Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer as F$#&%$^%$
I've listened to this band since 1999, and always they are the paramount of black metal. A lot of people might disagree but this is my review. Anyway, this isn't Nemesis Divina part two as most people would prefer, but it's their heaviest record to date. Very catchy riffs, awesome drum sound, very thick and masculine, as well as the overall production. If you like the...
Published on March 4, 2009 by Emperor Buyer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great record, poor pressing
Though the quality of the sleeve and vinyl on this record is great, the sound of this vinyl isnt. This vinyl is definitely mastered straight from the CD and has serious "loudness war" issues.
Published on February 17, 2011 by overture


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer as F$#&%$^%$, March 4, 2009
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
I've listened to this band since 1999, and always they are the paramount of black metal. A lot of people might disagree but this is my review. Anyway, this isn't Nemesis Divina part two as most people would prefer, but it's their heaviest record to date. Very catchy riffs, awesome drum sound, very thick and masculine, as well as the overall production. If you like the direction they have gone in '00 era, then you should not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Satyricon, June 12, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
Might be a little easier to get into than the early ones for people who are new to TNBM. For the long time fans like me, it isn't selling out or going commercial. It is complex and very dark what more can you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These guys stick to their formula, and it works, February 13, 2009
By 
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
Unmistakably Satyricon, same scales, similar speeds, very formulaic, fits right in with their other albums. But as always, they have some killer riffs and the execution just wants you to start head banging right away. I can only imagine how awesome it must be to see these guys touring for this album. I can totally see the whole crowd head banging and jumping up and down in sync cos its easy, no complex time signatures, straight forward, punchy, slow in your face riffs.

So why 4 stars and not 5. I had to cut one star because of recording quality. Based on Now Diabolical and Volcano, I had certain expectations for the recording quality of their new album. Satyricon has been one of the better recorded metal albums and Volcano has been one of my reference metal recordings. This album just sounds compressed, clips all over the place, there is no definition in the treble, the crashes are distorted, guitar isnt clear and punchy like their earlier albums. The whole thing sounds warmer, and distorted. I don't know if this was intentional, but I much prefer the cleaner sound of their earlier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demonic!, April 1, 2009
By 
TWO IV (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
If you like metal, all minor chords, and demonic vocals then this is for you. Satyricon has definitely progressed from their Nemesis Divina days into the Age of Nero. Blast beats are replaced more by Frost's pounding double bass drums laying down a musical foundation of brutality. This combined with Satyr's guitar and bass arrangements should make Satan tremble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satyricon "The Age of Nero, January 13, 2009
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Satyr and Frost since the beginning, Satyricon has done it again with Age of Nero!!! Every song is a work of art, this album is a Must Have for any Black Metal fan!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great record, poor pressing, February 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Age of Nero [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
Though the quality of the sleeve and vinyl on this record is great, the sound of this vinyl isnt. This vinyl is definitely mastered straight from the CD and has serious "loudness war" issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, January 23, 2009
By 
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
I must admit I'm new to Satyricon. I caught the last half of "Black Crow on a Tombstone" and couldn't stop thinking about it. I loved the song, did some research and found it was Satyricon. I bought it immediately and have listened tirelessly. Each song brings new depth and discoveries not heard the previous time.Along with the lyrics, this is a real work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant black metal, November 14, 2012
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
It is a little bit hard to describe Satyricon's new sound. Why? Because it is so expansive. On their seventh studio album, 2009's "The Age Of Nero," the Norwegian black metal duo explore everything from nu-metal to grindcore, and all of the ground that falls in between those two polar-opposite sub-genres. Adherent grooves, solid melodies, and actually structured-songs are three other tools involved in the trade this time around. Sure, Satyricon may retain some of their usual, old-school black metal stand-bys: Impeccable drumming (from living legend Frost -- who is also of Gorgoroth and 1349 fame), brutal vocal rasps, racing tremolo-picked riffs, and impassionedly dark and bleak lyricism. But for the most part, though, this is new ground. ("Nero" continues in the experimental vein that the band have been using lately, starting with 2002's "Volcano.")

"Commando" is a thunderous and brutally booming opener backed by forceful double bass slamming and droning, grumbling, wall-of-sound guitars. Most of the song plods along at a fairly, ominously mid-tempo pace, but there is a bit of furious, insane blasting tucked in at the end. "The Wolfpack" is the record's first curveball in that it adopts a distinctly nu-metal-ish feel with hefty, chugging riffs. The song isn't a bad one by any stretch, but it may rub some listeners the wrong way. Its saving grace is its substantial, noteworthy bass work (there are occasional melodic breakdowns where the bass fills really shine). "Black Crow On A Tombstone" pulls out all of the stops and just-plain rips from start to finish. And although the tune does retain a catchy, hummable groove, it is thunderous double bass thumping, fiery tremolo picking, powerful, visceral vocals, and blazing tempos that are the name of the game, here.

"Die By My Hand" showcases Satyricon's newfound grindcore influence, overwhelming the listener with an onslaught of thrashy, blistering guitars and hyper-speed blast beats (Frost's drumming is truly airtight throughout). "My Skin Is Cold" shows off the band's newfound knack for song structure with memorable vocal patterns, including frog-throated vocal rasps in the pre-chorus followed by spoken word vocals in the actual chorus. The end result is positively catchy! Some ominous, choral backing vocals ("ooh") help out, too. "The Sign Of The Trident" is a fist-pumper that anchors a good, swinging groove with impeccable, rapid-fire double-time drumming. Lyrically, it is also of note, because it includes lines about a "tribal", which is very fitting because the song could darn well be a Sepultura or Soulfly cover. Then, following the very Mayhem-reminiscent "Last Man Standing," comes the album's epic, multi-faceted closer, "Den Siste," which is backed by a steady groove, solid drumming, subtle tempo changes, Darkthrone-sounding guitar work (including a giant main riff), and punk-y, grungy bass lines.

Drawing influence from bands other than just Celtic Frost and Venom, Satyricon quite literally throw the rulebook out the window on "Age Of Nero." As a result, they have produced perhaps the most interesting, epic, well-rounded, and all-around best album of their career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blacktastic!!!, February 25, 2012
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
This CD, The Age of Nero, is easily my favorite record from Satyricon. Every song kills. It's 'black' enough to be real but high production values and good rhythm make it something I could see at ANY CD store. The first song I heard from this record was "Last Man Standing" and at that moment I knew this record was a must have, and it is. The strip tease friendly "The Wolfpack" to the headbanging required flow of "Black Crow on a Tombstone" and the highly aggressive "Die by My Hand" are the ones I see standing out the most, but then again everything on this album is top notch black metal. Satyricon, unlike some of their peer bands, is one band I can see pumping out real and killer black metal until they die or retire. If you buy ANY Satyricon record as a tarting point for the band, this should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ear Worm!, January 28, 2012
This review is from: Age of Nero (Audio CD)
I am not a big black metal fan. But when I first heard "Crow on a tomb stone" I was hooked and bought the album. I did not regret it. Extraordinary songwriting, absolutely killer songs, greatly arranged. Now the black metal fans will scream "sell out" and "commercialization", but this is not a cheap short-lived radio polished album, it is much more. Point of criticism: the drum sound. You would expect a good and renown drummer like Frost to come up with a better sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Age of Nero
Age of Nero by Satyricon (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.