Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2012
This is the third edition that I've bought and read. I still love this book.

This edition is much shorter than the previous editions. I tend to read books cover-to-cover, so I appreciate when they aren't full of reference information that I can find online. I think this book struck the right balance of breadth, depth, and length. My buddy Shailen Tuli thought it was too short. Your mileage may vary.

I think the only thing bad about this book is that it focuses on Rails 3.0. Because Rails 3.1 has something called the "asset pipeline", it's not so easy to make the jump. I decided to stick with Rails 3.0 for the time being because I really like having a book to refer to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2011
After reading Michael Hartl's 'Ruby on Rails Tutorial: Learn Rails by Example', I was sadly disappointed by Agile Web Dev. with Rails.

While there are solid examples of how to use AJAX, create XML templates, and more; the book does a poor job of explaining how it all works and the Rails functions being used.

The book takes on a somewhat casual approach, addressing you as if you're a developer creating a shopping cart for a client. As a result, there were a number of one-liners or even strings of sentences about 'you' and your imaginary client. A lot of this came off as fluff that was a huge waste of time and was flat out annoying.

For a much better way to learn Rails, choose Ruby on Rails Tutorial by Hartl.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2011
This book seems to be aimed at someone who is completely new to this whole "programming thing." As someone who is already familiar with several other web development languages, this book was torture. It takes a chapter of fluff to communicate 2-3 concepts. It also does little to explain the magic behind the curtain. While Ruby on Rails relies heavily on conventions, the book does not do a good job of explaining the deeper inner workings to a point where a developer would be comfortable developing more advanced sites than their simple examples.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
Gets you writing the code, but I did not like the format of this book. I ended up getting Ruby On Rails Tutorial Second Edition by Michael Hartl.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
I've been developing for less than a year although I've gone through a ton of learning materials both in print and online. With regards to Rails, I've gone through Michael Hartl's excellent tutorial Ruby on Rails 3 Tutorial LiveLessons Bundle: Learn Rails by Example, and a number of other tutorials online. My first thoughts when going through the first 1/3rd of this book is, "I'm really happy I didn't buy this as a total beginner."

The book goes quickly over Rails features that I would have found totally confusing 6 months ago. Only because I know what things like helpers are and how they work can I really take advantage of this book. So if you've been playing around with Rails and understand the basics and may have even built a few small applications, I'd highly recommend it as the whole framework is tied together and relevant descriptions of everything written by the people who designed it. However if you're looking to get started in Rails, I'd spend some time online or with much more beginner focused books before moving on to something of this level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
I am new to Ruby and Ruby on Rails. So far the book has been good. For a beginner he could have explained the GIT process for code repository. I have learned from and enjoyed the book. So far i am on chapter 18. Once done with this book I will be reading the Rails 1.9.2 book. I would recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
Rails may be in version 4 now, but this is still the definitive RoR instruction manual. I've gone over every page, and written a shopping cart that builds on the examples in this book. The curve on Rails can be a steep one, but if you can understand what is in this book, you'll soon be on your way to Rails wizardry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2011
New projects often force or motivate me to use new programming languages or development frameworks. The web is fine as a reference if you know what you look for, but if you're new, this book is unbeatable. It covers the whole process from installation and development to deployment and maintenance, and is thus a good companion for quite some time.

The first part (Getting started) helps with installation and setup, gives you an overview of Rails, and provides an introduction to Ruby. Skip the sections that you don't need, otherwise the part is worth a complete read.

The second part (Building an Application) is written around an example web shop. If you're working on a different application, these 200 pages can be quite a lot to read completely. However, this part is structured so well, that you can build whatever you want while following the steps, if you peek ahead into the next part.

Part III (Rails in depth) provides details on important elements of Rails like active records, controllers and views, and caching. Furthermore, it guides you well when making changes to your live platform, using plugins, or implementing non-browser applications.

This (fourth) edition of this book is the first one to address Rails 3, and you avoid a lot of confusion if you have the right one. Unfortunately, it has lost more than 40% of its pages compared to the second or third edition. Besides overall shortening, the section on securing Rails applications has been removed for example. However, since Rails takes care of the most important security aspects by itself, this is not too much of a sacrifice.

Overall, I can highly recommend this book especially to beginners. It sets you up with all you need to get started and to get basic applications up and running, and thus the whole book is a gem by itself. Advanced users can still find some information in Part III, but experts would probably need more detailed references.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
There is no better book for getting started with Ruby on Rails.

In fact, this is probably the best quickly style, walk through guide of any tech topic I've seen.

The book goes like this:

1. Install ruby on rails
2. Build a depot application
3. Improve the depot application
4. More in-depth reference style explanation of different areas of rails.

Try picking up a book on Drupal before you complain about how hard it is to get started with this book :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
This book teaches you Rails in a fast way that you can finish your first round of reading it in one week. Then come back for a second round of reading to pickup the topics you didn't fully understand. It even has a chapter for i18n which the two other books of "Rails Tutorial" and "Rails Way" do not talk about it.

It is straight to the point, chapters are not too long or boring and doesn't go in too many tangents like teaching you Twitter Bootstrap or RSpec testing. It talks a little about RSpec testing but if you want to learn Testing in Rails then buy a book that is about that topic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse