Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2012
A fascinating tale of moral redemption.

Images so powerful they linger in the mind hours after they've left the screen.

And the eyes, always the eyes ... the eyes of Evil, the eyes of Truth.

A young man (Hrithik Roshan) must tread the dark and difficult 'path through fire' -- lit., 'agneepath' -- of challenge and personal sacrifice to avenge his family against the crimelord (Sanjay Dutt) who brutally murdered his father, dishonoured his family, and corrupted their whole community.

If the classic 1990 "Agneepath" pioneered one of the strongest stories ever in film (and was way ahead of its time, for Hindi cinema), this 2012 "Agneepath" preserves the most effective elements of that brilliant original story and revamps what needed help. Our villain is even more evil, and the road of challenges our hero must overcome to defeat him is correspondingly an even darker, more treacherous journey.

Raw. Powerful. Primeval.

Sanjay Dutt's Kancha is a villain for the ages. Visually, he scared me just on the poster! A big, bad, very bad man. The bald head, the tattoos, the smile, the laugh, the spreading shapeless pale blobbiness of his huge bulk, and above all those hauntingly sick eyes, combine to render Mr Dutt's Kancha one of the most naturally frightening villains ever conceived. Where the original 1990 Kancha Cheena played by Danny Denzongpa was sleek and smooth and sophisticated, his evil was very modern and straightforward in open pursuit of power and wealth - and thus more familiar. Mr Dutt's Kancha, however, is pure psychopath: he destroys and kills because he LIKES it. And even though the audience understand how he became so twisted, that sickness makes him very scary indeed ... the visual embodiment of human evil.

What I could *not* anticipate from the trailers, though, is how Hrithik Roshan's Vijay Dinanath Chauhan would prove equally intimidating and visually frightening as Mr Dutt's Kancha: with those keen clear eyes knifing through his face awash in blood, Mr Roshan's Vijay looks purely the Avenger-from-Hell. Director Karan Malhotra effectively channels Mr Roshan's natural intensity into a human sword of vengeance - a quiet character who 'says' a lot from the shadows, projects mountains of lurking threat and menace, even where he has no dialogue. Again the eyes, always the eyes in this film! Never before had any director so effectively used the sheer glow-in-the-dark luminosity of Mr Roshan's eyes. The iconic 1990 Vijay created by the great Amitabh Bachchan (one of his most memorable roles) was significantly older and more verbally aggressive, the character more seduced by the trappings of power and wealth, only refocussing on his essential task toward the very end. By contrast, Mr Roshan's Vijay leads a haunted, almost monk-like existence, never losing focus down the years toward destroying his enemy. Obsessed, relentless, deadly - and a perfect showcase for Mr Roshan to demonstrate, yet again, his great dramatic range as an actor.

Mr Roshan and Mr Dutt are so riveting in this film that any scenes they are not in, separately or together, honestly feel like a distraction.

Despite 12 intervening years these two great actors have lost none of the chemistry that powered 2000's excellent "Mission Kashmir". Mr Roshan is slightly the taller actor, Mr Dutt significantly the heavier, but the two are so perfectly matched and the build-up so well laid that by the climax of this "Agneepath" audience anticipation could not be higher ... or more well-rewarded.

An unforgettable, 'must-see' film!

Special credit is due the highest standards of craft professionalism that distinguish this 2012 "Agneepath", notably these departments: Cinematography (exceptional lighting and shot selection, especially with the principal actors); Sound and Sound Editing (variety and scope, silent private moments to mass public festivals, all perfectly managed); and Stunts/Fight Choreography (so many action scenes, but each distinct and cumulatively building to the truly epic climax).
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
Disfunctionality never looked so stupendously beautiful. I loved this movie. The juxtaposition of Hritik Roshan as an actor
in JOdha Akbar and now in Agneepath is so fascinating. So glad to see him take Bollywood acting to another level. Cannot waite to see him in future projects. Congratulation to Karan Malhotra as a new director. You must possess an incredible inner life. Looking forward to more great movies from you.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2012
There is no other way to describe this new version of the classic Agneepath. I'm a HUGE Hrithik Roshan fan and he does not disappoint in this role. Mr. Roshan has the amazing ability to show all his emotions thru his eyes, he can make you cry or cringe just by looking into the camera; that is true talent. Hrithik Roshan's Vijay is both brutal and beautiful; his pain is bone deep and at no time does the character let you forget his suffering. By contrast, Priyanka Chopra's Kaali brings lightness and joy to the movie that adds another layer that is missing in the original. Her beauty both inside and out and her deep love for Vijay are both a breath a fresh air in the film and a reminder that Vijay is more than the vengeance driven man he has become.

The drive of this movie rests on the broad shoulders of Sanjay Dutt and Rishi Kapoor. Rishi Kapoor's Lala ranks right up there with some of the best Mafia Don's in motion pictures. From the first shot of his scarred face and crooked smile you know what you are dealing with. I believe this was Mr. Kapoors first role as a "bad guy" and for that all I can say is BRAVO. And then there is Sanjay Dutt's Kancha; this man is textbook EVIL. The head, the sneer, the voice, the eyes all of it is PERFECT. This Kancha was forged in the fires of Hell and you never forget it for a second, you can practically smell the evil he oozes in every scene.

This Agneepath is not for the weak hearted; it is Bloody and it is Brutal, definitely the most violent Bollywood movie I have ever watched. My only complaint is that the song/scene O Saiyyan was cut from the movie. If you watch this movie on DVD, do yourself a favor and watch the music video when the movie is done. I understand why it was cut, but I so would have loved to see it as part of the movie. The song and the scene are heartbreakingly beautiful, and by the end of this movie you will want a reminder of love and joy.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
This movie was released in January 2012 and I am glad a I had the chance to witness another masterpiece of Indian cinematography. Hrithik Roshan proves again what a excellent actor he is! A movie worth seeing!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2012
If you like the dark underworld of the mafia and anti-hero types, then you'll enjoy this movie. It's about a man whose father was murdered by a psychopath, who then proceeds to take over the small island village and enslave the people using fear and intimidation as his weapon of choice.
The psychopath is played by Sanjay Dutt, and a marvelous job he makes of it too! This character is very creepy, intimidating and extremely evil-looking. Just a massive hulk of brutal force imposed on the poor simple villagers.
The anti-hero sees only one path, the path of fire or Agneepath. He is bent on revenging his father's murder. He does this by infiltrating the underworld of the Indian mafia. Even though his choice costs him more than he bargained for, he still goes along this self-destructive path of revenge.
This is one of the best mafia/underworld/anti-hero type movies I've ever seen with superb acting from Hrithik Roshan (as usual) and Priyank Chopra's performance is her best to date. Hrithik Roshan is one of those actors that can inspire his fellow thespians to perform at their utmost. That very inspiration could be why Rishi Kapoor chose to play a heavy this time instead of his usual jolly, fun-loving characters. Rishi has proven himself a versatile actor with this menacing character.
Agneepath is truly a beautifully filmed piece of art to add to the many masterpieces of the Hindi movie film industry.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2012
A fascinating tale of moral redemption.

Images so powerful they linger in the mind hours after they've left the screen.

And the eyes, always the eyes ... the eyes of Evil, the eyes of Truth.

A young man (Hrithik Roshan) must tread the dark and difficult 'path through fire' -- lit., 'agneepath' -- of challenge and personal sacrifice to avenge his family against the crimelord (Sanjay Dutt) who brutally murdered his father, dishonoured his family, and corrupted their whole community.

If the classic 1990 "Agneepath" pioneered one of the strongest stories ever in film (and was way ahead of its time, for Hindi cinema), this 2012 "Agneepath" preserves the most effective elements of that brilliant original story and revamps what needed help. Our villain is even more evil, and the road of challenges our hero must overcome to defeat him is correspondingly an even darker, more treacherous journey.

Raw. Powerful. Primeval.

