Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very accessible introduction to Agile
I bought Agile Project Management for Dummies yesterday and I have read most of it in the past 24 hours. It's a really easy read and makes Agile (and the specific approach of Scrum) very accessible. The comparisons with Waterfall are very helpful, as you really have to shift your mindset to a new way of thinking. I especially enjoyed the case study example that...
Published on May 2, 2012 by AnnaKK

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Agile PM
We were looking for a quick intro for our newbies, and this proves to fit the bill nicely. Wish there were more examples, but overall well worth the price ... a good value.
Published 19 months ago by B. Jacobs


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very accessible introduction to Agile, May 2, 2012
This review is from: Agile Project Management For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought Agile Project Management for Dummies yesterday and I have read most of it in the past 24 hours. It's a really easy read and makes Agile (and the specific approach of Scrum) very accessible. The comparisons with Waterfall are very helpful, as you really have to shift your mindset to a new way of thinking. I especially enjoyed the case study example that illustrated the process with a simple mobile banking project. It made all the artifacts make sense to me.

This should be mandatory reading for everyone from CIOs, Product Managers, Heads of PMOs and everyone involved in software and application development. Adopting Agile looks straightforward at a project level, but Mark points to some of the complexities of enterprise wide implementations towards the end of the book. It's as well to know what it's going to take to maximize the benefits of Agile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agile Project Management, August 10, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management For Dummies (Paperback)
I've purchased many "...for Dummies" books in the past but this is the first one I've actually read cover-to-cover. If you are familiar with the "...for Dummies" series, you know what you're going to get: a nuts and bolts, start with the basics, type of book. Having knowledge of and experience in the traditional waterfall project methodology for software development and delivery, I wanted to learn more about Agile Project Methodology but I wanted to make sure I started with a solid foundation. If your plan is the same as mine, this book fits the bill. It begins with background information (Ch. 1), then the Agile Manifesto and the 12 Agile Principles (Ch. 2) and builds on that each chapter thereafter. Besides the key terms, definitions, project team roles, Agile in practice, etc.... this book delves into topics such as procurement, working with vendors, and project cost and budget considerations specific to Agile projects. If you read from cover-to-cover, you will notice some repetition in the book; intended for those who use the book as a reference - read a section here, chapter there, skip ahead. I didn't mind it. In fact, I used it to my learning advantage. I feel confident in what I have learned here, so much so, I feel I am ready to move on and tackle heftier Agile-specific topics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough introduction to Agile and Scrum, June 30, 2012
This review is from: Agile Project Management For Dummies (Paperback)
Don't be fooled by the "Dummies" title; this is one of those "For Dummies" books that's intelligent and thorough. It's a very good introduction to Agile principles and the Scrum framework. It works as both a ground-up training manual if you're totally new to the field and as a reference if you've been working with Agile for a while. I'm a Certified Scrum Master and have been working with Agile approaches like Scrum and Kanban for over a year now and have been able to find some great tips and solutions to challenges I've come across lately in this book. I've already recommended it to my coworkers and some colleagues who are about to take their Scrum certification class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good intro into agile development, August 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
IMHO this is very nice intro into Agile development techniques with very strong focus on scrum. If you're going to read the book from start to end, there are lot of repeating notes / pickups / highlights, so closely to the end of the book you're going to simply skip few pages, cause you've read them 100 pages ago. But this is a way the book was written, best way to read it is to impersonate yourself into one of the roles described at the beginning of the book and then jump directly to proper chapter.

Alter all I liked this book. There is a small glitch reading it on Kindle, the tables, images, etc. aren't so much readble...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Agile PM, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management For Dummies (Paperback)
We were looking for a quick intro for our newbies, and this proves to fit the bill nicely. Wish there were more examples, but overall well worth the price ... a good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, March 10, 2013
By 
Ashraf (Springfield Gardens, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
It is a very easy read, good introductory book to the subject, it covers part of the pmi-acp (agile) topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview/introduction to Agile, August 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have yet to encounter a dummies book I don't like. This book is great for someone looking for a crash course in Agile. Covers all the major methodologies with particular attention to Scrum. Highly recommended if you want to get a good overview of Agile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book for Agile Newbies, November 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book certainly covers the basics (and more) of the Agile Methodology. In true "for dummies" format, it does repeat concepts with slightly different wording quite a few times. This is not necessarily a bad thing, as the most important concepts are hammered home throughout the book. After the overview, the author gives a clear "how to" picture, enabling a structured start with Agile. I definitely recommend this book for those considering Agile (and Scrum) for development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simplified look at software development, May 30, 2012
This review is from: Agile Project Management For Dummies (Paperback)
A simplified look at agile software development - as it says on the cover page.

Scrum, XP and other approaches are covered, and this book may give you some useful ideas before you start your first agile project, and especially in choosing which method (or combination of methods) suits you best.

Those implementing large projects and especially in Government might find this other book useful: Agile Project Management for Government
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic Volume, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Agile Project Management For Dummies (Paperback)
Provides the basics for understanding AGILE and the environment in which it thrives. It would be better if it went into more detailed examples of where it would best fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Agile Project Management For Dummies
Agile Project Management For Dummies by Mark Layton (Paperback - May 8, 2012)
$29.99 $17.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.