Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (Special Edition)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 20, 2004
When I saw this movie I wasn't expecting it to be as entertaining as the original. However, this movie has a solid plot for a youth spy caper and is a bit funnier than the original. Frankie Muniz is likable as the serendipitous child CIA agent, who begins the film at CIA summer camp. After the camp director turns out to be a rogue agent who has stolen mind control technology Cody is sent to London to help catch the rogue agent and stop the devious plans that have been made to use the mind control technology to gain control of world leaders. Seeing dignitaries (including the Queen of England character) dancing to the tune of "War...what is it Good For?" at a "G7" event is amusing, and Cody's CIA "handler" posing as a bumbling chef specializing in Southern cuisine is also suited to this type of movie. I'm still trying to figure out when Cody's parents will discover he is really a spy - I guess that humorous plot device can be recycled in Cody Banks 3. Well, anyway, this is a fun, fast-paced movie that can entertain children and adults.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2004
...or is London ready for Agent Cody Banks? After tackling his domestic American homeland with sheer machoism and a dedicated bravery, Agent Banks (Frankie Muniz) is off on another dangerously exciting adventure, except this installment takes place in jolly old London. Agent Banks, with an endless arsenal of gadgets in hand, must take on a madman head-to head, who's intent is to control the world's monetary supply through means of an orally-implanted microchip, which makes robots out of humans. Banks is sent to London in the guise of a music student, so as not to blow any sort of cover as a CIA spy. The film's formulaic plot tends to work for the most part, although it exudes clumsiness and silliness in places, as to how Banks' nemises are going to install EVERY microchip into BILLIONS of citizens', including some 200+ world leaders' brains. That's A LOT of people to operate on a person-to-person basis! Hannah Spearritt, as Frankie Muniz's co-star and British-agent-extraordinare Emily, although not Angie Harmon, is able to take matters into her own hands, while putting in a noble performance all the while. She really knows how to put the bad guys in their place, so don't mess with her! Yes, "Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London" almost has it all (despite a minor display of nonsensical nuances). Amongst the good things it has: arsenal (gadgets), architecture, arch-rivals, even an A-bomb-type exploding candy! "ACB2:DL" even boasts a heapin' helpin' of soul food. Hmm, grits and chitlins...ON BRITISH SOIL?!!? Verrry interrresting, and obnoxiously strange to boot! Are you all packed and ready for take-off yet? Your airline ticket (and passport)'s waiting just for you at your local theater. Be sure and claim them today!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Frankie Muniz is a very talented actor and I'm a fan. So much so that I decided to pay for the rental of this very poorly written and produced debacle. If you have really bored and not to bright young children, it may keep them mildly amused for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2004
I don't expect kid and family movies to be perfect or an tightly woven cinematic experience. Destination London has a few great gags to make everyone of all ages laugh. I felt it went overboard on some of the characters especially Derek, Cody's handler. The writer's could have tone him down a little bit. Anthony Anderson, who pays Derek, did a fine job.

Frankie Muniz plays the role well and doesn't act like a kid who is trying to glide through a second movie like some actors tend to do in a sequel to a successful movie. If there is a third movie, I'm all for it.

The basic plot is the leader of the "camp," which is a training spot for kid spies in disguise goes rogue and heads to London with technology that can control the minds of anyone and make them do anything you want them to do. This is dangerous when you think of controlling the minds of the world leaders. Cody goes undercover as a musician, which was the most logical way for the agency to get someone "inside."

This is more of a 3.5 not a 3 and I just couldn't give it a 4 because I save those for very good movies and 5s for perfection. Treat it as a fun movie and you'll enjoy it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2004
Well, I must admit that I don't really go for these kinds of movies, however, I really enjoyed the first one, so naturally, I had to drag my freinds kicking and screaming ( not that I cared, guyes) To see the second. I absolutely loved it! I will agree with the other reviewer that the beginning could have been better, but I could not stop laughing! It was very funny and very intense! Frankie Muniz (as always) was wonderful and the supporting cast was great! I'm glad to see that there is at least one truely great young talent out there! So, keep up the good work Frankie! :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
My son loves to see dvd's of Agent Cody Banks. He was happy to get this movie. He watches it alot. It was cheap and came promptly. Thanks Amazon for making my son's day. I will buy more DVD's from you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2004
Frankie Muniz returns as the teenage CIA super-secret operative in "Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London."
THE STORY:
CIA teen operative Cody Banks is called back into action to head to England undercover as a musical prodigy to stop a mad scientist and a CIA turncoat from unleashing an all-powerful mind control technology on the world's leaders at the World Summit.
THE COOL THINGS:
Again, if you're into cool spy movies full of action, cool weapons and gadgets, you'll love the next installment in the Cody Banks series. All the charm from the first movie and similar movies in the genre (a la Spy Kids) are here in this film.
Anthony Anderson's role as Bank's "handler" for this film was also a solid cast as he added much more comic relief to this year's film. "Uncle Compton." HA!!!!
THE CRITICISMS:
The film did lose a bit of a step from last year's original in terms of story pacing though. The scenes with Bank's family were filler at best and seemed to be a bit thrown in. Also, the "romance" between Bank's and his counterpart this year was just waaay below the "cutesy" romance he shared with the Hilary Duff character last year. So if you're into the films for the "Banks Girl" intrigue you'll be disappointed. However, possibilities are left open as this year's British girl character is a counterpart to Cody Banks in more ways than one.
BEST SCENES:
1. Raid at Camp Woody
2. Spying Down the Chimney
3. Bottled Water Battle
4. The Final Battle scenes
THE VERDICT:
Perfectly good and acceptable family fun. It's definitely worth the check-out if you're into these type of films.
Final Grade: 4/5
Recommended
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2004
I saw Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London in theaters. From what I had seen in the previews, I was expecting to be at least as good as, if not better than, the first one. When the movie was over, I was very satisfied. It was just as good as the first one. It would have been much better if they had cut out the scene with the crazy guy who was supplying Cody's gadgets. Other than that, I give it two thumbs up. I can hardly wait until it comes out on DVD!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2014
Compared to all of the other smut out there available to young children and adolescents and no adherence to old codes of permissibility and proscription; this film is really a breath of fresh air in a smog and unclean buyer's market! I loved it and i'm an olde guy so my feelings should indicate something to these movie moguls, who keep cranking out bilge unfit for human consumption!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
I loved Malcolm in the Middle and couldn't erase that character from my mind when looking at Cody Banks. This feature will do well on family night with young children. They will enjoy seeing someone young be a superhero. It's just not a plus for people over 40 who have Marvel heroes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.