Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User Story to the point
I can see why the author would be a sound product manager. At the beginning of the book the author indicates that his intention is to write a book that can be read in 3 hrs or so, perhaps while on a flight to meet your customer. That objective is accomplished amazingly well. The book is focused, does not toss around extra verbiage or lame attempts at humor and explains...
Published on October 21, 2011 by R. Pokkyarath

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good read but more focused on project management
Good read but more focused on project management and scrum as opposed to product management. Too much on agile product development.
Published 11 months ago by PurePorsche


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User Story to the point, October 21, 2011
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
I can see why the author would be a sound product manager. At the beginning of the book the author indicates that his intention is to write a book that can be read in 3 hrs or so, perhaps while on a flight to meet your customer. That objective is accomplished amazingly well. The book is focused, does not toss around extra verbiage or lame attempts at humor and explains the intended content in a precise and smooth manner. There are about forty or so figures in the book--ranging from burndown charts, prioritization matrix, ones that illustrates the release planning and release/spring tracking and more--and that in itself explains the message of the book very clearly. Once you've read the book, and at a later point you would like to review it or dust it off when you're involved in this activity, then all you'd need is to scan through those figures and everything would explain itself. Also the topics are structured and classified in a manner that allows you to easily navigate the book and it provides a clear view of the high-level picture. If you're new to this functional area or even if you're already involved I think this book is a good one to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise, detailed book on Agile/Scrum development for Product Managers, April 6, 2010
By 
Stacey Louie (SF Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
Agile Excellence for Product Managers is a VERY good book packaged in a concise way. Its a very easy read and includes specific Agile processes and suggestions on how to establish and operate your own Agile development program. Chapters 1-5 are a perfect introduction to Agile. Chapter 6 covers what the Product Owner needs to focus on. The rest of the book covers implementation and impact to your existing teams as well as some comparison of Scrum & XP (eXtreme Programming) followed by a good summary in the final chapter. There is an illustration called the 'Agile Product Management Framework' that offers an excellent overview on how Product Strategy intersects with with Product Planning as related to Agile/ Scrum development.

Highly recommend this book as an introduction of Agile & Scrum development to Product Owners (product management) and Software Development leaders. Also good for Executive leaders/ stakeholders looking for an overview on Agile terminology and concepts that their teams are talking about!

Experienced Scrum Masters and trained Agile Product Owners will find Mr. Cohen's good use of citations and references helpful for further reseach and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent crash course on Agile development, May 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
Quick, concise read on Agile development. You can read it cover to cover on a cross-country flight, yet it's jam packed with useful information. Great book. I've recommended it to many friends who are getting started with Agile and Scrum. Note that this book focuses on the Scrum style a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear, practical, no-nonsense guide for product managers implementing Agile, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
I am a marketing professional in the areas of enterprise software and IT consulting with some direct software development and product management experience. I read this book to become more familiar with Agile development techniques in general as well as the impact Agile development has on the role of a product manager. The author does a great job of comparing and contrasting Agile with traditional (waterfall) development and explaining some of the different Agile development methodologies. This book provides a solid introduction to the topic and contains a healthy list of references for further study. The author provides clear explanations, practical suggestions, and useful, concrete examples. I found this book to be clearly and economically written - there is no fluff. This is a practical, step-by-step guide written by a practitioner, for practitioners. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Prcticle and to the point, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
In a busy schedule this is a very good overview book with some excellent insightful comments and strategies. Helps you make the transition to applying agile to your work flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great quick read refresher or introduction to Agile, November 10, 2014
By 
M. Straus (San Francisco CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great quick read refresher or introduction to Agile. I have worked in various Agile environments over the years, each with its own specific adoption but often not well defined or tending towards more traditional. Before starting a new product management role I wanted to fine a quick read to give me a fresh perspective on Agile to take with me. This was easy to read in a few day during my commute and helped remind me of many key points that will hopefully help in my new role and in refining not only my responsibilities but the overall agile process the team will use. I wish it went into a bit more depth on some areas, and discussed more alternatives in others, but I understand why this was often avoided as the goal was to be short. Ideally this book is accompanied with some more detailed resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, concise book, March 23, 2010
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
The new book Agile Excellence(tm) for Product Managers by Greg Cohen of the 280Group, Inc. really lays a foundation for success in Agile methodology. With a glossary, framework and only 135 pages, there is no fluff or dead space in this concise book. It is perfect for a busy working product manager who does not have the time to slog through lengthy background or descriptions. With the increasing adoption of Agile development it is imperative that product managers adapt or get left behind. This book can easily help a product manager stay on top of the trend and make their job more satisfying by giving them a clear plan with practical tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful collection of information, highly recommended, May 7, 2010
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
A good manager doesn't panic when their plan is changed. "Agile Excellence: For Product Managers" is a guide to agile product management, managing when everything isn't going according to plan and dealing with these problems accordingly. Flexing the schedule, reworking one's plans, and meeting deadlines, new programs and languages for dealing with a marketplace that demands speed and flexibility, "Agile Excellence" proves to be an insightful collection of information, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-read book for Product Managers, May 19, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Menlo Park, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams (Paperback)
This excellent book provides practical information for Product Management strategies for Agile product development. The ideas within will help you improve the role of PM in your organization and make you more effective. It guides the reader through all phases of product development with clear tactics for maximizing communication and impact. I have incorporated the technique into my work and have seen positive results already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive yet understandable introduction to Agile, December 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent base reference for Agile values, principles and practices. Includes coverage of Lean principles as well. Very easy to read. Although this book focuses on how Agile can be used for "software development" type products, the concepts easily apply to other types of knowledge work and product management in manufacturing. This book will be useful for classes which I teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Agile Excellence for Product Managers: A Guide to Creating Winning Products with Agile Development Teams
$24.95 $24.69
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.