Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$49.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 26, 2012
This is a good book to catch up on the basics and get some great ideas for transitioning to Agile methodology. I have used several of the ideas from this book to help with my own transition to Agile. I would recommend this to anyone that is transitioning to Agile methodology or if you are feeling stuck and in need of inspiration. It's a good read, not horribly dry and has some good side stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
I wanted to like this book when I bought it. I know Lisa Crispin from having contributed to Beautiful Testing with her. Janet Gregory I've only met once or twice at conferences. Both have somewhat different ideas about testing than I do, but both manage to disagree without being disagreeable--which you can't say for everyone in this business.

I'm glad to say that I did like the book. It was not dogmatic in most cases, which is great, because I don't need to read (or hear) another marketing pitch or definition of orthodoxy for agile methods. It was mostly focused on practical topics. As other reviewers said, some of the material was obvious if you've been in the testing business for years, but then again they did say that they wanted to book to be accessible to people new to testing--and lots of people involved in agile testing are pretty fresh to the field.

Why not five stars? I felt that the discussion about manual testing was one place where the book did veer somewhat into dogma, and also into the promotion of a single variety of exploratory testing which is proprietary to a single training provider. I would have appreciated a more balanced discussion, including more on ways of including proven manual testing best practices (as practiced on projects following traditional lifecycles) into agile projects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
This book is an excellent guide on agile testing strategy and is valuable for developers, testers, managers and test engineering directors.

It covers answers to common questions (noted in Preface pp. xxix, xxx) asked by its intended audience.
(Browse these pages using "Look Inside" if possible.)

I was looking for more meat in the area of test method design, test method verification and perhaps some treatment of statistical testing (e.g., orthogonal array testing strategy). My domain area is resource constrained, embedded systems such as medical devices. The book was not targeted to this product domain.

If you are looking for a guide for agile team test strategy then by all means buy this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
Great read for people that are into Agile testing. Though a title like "eXtreme testing" seems more fitting then "Agile testing" since of all the available Agile methodologies the book was mainly concerned with eXtreme Programming. As such it was written from a strong technical perspective, meaning an emphasis on automated testing and tooling. Though this did not detriment the quality of the book. I was impressed and captivated by the technical details of many examples, like how to unit test procedures in legacy mainframe systems, or how to implement a domain specific language in Watir for acceptance test driven development. I thought these were pretty advanced topics that don't appear in the average book on testing.
The style of writing was as if two friends were taking turns chatting about their personal experiences and what worked for them without expecting you to do it in the same way. Not in a 'this is how to do it' kind of way. There were also many sections scattered throughout the book in which some friend or acquaintance of the author would elaborate on a subject they happened to know alot about. This made the book feel richer and fun to read, I can recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
This is a great book to not only get the simplistic approach to testing in the agile world, but also to take the lessons learned and apply them in a real world environment. I recommend this not only to testers, but also programmers that need to apply testing principles in their sprint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2011
Agile software development has moved on since the early days of "we don't need specialist testers; we are all testers now" and this book reflects the growing maturity. Both authors have been involved in the day-to-day testing activities on agile projects for a number of years. The personal experience shines through.

Interspersed in text are episodes from real projects accredited to one or other author: `Lisa's story' or `Janet's story' as appropriate, with occasional examples from elsewhere. It is a sound practical book, with lots of examples. The emphasis is not prescriptive, but very much "try this, it may work" or "it worked for us".

Even if not involved in an agile development methodology, it could give you ideas to strengthen testing and the development process itself. It is aimed at testing in an agile environment, but listen to this: when consideration documentation, ask two questions. Who is it for? What are they using it for? Don't we all need to hear that!

The authors don't necessarily expect readers to start on page one and proceed sequentially to the end. There are frequent forward and backward pointers to other sections and some readers will dive into the book to seek answers for specific questions. (Maybe "Does `agile' work if there is no test automation?") The aim is not to convince a reader of the merits of agile development, but there will be points of interest that will benefit many, even those who are rigidly set against the whole agile family of development processes. One strength of the book is that `agile' is not defined in detail - there are flavours and many firms "do agile differently". Even if you are involved in pseudo-agile (sequential waterfall, masquerading as agile), you will benefit.

So in strongly recommending this book, I would like to mention some good solid items from within.

If your metrics aren't helping you understand your progress towards your goal, you may have the
wrong metrics

Estimates are only that

Projects succeed when people are allowed to do their best work

In testing, start with a thin slice - the easiest route though the process, considering simple
parameters/inputs etc. that succeed.

Tests are not temporary but testers are (told with candour and humour, a story in which the author
is laughing against herself.)

Look for low-hanging fruit.

Strangling legacy code by re-writing it test first.

The power of three rule. If tester and developer cannot agree, grab a customer.

Learn from each release, to make the next one better

There are many other one-liners that you can find for yourself. If involved in software development in general or testing in particular, read it. It will do you good.

Peter Morgan, Bath, UK (morganp@supanet.com)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
I'm new to the Agile environment. This book has helped me transition from traditional "Waterfall Development" to a highly successful Agile team.If you are a QA tester or Developer this book is a great resource.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2012
I ordered a different Agile book, but the seller sent this used one by mistake. I paid less than half the new price, which is about what it's worth based on subject matter and presentation.

This book has a lot of good information based on a dedicated tester's perspective, and also provides some limited insight into what Agile software development is about. Thus, it's a good informal introduction for the uninitiated.

The book is interlaced with frequent short anecdotes, some merely distracting but some useful. OTOH, the anecdotes do break up what could otherwise be a laborious read. Your mileage may vary.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
Must read for anyone in software development. This book stresses ATDD, importance of upfront collaboration, talks about testing in Agile world, Agile tester mindset and how proper intention can amplify the value of testing..I'd say every page is valuable. Authors are making second edition of this book and I'd certainly buy that one too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
This was a great book on how testing can be accomplished in an Agile team. We use Scrum at work, and it is difficult to get the testing done in short iterations. This book taught me that the testers can be involved at the planning, through programming, and into a release. It also taught me the importance of test automation to meet deadlines. It was easy to read and very practical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse