Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on March 16, 2003
I'm sure all of you have seen the trailors on tv for this movie and it makes you want to go see it. It's a very good movie! I took my 9-1/2 year old to see it and the theater was packed! Not only with kids but with a lot of adults (quite a few were without kid!). Parents, if you want a nice, good movie for your kids to see then this is the movie. Lot's of action, special effects but still down to earth and wholesome (none of this raunchy stuff nowadays.).
Cody Banks is your average everyday kid from Seattle, Washington who just happens to have been recruited by the CIA. His assignment is to get close to.....a girl. And from the trailors you can tell that Cody has a hard time talking to girls.
Think of this movie as a cross between James Bond & Spy Kids - it's kind of in the middle so pre-teens & teens will enjoy it. Frankie Muniz and Hilary Duff did an excellent job acting!
If your kids enjoy watching Lizzie McGuire and Malcolm in the Middle and Big Fat Liar then they and you won't be disappointed in this movie! I can't give the plot away or why Cody Banks needs to get close to "the girl" but you'll figure it out and if you see the movie you'll enjoy it. Go out and enjoy it together!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2003
I saw the Sneak Preview ...and the movie was great. Frankie Muniz and Hilary Duff did great jobs and portrayed their roles well. Good kids movie (James Bond for Kids and Teens). Frankie and Hilarys character both very much differ from the characters on their TV Series.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
Such a nice surprise! A "kid show" that's enjoyable for any age audience. Even though I'm an adult, I prefer lighthearted entertainment with a serious strand woven in. Agent Cody Banks delivered. This is a great show for instilling aspirations, goals, self-worth, and purpose into young minds and "normalizing" the super hero image we all grew up with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2003
I am a parent who took his kids. I thought it was very entertaining, with an excellent premise to the story. This is more in the flavor of a comedy-drama bond film and not the total fantasy of a Spy Kids.
More importantly, my kids and the others in the audience really enjoyed it. Based on audience reactions, I think the most popular age group will be 7-14. It is very well cast and performed (except Hillary Duff who has very few lines in the movie and manages to be Lizzy all over again); Frankie Muniz does an excellent job. Script is excellent. The inevitable sexual references are tasteful and kept to a minimum. No graphic violence or language. No really gross or off-color jokes. Only one visually disturbing moment at the end where the camera cuts to a few seconds of the villian's gruesome death. Frankie Muniz character has positive values. The CIA is shown in a very positive light (no liberal political correctness, thank you very much).
Overall a great family movie!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2003
Agent Cody Banks is an action filled movie, with great actors, great scenes and, of course a great plot! The beginning starts with Cody on his way to school, with great shots of Seattle! Then a 3-year-old takes over his mother's car after left alone in the car, goes backwards down a crowded Seattle street, so Cody is on the go, chasing the boy down the hill, then, of course, a railroad crossing begins to lower, Cody catches up with the car and up on top of it as the camera show a British Columbia freight train barreling out the tunnel, Cody pulls the emergency brake of the car and the stops feet from the crossing, where the train is passing. All throughout the movie action is happening, from the beginning to the end, where a great battle ensues, after Cody sneaks into the ERIS base, in the beautiful North Cascade Mountains, tons of action! I would recommend this movie to anyone with a kid that's into James Bond.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2003
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It's not the type of fare I usually go see,but it was a wonderful fantasy - boy CIA agent gets bad guys but not the girls - complete with all the James Bond gadgets and cars any teen would cherish. It's clean fun, full of action and wit and once you accept the premise of the CIA recruiting child agents, it's a wild ride.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2008
A great fast, fun, clean and enjoyable movie. Its a shame the book was not as good, but this film is great, yes the actor does a big part in the movie and carries the film. It may not be a classic, but is full of fun and well worth watching. Cody is like Jason Steed, Alex Rider a young 007, teen spy.
Agent Cody Banks deserves much more attention than it gets

Plot: Cody Banks (Frankie Muniz) learns he is a secret agent and he is brought in for training by Ronica Miles (Angie Harmon) who ends up his sidekick. He meets the CIA Director (Keith David) and prepares on his first mission while his parents, Mrs. Banks (Cynthia Stevenson) and Mr. Banks (Daniel Roebuck) along with his younger brother Alex Banks (Connor Widdows) have no idea what is going on. His mission is to get close to Natalie Connors (Hilary Duff) in hopes that she will invite him to her birthday party so he can use the opportunity to spy on her dad, Dr. Connors (Martin Donovan) because he is under suspicion for working for ERIS an illegal corporation. Complications arise when Natalie is kidnapped and Cody must rescue her.

