallow. Compared to books by other tech enthusiasts such as the rambling Who Owns the Future, the erudite Second Machine Age, and the salesy Zero Marginal Cost Society (which has great ideas but way overstates them), there is little thought given to what an age of context will actually mean and how people, businesses, and governments should embrace it, a glaring omission given the title. Yes the examples are cool. But then so too is the poster art for Invasion of the Saucer Men, a forgettable film that can't hold a candle to Forbidden Planet, Them!, or The Day the Earth Stood Still.

Skip this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse