Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth your time & your money , eye opening video
After you view this documentary , I hope you will get the message : each one of us have to make a contribution to stop human self destruction that not only related to the way we exploit the Earth but also in the way we relate to one another . Destruction doesn't start with a consumption ( where as I agree we do make a choice whether to support or not to support a specific...
Published on January 29, 2013 by New Yorker

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ...begins here.
The Age of Stupid (Franny Armstrong, 2008)

Somewhere in the innards of The Age of Stupid is a really, really good idea. But Franny Armstrong beat, pummelled, tortured, and scarred it until it was a twisted, unrecognizable, hateful, murderous shell of itself, the insane stepbrother of 12 Monkeys that was kept locked in the basement and fed nothing but dead rats...
Published 12 months ago by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth your time & your money , eye opening video, January 29, 2013
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
After you view this documentary , I hope you will get the message : each one of us have to make a contribution to stop human self destruction that not only related to the way we exploit the Earth but also in the way we relate to one another . Destruction doesn't start with a consumption ( where as I agree we do make a choice whether to support or not to support a specific supply ) but it begins with the way we treat one another : people we do and do not know , people that we like and dislike ( usually for selfish reasons ) and people who can and can't do anything for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not the "Age of Aquarius", March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
Another in the long line of documentaries which challenge how we are destroying our own home and planet. So much of this film is also reflected in the latest book "The Sixth Extinction" and how we are destroying so many species in our time as we wantonly expand our desires to control and possess the earth.
One has to openly weep as we see the greed of so many actually destroying what has taken billions of years to evolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The time to act is NOW, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
Although the perspective is set from the future, the story is really about *us*, about the choices we are making *now*, that won't affect "future generations, 10.000 years from now" - but... our children. It shows a guy in 2055 looking at what we did today, and what happened the last 10 or 20 years or so. There were plenty dramatic events going on, and apparently, nobody was taking notice...

Katrina was a huge warning of what's happening when climate goes berserk. Ocean temperatures rising produce more and more intense hurricanes.

Or take the war in Iraq. This is not about "weapons of mass destruction". This is not about "democracy". This is a "resource war". Even Alan Greenspan literally said it and is quoted in this movie : it is all about OIL. The US and in broader terms the whole western civilization is built on (cheap) oil. Oil provides cars and planes with fuel, it even produces "food" (be it full of pesticides and with few nutrients). The big problem is that oil corrupted the governments, and they do absolutely nothing to stop the way our "civilization" is built. We are in a position we cannot expect our "democratic" governments to take any action. If we want to take action, we'll have to do it ourselves. And it won't be easy.

This movie is built along several story lines. The strongest ones are built around an Indian businessman and an English wind farm developer.

The Indian businessman wants to offer cheap flying from one rupee onwards to all Indian people, and... succeeds...

The wind farm developer wants Britain to build more and more wind farms. Although he personally has his own wind turbine to supply his family, he wants to build a wind farm for 11.000 families, but this project is successfully stopped by some neighbors, who don't want a wind farm "in their backyard", because it would "spoil the view". That is an argument I really cannot relate to. Every time I see a wind turbine, I am a happy guy. I see clean energy - zero carbon emissions.

Humankind is committing suicide. We are definitively not homo "sapiens". The title of this movie is right. We live the age of stupid. Although 99% of the scientists say climate change is real, 60 % of the people think that if they ignore climate change enough, it won't happen...

Homo sapiens has only lived for about 200.000 years on this planet. We used to love our kids. We used to leave the planet - our families and our communities - in a better state we found them in. That was called progress. Now most people believe in consumerism, but an ever-expanding growth on just one not-expanding planet is impossible. We really face suicide.

Watch this movie, share it, and act now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Why didn't we save ourselves when we had the chance?", December 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
The year is 2055. All of Earth's history, as recorded by humans, has been preserved in the "Archive." The Archive's Librarian (Pete Postlethwaite) is making a video recording of his thoughts regarding the global environmental catastrophes over the past 50 years. Looks like the climate change deniers were wrong, wrong, wrong, and the Librarian reviews actions, particularly during the period 1980-2005, in the UK, Nigeria, the Middle East, and India.

Toward the end of his review, the Librarian laments, "Why didn't we save ourselves when we had the chance?"

Some of the more powerful moments are when an English town votes to deny the permit needed for constructing a wind energy farm ("Of course there is a need for alternative energy... we'll just find it elsewhere," one opponent says after celebrating the defeat [my paraphrase]). And the need to improve the "standard of living" for people in India, Nigeria, and elsewhere, while whittling away at the global greenhouse gas emissions.

No, this was not a documentary. No, this was not supposed to be a fair and balanced view of the debate.

However, it will stimulate discussion. Guaranteed. Age of Enlightenment? Age of Reason? And now, an Age of Stupid. What will our children's children say about us?

There is a PG version (bleeped language) and an original version. However, I wish there was a 55 minute version that could be shown in a classroom timeframe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A futurist look at the "hot state" climate, and how we may well get there; what happens after a "hot state" needs a new film, December 8, 2014
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
This film has a gripping vision of late 21st Earth which makes the film unique. As a mixture of plausible facts, characters, and storyline, the sci-fi perspective would be what Margaret Atwood calls "speculative fiction."

Yet a "hot state" or "hothouse" climate is based on geological evidence of what happens when CO2 reaches 5,000 ppm (see James Lovelock's "Vanishing Face of Gaia"). A world without polar ice caps is known to have existed, and it may recur.

This is only half the story, however. Moving towards a 1% CO2 atmosphere risks paving the way for 5% CO2 (because of large releases of methane from permafrost and the oceans). Then the world is at risk for a runaway greenhouse effect - the Venus Syndrome. Such a fate has been described by James Hansen estimated in print and in a YouTube video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see film, April 9, 2014
By 
G. J. Churm (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
This came to my notice on a podcast in iTunes, it lives up to the trailer and tells the story in a slightly quirky but by the end you will know the story. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Likeable, entertaining, alarmist propaganda, June 23, 2012
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
Overall, I enjoyed this docurama. It was filled with episodes of grievous social injustice and outrageous alarmist propaganda. Not to mention the movie's high production value, slick production, and fine acting.

For the most part, I agree with just about everything the film states as fact, and most everything it suggests as a solution. It seems that our troubles are due to global warming, and global warming is due to our use of oil, coal, and other hydrocarbons. The fact that America's industrial and military might was built on cheap oil, lead to over-industrialization, which in turn lead to consumerism (to buy up all the things industry produced), and the ingrained lifestyle notion that we (Americans) are entitled to the world's resources, to be taken by force when expedient. The same mindset is true of other industrialized countries, to a lesser extent. But we are all running out of oil.

The movie claims that we are bringing about our own extinction, with rising sea levels, increased desertification, more severe storms, lower crop yields, and the ensuing social collapse that these forces will bring about. 2015 is projected to be the point of no return - if we can't save ourselves by then, the movie predicts that we, as a species, will perish. Indeed, global climate change is the excuse given for drastic population reduction and the push for one world government, but it may be that these circumstances, as real as they are, are nothing but excuses for not making a better, more humane world, instead of relying on the greed and venial tendencies which have brought our world to this impending doom.

My point of disagreement with the video is the solution package presented:
1. Create carbon budgets for all
2. Change from (hydro-) carbon fuels to wind and solar
3. End the cheap, plastic (petroleum-based), disposable products industry.
4. Cut back on the aviation industry

My disagreement isn't that these are bad ideas, but that they are so limited in scope, and thus in effects. I see little emphasis on energy conservation, curtailing nearly all frequent long-distance travel, development of sustainable lifestyles, and far greater social- and economic- justice. Having high efficiency mass transportation in urban areas and pervasive video teleconferencing infrastructure would be a better use of investment dollars than would be adding another airline to the sky.

Having read "The Chilling Stars" by Henrik Svensmark and Nigel Calder, I am convinced that global temperatures are largely modulated by cloud cover, which is in turn, determined by high engery cosmic rays and solar magnetic activity. And while green house gases do contribute to global warming, the cosmic ray - cloud cover mechanism has a greater effect. So, it is impossible to claim that any specific date represents a tipping point.

Also, the most frequent excuse for not changing our (industrialized nations') destructive habits is economic impact. The film belittles this aptly named "stupidity", but does nothing to suggest a way of overcoming this major hurtle to positive action. Had it found and presented a means of providing benefit without the burdensome cost, others would be more environmentally inclined, and I would have awarded the fifth star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
Very thought provoking and well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this and make up - if not wake up - your own mind..., March 25, 2012
By 
D. Delacovias (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
This should be watched by anyone who has ANY interest in why things are not as they could OR should be. No matter what any of us "think" about global warming - especially as we look at the record breaking phenomena of the last decade - it would be at least wise to remember that it is NOT the Planet that is in danger and that Mother Nature doesn't do "bail outs" or "quantitative easing"....

The negative "reviewers" and/or "deniers" sadly suffer from delusions of adequacy as a human beings. They should try getting a real life as the arrogant ignorance of these "people" is only second to the stupid, criminally insane ponzi/casino/big mac/cocacola/mindless debt fuelled consumption, sub prime mentality and ALL those absurd - even obscene - hypocritical, hair shirt "prophecies" and religions that have brought us to this sad state of affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The future looks bleak for our grand children, October 4, 2010
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Age of Stupid (DVD)
This is a British made documentary and is more about consumerism than global warming. The film is set in 2055, 50 years ahead of 2005 where most of data comes from. The big problem with global warming is that there is about a 40 year time lag before we see the effects of what we have done today which will affect our grand kids. The message of the film is that we have to act now to avoid a runaway increase in temperature of 6 deg. Some of the effects of global warming shown included; that the Sahara desert is increasing by three miles per year; a glacier near Mt Blanc that dropped by 145m since 1945 and in Alaska the average winter temperature has increased by 4 degrees since the 1960's. Global warming will increase the number of larger hurricanes like Katrina in 2005, because of higher ocean temperatures.

The future looks bleak because of consumerism; India and China are becoming consumer countries, they are hardly likely to reduce carbon emissions, China is building a new power station every three days. The example given in India is a man setting up a low cost airline, he is buying 26 planes to add to India's 200 planes, China has 800 planes, and the smallish SW airline in America has 417. Flying in a plane has a very large carbon footprint, in a transatlanic flight, you consume about your own body weight in fuel. America the biggest polluter is hardly going to reduce its emissions.

Examples of stupidity in the film were the British who did not like wind farms in their back yard. 80% of planning applications for wind farms are turned down, if they were accepted then we would have 10% of our power from wind. If we do not like wind farms how can we ask the developing world to cut down. The squandering of our oil resources, which are limited, but our consumer society relies on oil, we are nearing peak production. Near Mt Blanc there is the tunnel to Italy, the French send potatoes to Italy by truck to be made into mash, and then brought back. The French also send milk to Italy by truck and back to France as Yoghurt, this is madness. Then there are the gas flares in Nigeria which emit 70 million tons a year of CO2.

It shows how oil is worth fighting for, as in Iraq, and it covers two Iraqi children who fled to Jordan.

The film proposes carbon rationing as a solution, but this will be too late. As climate change starts to hit us and resources get low, it is obvious that wars will take place. The future looks bleak for our grand children, will we act now? I doubt it.

The DVD is worth buying; it is a bit slow, so only 4 stars. It is very thought provoking and worth getting. The packaging is in paper (rather than plastic which comes from oil) and there is a bonus DVD. It comes with hilarious stickers, saying "Stupid", that you should not put on cheap airline ads or on 4x4's - would be very very naughty. Don't even think about it.

For an antidote to global warming fever see The Great Global Warming Swindle (DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Age of Stupid
Age of Stupid by Franny Armstrong (DVD - 2010)
$29.95 $17.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.