The Good News: Right away the film starts with a big action sequence and it's a very impressive one at that. There is so much to like here it's a wonder that this series has never gotten as much attention as the Spy Kids series even if the second film is lousy. Director Herald Zwart brings a lot of flair to this film as the film is shot beautifully and never looks cheap or boring. The script by Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz, Scott Alexander, and Larry Karaszewski is never boring and never loses your interest when nothing is happening. The acting is great, long time friends Frankie Muniz and Hilary Duff star and Hilary Duff shows the talent that would carry her through the next few years and Frankie Muniz is no slacker in the role of Cody Banks and it's no surprise that he would go on to be a star even if he never got as much fame as Hilary. The best supporting roles go to Keith David as the CIA Director and it's not a wonder that he returned for the sequel and the other one goes to Angie Harmon as Ronica Miles. She is energetic on screen and you fell her presence throughout the film. The plot, while nothing new proves you don't have to always have a fresh plot to make the film enjoyable. The film's tag line is one of the best and it sets the tone for the film, the running time is 102 minutes, but it seems a lot shorter than that and has a high re watch-ability factor. The action scenes are outstanding and the two that come off as the best are the diner scene and the ending. There are more such as when Cody is at Natalie's birthday party and he's spying on Dr. Connors and the beginning, it's really hard to pick a favorite one, but the diner scene and the ending come off as the best. I also recorded a few good laughs here and there between the action breaks. One of the biggest laughs is Ronica's first appearance, I don't want to ruin it for you as it is the biggest laugh our of the entire film. I'm also not a big fan of the boyfriend and girlfriend situation, but here is works well and flows well with the plot.

The Bad News: I couldn't find anything wrong except a few logical errors which every film has

Conclusion: If you like action or adventure movies then this film is definitely for you and if you haven't seen it already grab yourself a DVD copy today! Recommeded
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2004
This is DEFINETLY my favorite real life movie. I loved it. It was so good. I kept laughing throughout the WHOLE movie. Well, almost all of it. Save-the-world movies are fun to watch. Ever since this came out on March 14th 2003, it was a GREAT movie. Cody Banks is AWESOME. He reminds me of Breaker the Magical Warrior in a way kinda.
Frankie Muniz is just cool. I watch his movies like Big Fat Liar, and he plays Chester from FOP. He's a great actor. He has some cool movies and shows.
And that Hilary Duff...I don't know how to describe her. Well, actually, yes I know how to describe her...she's just HOT! She is SO much cooler than Muniz...well, actually, I like Muniz a lot, well, almost as much as Duff. They're both cool. And her movie character, Natalie Connors, was also funny.
The DVD features were very cool also. The deleted scenes, outtakes, the photos, director's diary, everything looks cool!
Well, actually, I don't have this movie, but I rented it at Blockbuster once. My cousin Jason is getting this for his birthday. I can't wait for him to bring it so I can watch it again!
Rating: This movie gets an easy 10/10 in my book.
And if you love this movie, just wait until you see Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London. BTW, is Duff in that movie too? I hope so!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
Soooooo 90's!!! I basically got this for free because of free shipping for buys over 25$ and with shipping my other product was going to be ruffly 25$ so SWEEEET total blast to the past and so funny!!! But if I didn't get it for free or like a dollar I probably wouldn't have bought it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2014
This movie is much wittier and smarter than your average family fare -- plenty of jokes for adults and clever parodies of various caper / spy / international megalomaniac pics we've all endured. This movie is a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.