Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agent Cody Banks 2: As Good As the First One
I saw Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London in theaters. From what I had seen in the previews, I was expecting to be at least as good as, if not better than, the first one. When the movie was over, I was very satisfied. It was just as good as the first one. It would have been much better if they had cut out the scene with the crazy guy who was supplying Cody's gadgets...
Published on May 23, 2004 by Tracy Wythe

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As Good as the First
Excellent! I enjoyed this movie just as much as the first one. Frankie Muniz does another great performance playing the 16 year old CIA Agent. There are also some new faces in this film. In this film Cody has to go to London to stop a mind control system from taking over the world. So he goes undercover as a new student going to a school for music in London. There is a...
Published on May 18, 2004 by moviefreak2255


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agent Cody Banks 2: As Good As the First One, May 23, 2004
This review is from: Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition) (DVD)
I saw Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London in theaters. From what I had seen in the previews, I was expecting to be at least as good as, if not better than, the first one. When the movie was over, I was very satisfied. It was just as good as the first one. It would have been much better if they had cut out the scene with the crazy guy who was supplying Cody's gadgets. Other than that, I give it two thumbs up. I can hardly wait until it comes out on DVD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agent Banks brings action & laughs to the UK, June 20, 2004
By 
Jed Shlackman (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition) (DVD)
When I saw this movie I wasn't expecting it to be as entertaining as the original. However, this movie has a solid plot for a youth spy caper and is a bit funnier than the original. Frankie Muniz is likable as the serendipitous child CIA agent, who begins the film at CIA summer camp. After the camp director turns out to be a rogue agent who has stolen mind control technology Cody is sent to London to help catch the rogue agent and stop the devious plans that have been made to use the mind control technology to gain control of world leaders. Seeing dignitaries (including the Queen of England character) dancing to the tune of "War...what is it Good For?" at a "G7" event is amusing, and Cody's CIA "handler" posing as a bumbling chef specializing in Southern cuisine is also suited to this type of movie. I'm still trying to figure out when Cody's parents will discover he is really a spy - I guess that humorous plot device can be recycled in Cody Banks 3. Well, anyway, this is a fun, fast-paced movie that can entertain children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Banks is Back�, March 29, 2004
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
Frankie Muniz returns as the teenage CIA super-secret operative in "Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London."
THE STORY:
CIA teen operative Cody Banks is called back into action to head to England undercover as a musical prodigy to stop a mad scientist and a CIA turncoat from unleashing an all-powerful mind control technology on the world's leaders at the World Summit.
THE COOL THINGS:
Again, if you're into cool spy movies full of action, cool weapons and gadgets, you'll love the next installment in the Cody Banks series. All the charm from the first movie and similar movies in the genre (a la Spy Kids) are here in this film.
Anthony Anderson's role as Bank's "handler" for this film was also a solid cast as he added much more comic relief to this year's film. "Uncle Compton." HA!!!!
THE CRITICISMS:
The film did lose a bit of a step from last year's original in terms of story pacing though. The scenes with Bank's family were filler at best and seemed to be a bit thrown in. Also, the "romance" between Bank's and his counterpart this year was just waaay below the "cutesy" romance he shared with the Hilary Duff character last year. So if you're into the films for the "Banks Girl" intrigue you'll be disappointed. However, possibilities are left open as this year's British girl character is a counterpart to Cody Banks in more ways than one.
BEST SCENES:
1. Raid at Camp Woody
2. Spying Down the Chimney
3. Bottled Water Battle
4. The Final Battle scenes
THE VERDICT:
Perfectly good and acceptable family fun. It's definitely worth the check-out if you're into these type of films.
Final Grade: 4/5
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Job, Frankie!, March 14, 2004
Well, I must admit that I don't really go for these kinds of movies, however, I really enjoyed the first one, so naturally, I had to drag my freinds kicking and screaming ( not that I cared, guyes) To see the second. I absolutely loved it! I will agree with the other reviewer that the beginning could have been better, but I could not stop laughing! It was very funny and very intense! Frankie Muniz (as always) was wonderful and the supporting cast was great! I'm glad to see that there is at least one truely great young talent out there! So, keep up the good work Frankie! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is Agent Cody Banks ready for London..., March 15, 2004
By 
David Hugaert (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
...or is London ready for Agent Cody Banks? After tackling his domestic American homeland with sheer machoism and a dedicated bravery, Agent Banks (Frankie Muniz) is off on another dangerously exciting adventure, except this installment takes place in jolly old London. Agent Banks, with an endless arsenal of gadgets in hand, must take on a madman head-to head, who's intent is to control the world's monetary supply through means of an orally-implanted microchip, which makes robots out of humans. Banks is sent to London in the guise of a music student, so as not to blow any sort of cover as a CIA spy. The film's formulaic plot tends to work for the most part, although it exudes clumsiness and silliness in places, as to how Banks' nemises are going to install EVERY microchip into BILLIONS of citizens', including some 200+ world leaders' brains. That's A LOT of people to operate on a person-to-person basis! Hannah Spearritt, as Frankie Muniz's co-star and British-agent-extraordinare Emily, although not Angie Harmon, is able to take matters into her own hands, while putting in a noble performance all the while. She really knows how to put the bad guys in their place, so don't mess with her! Yes, "Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London" almost has it all (despite a minor display of nonsensical nuances). Amongst the good things it has: arsenal (gadgets), architecture, arch-rivals, even an A-bomb-type exploding candy! "ACB2:DL" even boasts a heapin' helpin' of soul food. Hmm, grits and chitlins...ON BRITISH SOIL?!!? Verrry interrresting, and obnoxiously strange to boot! Are you all packed and ready for take-off yet? Your airline ticket (and passport)'s waiting just for you at your local theater. Be sure and claim them today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As Good as the First, May 18, 2004
By 
moviefreak2255 (Huntsville, AL United States) - See all my reviews
Excellent! I enjoyed this movie just as much as the first one. Frankie Muniz does another great performance playing the 16 year old CIA Agent. There are also some new faces in this film. In this film Cody has to go to London to stop a mind control system from taking over the world. So he goes undercover as a new student going to a school for music in London. There is a lot of action and suspense. It actually is more funny then the first movie. Anthony Anderson plays Cody's handler in this film and he is hilarious. Also S Club 7 star Hannah Sperritt plays a student at the school who is actually undercover herself. I recommend that all kids go see this movie with their parents because their parents will enjoy this film also. The action in this movie is awesome. Some effects are pretty cool. I hope they make more Agent Cody Banks movies because I think they are great family movies!!!! This movie is a movie everyone should definitely own so they can watch it over and over again for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun family movie and not as good as the first, August 22, 2004
This review is from: Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition) (DVD)
I don't expect kid and family movies to be perfect or an tightly woven cinematic experience. Destination London has a few great gags to make everyone of all ages laugh. I felt it went overboard on some of the characters especially Derek, Cody's handler. The writer's could have tone him down a little bit. Anthony Anderson, who pays Derek, did a fine job.

Frankie Muniz plays the role well and doesn't act like a kid who is trying to glide through a second movie like some actors tend to do in a sequel to a successful movie. If there is a third movie, I'm all for it.

The basic plot is the leader of the "camp," which is a training spot for kid spies in disguise goes rogue and heads to London with technology that can control the minds of anyone and make them do anything you want them to do. This is dangerous when you think of controlling the minds of the world leaders. Cody goes undercover as a musician, which was the most logical way for the agency to get someone "inside."

This is more of a 3.5 not a 3 and I just couldn't give it a 4 because I save those for very good movies and 5s for perfection. Treat it as a fun movie and you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Agent Cody Banks 2 Destination London, February 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition) (DVD)
Pretty good movie for kids and adults...a bit of violence but the gadgets are fun for kids. Some rough language should have been left out as there was no need for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Agent Banks in London, March 1, 2008
This review is from: Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition) (DVD)
Not as good as the first one. The introduction of goofy idiotic characters (the inventor and the doctor) just makes this movie worse. The gadgets introduced are pretty interesting. The plot was ok but the delivery was faulty. The chase and action scenes were pretty good. The movie was somewhat ok. Now, did we really have to have the Queen dancing?! The Swiss Army Knife part was pretty funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, July 27, 2004
This review is from: Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition) (DVD)
My son Ryan and I watched this film. It's a fun film for a youngster. A child should probably be at least ten years old to understand it all. Frankie Nunoz is a very good actor as he is in Malcom in the Middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition)
$9.98 $5.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.