Sanjay Dutt's Kancha is a villain for the ages. Visually, he scared me just on the poster! A big, bad, very bad man. The bald head, the tattoos, the smile, the laugh, the spreading shapeless pale blobbiness of his huge bulk, and above all those hauntingly sick eyes, combine to render Mr Dutt's Kancha one of the most naturally frightening villains ever conceived. Where the original 1990 Kancha Cheena played by Danny Denzongpa was sleek and smooth and sophisticated, his evil was very modern and straightforward in open pursuit of power and wealth - and thus more familiar. Mr Dutt's Kancha, however, is pure psychopath: he destroys and kills because he LIKES it. And even though the audience understand how he became so twisted, that sickness makes him very scary indeed ... the visual embodiment of human evil.

What I could *not* anticipate from the trailers, though, is how Hrithik Roshan's Vijay Dinanath Chauhan would prove equally intimidating and visually frightening as Mr Dutt's Kancha: with those keen clear eyes knifing through his face awash in blood, Mr Roshan's Vijay looks purely the Avenger-from-Hell. Director Karan Malhotra effectively channels Mr Roshan's natural intensity into a human sword of vengeance - a quiet character who 'says' a lot from the shadows, projects mountains of lurking threat and menace, even where he has no dialogue. Again the eyes, always the eyes in this film! Never before had any director so effectively used the sheer glow-in-the-dark luminosity of Mr Roshan's eyes. The iconic 1990 Vijay created by the great Amitabh Bachchan (one of his most memorable roles) was significantly older and more verbally aggressive, the character more seduced by the trappings of power and wealth, only refocussing on his essential task toward the very end. By contrast, Mr Roshan's Vijay leads a haunted, almost monk-like existence, never losing focus down the years toward destroying his enemy. Obsessed, relentless, deadly - and a perfect showcase for Mr Roshan to demonstrate, yet again, his great dramatic range as an actor.

Mr Roshan and Mr Dutt are so riveting in this film that any scenes they are not in, separately or together, honestly feel like a distraction.

Despite 12 intervening years these two great actors have lost none of the chemistry that powered 2000's excellent "Mission Kashmir". Mr Roshan is slightly the taller actor, Mr Dutt significantly the heavier, but the two are so perfectly matched and the build-up so well laid that by the climax of this "Agneepath" audience anticipation could not be higher ... or more well-rewarded.

An unforgettable, 'must-see' film!

Special credit is due the highest standards of craft professionalism that distinguish this 2012 "Agneepath", notably these departments: Cinematography (exceptional lighting and shot selection, especially with the principal actors); Sound and Sound Editing (variety and scope, silent private moments to mass public festivals, all perfectly managed); and Stunts/Fight Choreography (so many action scenes, but each distinct and cumulatively building to the truly epic climax).
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 22, 2013
Across the Indian coast, southwest of Mumbai, lies the island of Mandwa on which nestles an impoverished village. In this village dwells a school master, an upright man, who strives to impart his righteous principles upon his hot-tempered young son. But the village of Mandwa is populated by hooligans more so than saints, and so, for the school master, it's persistently an uphill struggle. Still, young Vijay Dinanath Chauhan, for all his flare-ups, adores his thoughtful father.

Mocked all his life for looking a ghastly freak, the psychopathic Kancha Cheena (Sanjay Dutt) has returned to Mandwa. He dreams of founding a criminal empire. And when the school master steps up to confound him, he doesn't think twice about stringing him up under the banyan tree. The villagers have turned on the school master. 12-year-old Vijay Chauhan soaks this all in, the killing noose, his father's corpse, his neighbors' betrayal. He flees Mandwa with his pregnant mother. In Mumbai, young Vijay falls in with the don of the local underworld (Rishi Kapoor). At twelve years of age he dreams of amassing power. He vows a bloody homecoming. Fifteen years later, 40 minutes into the film, AGNEEPATH properly begins.

This is one of those films that I'll watch just this one time. Don't get it twisted, AGNEEPATH justifies its spectacular box office status. It's well done, really well done. Expertly directed, terrifically acted, all that. But I saw ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO'S NEST and MILLION DOLLAR BABY and DIL SE and GUZAARISH and GRAVE OF THE FIREFLIES (never mind that it's an animated film), and never once felt like seeing them again. Frankly, I stress out over how intense and powerful these pictures are. Also I don't want to chance that a second viewing will dilute the impact of the initial experience. I'm not saying that AGNEEPATH, while excellent, is on the same artistic level as those other movies mentioned. But if you like Hrithik Roshan - whom I regard as India's finest actor and also not its homeliest - then you may be swept along in the wake of his ferocious emotional beats. And cower beneath Hrithik Roshan's baleful glare. He dials up the glower past ten on the mean stare gauge. As well, Arish Bhiwandiwala - who plays the younger Vijay Chauhan - packs an astonishing intensity in his scenes. Watch out for this kid in future films. And cower beneath his baleful gla- wait, I just did that.

I'm a bit put out that Hrithik doesn't showcase his amazing dancing. But I understand he messed up his back something awful while shooting this film. At least, Priyanka Chopra and Katrina Kaif (featured in the pounding item number "Chikni Chameli") get to strut their stuff.

Are you jonesing for a redemptive film? Well, that's up in the air. AGNEEPATH (meaning "path of fire") is a relentless, good-old-fashioned revenge tale. It's a flexible retelling of the 1990 film of the same title. I haven't seen the 1990 version but I can't imagine its being as relentless and aggressive and heartbreaking in its unfolding of narrative. Hrithik's character is tragic and morose and so single-minded in his obsession. Fifteen years later Vijay Chauhan has risen to the rank of first lieutenant to the Mumbai crime boss. Vijay has commmitted atrocities to further his one goal. To balance the scales, he's founded a charity in the name of his young sister. Everything he earns he gives away. As someone remarks: "It's like he doesn't earn money but earns people instead." You can't help but empathize with him. But you fear for what must befall him.

Unless you're Elmer Fudd or Sinead O'Connor, you tend to look more menacing when you shave your head. A hero - or even an anti-hero - is elevated by the quality of his adversary. Sanjay Dutt, he of the hooded eyes, went the bald route for the juicy role of the crazy heavy. He bulked up, too. If there's ever a face fully reflective of evil, then it must be Sanjay Dutt's. Or Sinead O'Connor's. Dutt is imposing and malevolent and looks deranged, except he's so over-the-top it's like he's channeling a James Bond villain. Conversely, Rishi Kapoor's flesh-peddling crime lord is more low key, and therefore more effective. Priyanka Chopra brings much-needed liveliness as Vijay's childhood friend Kaali. Kaali has got Vijay's back, no matter what. She loves him unconditionally and with no expectation. If anyone can steer Vijay away from that bleak path, you'd think it'd be her. Don't hold your breath.

AGNEEPATH flirts with a three hour running time, but it keeps you engaged. You want to see a hard-hitting gangster film? GANGSTER SQUAD didn't quite do it for you? Here's a suggestion.

What I have is the 2-DVD set. Disc 1 has the feature presentation (with option for English or Arabic sub-titles) and the option to jump to the musical numbers. Disc 2 has the following bonus stuff (cast & crew interviews conducted mostly in English; sorry, no English sub-titles):

- Making Of AGNEEPATH (00:25:06 minutes)
- Deleted Scenes (totaling 00:17:23 minutes)
- Deleted Song - the steamy "O Saiyyan" (00:04:53 minutes)
- Making of the Songs: "Chikni Chameli" and "O Saiyyan" (totaling 00:08:26 minutes)
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 25, 2012
People applauded the acting but said the film was too long and overall was a failure. What does that even mean? Noone wanted to go watch it because of the reviews. I really wondered what Karan Johar would do with this film tossed in the air so I convinced one of my best friends to go with me when I was visiting Dubai. We both did not speak a word for about ten minutes after the film ended. So how was Agneepath? I think the sooner we make a golden throne for Hrithik Roshan in Mumbai the better for all of us. I loved Johar's vision, I mean who on earth makes a film about revenge in 2012 and gets away with such a thoroughly entertaining film? My friend and I both thought it was just stunning, man.

I think Sanjay Dutt should do more villainous roles. This is easily among his top performances and his character build up was amazing. The film is bloody noisy but none of that ever takes you away from the script, it only brings you closer into the world, the film is trying to portray. Hell, it was a very poetic film.

Some outstanding acting performances, some great scenes, I didn't feel the film was long at all despite not having any intermissions. The climax is stunning, death defiant and the first twenty minutes should make you switch your phone off (whether at home or at the movies)

Welcome back, Karan Johar.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
First things first, DO NOT WATCH WITH YOUNG CHILDREN! In fact, be safe and treat it as a real PG-13! While 95% of Hindi films are great for everyone from Granny to Rover, this isn't one of them. This movie is about brutality. To tell the truth I wasn't sure my gore tolerance was high enough. We have mob mentality, drugs, child sellers, pimps, revenge and murder. Make no mistake the blood flows with the rain, and if you're not terrified in the first ten minutes, then I can only assume you don't get scared of anything on film.

Still, the film demands your attention, and even when you want to look away you won't... Even when your skin is crawling and your stomach turns you'll watch. Why? Because you want Vijay to slay the monsters, never-mind that he himself is his own breed of monster.

I won't go into the plot, other reviews here have done it better than I could. (Check out H. Bala's as my personal favorite.)

So, what makes this movie riveting? Everything! The script is tight and the pace moves like the beat of the Dhols that holds the soundtrack together. I'm a sucker for Dhols, (drums). Director Karan Malhotra has been trained by masters in his art, working under directors such as Farhan Akhtar on Lakshya- A Film By Farahan Akhtar ( 2 DVD Set with Special Booklet), Ashotush Gowariker on Jodhaa Akbar (Three-Disc Collector's Edition)(again my personal favorite) and Karan Johar on My Name Is Khan [HD] who also produced this film. Yeah I consider Johar a master because he brought polish to Bollywood, and that's important. But more on that in a minute...

You can see these influences from the word go. From Mr. Akhtar you see the influence of keeping the narrative streamlined. You aren't going to see a dozen subplots that clutter the action and all the characters have a specific function.

From Mr. Gowariker comes the importance of authenticity of the setting and the making sure the film accurately looks like what it is. This film is set in the slums of Mumbai, and the story is steeped in the filth of corruption, vice, and violence. Hence, the sets look like the Mumbai slums. The characters are dressed simply, without much refinement. Even the leading lady Kaali who runs a beauty parlor, is not draped in exquisite dress and elaborate accessories. During times of celebration, they do fancy it up a bit. But it never ever approaches the level of elegance and sophistication that Bollywood portrays the "Middle or Upper classes" as. This is definitely accessible to the masses, and it works! If this film had been scrubbed, polished and buffed to perfection, it would have disconnected the audience from the story completely. Mr. Gowarkier's influence also comes through in the way Mr. Malhotra chooses his music and musical numbers. A lot of dance numbers and/or songs just get in the way. While I'd never say Mr. Gowariker started the trend of keeping the songs relevant to the story, he DEFINITELY stayed at the head of the fray!

Mr. Malhotra takes it a step further actually CUTTING the major love song that heralds the final consummation of Vijay and Kaali's relationship. Now why did he do this? He doesn't say. It might have not been approved by the sensors for a UA certificate, and they decided they didn't want an A rating eating into the profits. It could be that it just doesn't need to be in the film to show just how in love these two are! SHOCKING! I know, but still for all it's beauty it's still superfluous. Kudos for taking a brave decision! Besides, we get the song, and the scene in all its sensual (but not smutty) glory on the bonus features, so it's not like we lost anything at all.

Finally, Karan Johar's influence comes through with polish and entertainment value! Say what you want about this fiercely witty, sharply intelligent and flamboyant film maker, he KNOWS what works for an audience 99% of the time! Are most of his films cotton candy glamor extravaganzas? MOST ARE. Does he love beautiful people and beautiful flashy things? ABSOLUTELY! But don't be fooled by the glamor and the gossip, this guy brought something incredibly important to Hindi film making. He knows that if someone is willing to drop hard earned cash and sit for three hours in a theater they better get their money's worth! This film is a remake of his own father's cult classic which starred Amitabh Bachchan, and in 1990 was a dud at the box office, only becoming popular later after it left theaters. According to Mr. Johar his father was left bitterly disappointed by the flop, and he wasn't about to let it happen twice!

