Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
It is a great game for a great price from a great seller. Both disks installed with no conflict at all and it plays perfect. The only thing is that if you are using Windows 7 then you'll need to do a few things or the color will be off in the game. Here's what you'll need to do:
1) Open task manager (Ctrl + Shift + Esc)
2) Tab over to Processes
3) Scroll...
Published on July 19, 2012 by R. Gillespie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Excellent
Published 1 month ago by Joe


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, July 19, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
It is a great game for a great price from a great seller. Both disks installed with no conflict at all and it plays perfect. The only thing is that if you are using Windows 7 then you'll need to do a few things or the color will be off in the game. Here's what you'll need to do:
1) Open task manager (Ctrl + Shift + Esc)
2) Tab over to Processes
3) Scroll down to find explorer.exe
4) End the process explorer.exe
*This will remove your task bar
5) The game should now be running normal.
*Windows 7 Aero graphics don't blend well with games made for XP and lower.
6) When done playing open task manager again.
7) At the top click on File
8) Select New Task
9) Type in explorer.exe
10) Everything should be normal again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never gets old, August 4, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
This game never gets old. It was literally the first game I ever played about 8 years ago, and now I bought it again and it is still good. Age of Empires is probably one of the best strategy games out there and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CPU game, Best Strategy game, ever, February 18, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
Age of Kings and it's expansion are probably the greatest games ever made for the PC and definitely one of the best games overall of all time, you can play vs the CPU or online with friends, and play on different maps every game for all kinds of different battles by land or sea with 18 different civilizations, great game, its an older game but still really fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still my favorite game!, March 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
I'm a 54 year old female gamer (too old be be a gamer chick). I love my World of Warcraft, and play plenty of other games. I've been playing computer games since law school back in the early 80s, but I love my Age of Empires best! It works great on Windows 8 - much better than on Windows 7. In Windows 7, the colors were messed up, but that's fixed now. I guess I can let my ancient computer die now, since I was only keeping it on life support to play AoE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
I've played a number of games, but Age of Empires 2 always holds a special spot! It's easy to just put hours and hours into this game.
Lots of fond memories are around playing this game with friends!

It's an old game, runs on even really old computer hardware. Has some issues with Windows 7, but there's unofficial patches and now an official HD Edition on Steam that greatly improves the functionality on newer systems, among other things.

Absolutely love this game, there's much more micromanagement involved in this than there is in Age of Empires 3. It's just a lot of fun, and for this price STOP THINKING START BUYING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Strategy Game, July 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
This game has been around for a long time (as video games go). It's fun to play with the family over the home network. Use windows 7 for easier (home group) setup. The screen does turn funny colors, but I heard there is an online fix for that minor annoyance. Over all fun for the entire family (rated T for teen) I suppose for cartoon violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price On A Great Game, February 17, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
Lost my discs to my Collector's Pack (that had the booklet, shortcut cheat sheet, etc) and needed just the discs. This fit the bill as it's simply a jewel case with the discs. In perfect shape, shipped quickly. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works with windows 8.1, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
one of the greatest games ever, many hours of fun. i used to have the original game but my old laptop was stolen with the cd in the bag, this ones works just fine, not much difference from the previous one. still tons of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AOE is the best!, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
Best game ever! Wish they would update it, but I've been playing AOE for over 10 years now...Love it! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boys will be boys, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC (CD-ROM)
my fiance loves this game and when his broke, he was sad so i hopped on here and got him the 2nd and the 3rd he loves them both and is so happy with this purchase! shipped fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC
Age of Empires 2: Gold Edition - PC by Value Software (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / Vista / XP)
$9.99 $9.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.