I honestly didn't expect to be entertained by this film. I knew going in about the brutality and the fact that you're not going to get a fairytale ending. As I said before, my gore levels are lower than most people's. I bought it because I want to see all of Hritik Roshan's movies. That said, I was pleasantly surprised that I found myself VERY entertained. Not by the gore and violence, (I flinched A LOT) there are moments of joy, and fun that lighten the load of this tragic story. Moments like the Item Song Chikini Chameli, break up the bleakness. I just saw an interview with Mr. Johar, and he actually said he regretted convincing Mr. Malhotra to push the song into prominence because he felt he'd buckled to the fads. But I disagree, for a film this intense you need contrast. The irreverent highlights the tension and the tension highlights the irreverence so that the viewer gets a rest before the other hammer of violence drops. I for one, am grateful that there are layers and texture to keep invested.

Ultimately though Mr. Malhotra is a talented director in his own right. His vision is totally unique, and his commitment and passion is clear. Every frame, is handled with the utmost care and you can tell he chose every person involved in order to make the best film possible. Most importantly, he trusts and respects his actors! After all, they're his tools...

Vijay is the story so by necessity Hrithik Roshan's performance is the single most important element in the movie. I once said in my review of Guzaarish (English Subtitles) that until I saw this film, I considered Ethan, Mr. Roshan's finest role. I wasn't wrong, but at this point I have to call a six-way tie... This film, "Guzaarish," "Jodhaa Akbar," "Lakshya," Koi...Mil Gaya and Dhoom 2: Bollywood Movie are so diverse and demonstrate the depth of this man's acting abilities that while each individual film can be rated on a scale of greatness, his acting cannot. He melts his character's Machiavellian attitude and exudes nothing but supreme confidence as Vijay does what's necessary to accomplish his goal. All while retaining a core of humanity that lets the audience love if not root for him.

There's one sequence in the film that will haunt me to the end of my days. When Vijay returns to his village, he sees a man hanging, and Kancha stretches out his hand to him. No dialogue just his expression ROARS! But then Kancha embraces him with a gentle caress as if he's a beloved child, brother, or friend. Mr. Roshan's face twists as his eyes fill with the most intense disgust, rage, grief, sorrow, pain, but also the raw determination that he will endure ANYTHING to attain his goal. I'm not joking my heart stopped for a moment. It is a CRIME that he didn't sweep every award his country had to offer. Again I have to credit Mr. Malhotra with knowing and using his actor's strengths to their best advantage!

Everything that makes Hrithik Roshan a great actor is on full display. And yes, Malhotra also uses his leading man's looks too, but not as you may think. Of course, he's gorgeous. In his first scene he performs Dahi Handi (a ritual for Hindus celebrating Krishna's birthday) and let me tell you, a man SHOULD NOT look so incredibly beautiful covered in red coloring, sweat (or body oil), and coconut milk. BUT he does, so we mere mortals are just left to gasp in awe. Still, even with all that Mr. Roshan's physicality is dwarfed by the massive frames of his two rivals. As muscular as he is, he spends his time getting tossed around like a rag-doll. Doing this film also started Mr. Roshan's streak of severely injuring himself in his films. Unfortunately, his injuries prevented him from using one of his most famous skills. I refer to his dancing. But all is not lost if you search "Hrithik Roshan 58th filmfare performance on Youtube you will see him level the arena dancing to "Deva Shree Gansha" I strongly urge you to do it!

Arish Bhiwandiwala Plays young Vijay and I love this kid, he does not mess around! You see that he works hard making his mannerisms and expressions incredibly close to Mr. Roshan's, while still infusing himself into the character. Recently he got a job on a tv show to play Akbar and said he prepared by locking himself in his room and watching Mughal-E-Azam (2 Disc Set) and "Jodhaa Akbar" give it ten years, this kid will blow Bollywood apart if he decides to make it his career as an adult. I can't wait!

I always call Priyanka Chopra my biggest disappointment. In her early films, I adore her naturalness and genuine charm. Then she hit it huge and it sort of melted away. That's why I was OVERJOYED to see that somehow Mr. Malhotra got her groove back! Her performance as Kaali, although extremely small had everything I used to love about her. She was warm, charming, vivacious, and simple. I didn't feel like she was trying to be the center of attention in every scene, something that drove me nuts in Krrish and other films. I don't know if it was because the role was so small, Mr. Malhotra is a great director, or Priyanka decided to just concentrate on acting and not being a star. It really doesn't matter, this time I believed in the love story.

Zarina Wahhab has a small but gut-wrenching role as Vijay's mother. Without giving too much away, the way she manages not to overact as she watches her son kill is extremely praiseworthy. No operatic saintly Hindustani Maa role here, that cliché has no place in this world.

Equally effective is young Kanika Tiwari, who plays Vijay's baby sister Shiksha. This is her Hindi film debut after working down South. Again, it's not a huge role, but she essays the purity and innocence that Vijay will do ANYTHING to preserve and protect.

If there was one complaint I had about the characters in this film it's that not enough time is spent on the relationship between Vijay, and Gaitonde, the chief of police played by Om Puri. First of all, Mr. Puri is at the top of my list of favorite character actors. He needed more screen time period, but also it was a brilliantly written relationship! Mr. Roshan and Mr. Puri played off of each other to perfection!

Villans...

Sanjay Dutt's, Kancha is like a vicious sadistic beast. His performance is so animalistic, so completely rooted in the most base urges that it was hard for me to even think of him as human. As he says "he's attached to nothing, he fears nothing, loves nothing, and therefore lives in bliss." His entire motivation is the pleasure he gets from the suffering of others. It's a role and a performance that left me so queasy I was relieved by the final confrontation. I mentioned his habit of caressing Vijay before and the fact is he does it to all his victims and it makes your skin crawl. Make no mistake I now know why Dutt is considered a great actor, I'm having a hard time believing this is the same man who starred in Mission Kashmir but I just hope I don't dream about Kancha.

Rishi Kapoor, as Lala is even worse than Kancha in many ways. While Kancha can be classified as insane, Lala cannot which makes him even more sickening. His business is drugs and selling little girls, as he says "from 11-16" there is NO more horrific crime than this. I almost didn't make it through his introductory scene. Still, his performance is graceful, even elegant in many ways. I've never seen him play a role so meticulously before. Every look, word, and gesture seems completely thought through yet effortlessly natural at the same time. Again Kudos to Mr. Malhotra for his seamless collaboration with his cast.

So is this movie perfect? No. It does get a bit bloated in the fight scenes even with my low tolerance for gore, I'd say they're about two minutes too long. Once again Bollywood throws human anatomy out the window, and you have to suspend disbelief that Vijay could have lived through the first two minutes of his final showdown with Kancha. Was it really necessary to bring a knife to the party? Also the makeup artist had trouble remembering where to spatter the fake blood. Still, I'll give it a pass because it's a directorial debut and one of the best I've ever seen.

Again I have to warn you that this is an incredibly difficult film to watch, and DO NOT LET CHILDREN NEAR IT! But if you're not squeamish and can take an emotional beating you really shouldn't miss it either.

The DVD is well packaged and the special features are all great with one exception NO SUBTITLES! My favorite parts were watching clips of Mr. Malhotra direct. His dedication is amazing, and you can tell he cares about his cast and crew. Don't skimp and buy the 2 disc set!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2012
This is one of the most exciting films I have seen whether it was Bollywood or Hollywood. Saw it three times at the movies and I got a hold of the DVD as soon as it was released. Mr. Roshan is a remarkable actor, versatile, sensitive. The entire cast is extraordinary. The music unforgettable. What else can I say to describe what, after almost three hours watching, I could not get enough of?
Highly recommended to all Bollywood (and Hollywood) fans. Cannot give anything but 5 stars.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse