Buy Used
$3.97
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for *FREE* super saver shipping. Amazon customer service with delivery tracking. A book that has been read but is in good condition. Very minimal damage to the cover including scuff marks, or very small tears. Binding has minimal wear, and some pages show signs of use. Occasionally these may be former library books. CD may NOT be included!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

I Ain't Comin Back Hardcover – September, 1990


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$3.27 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$12.00
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
12 Days of Kindle Book Deals
Load your library with Amazon's editors' picks, $2.99 or less each today only. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 166 pages
  • Publisher: Tyndale House Pub; 1ST edition (September 1990)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0842316094
  • ISBN-13: 978-0842316095
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.1 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #195,802 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Edwin J. Mcallister on June 22, 2000
Format: Hardcover
Weary's book is the inspiring story of one man's struggle to escape from racism and poverty in rural Mississippi--only to respond to God's call to return. In the tradition of Anne Moody's Coming of Age in Mississippi, Weary's books gives an inside look at rural black life in Mississippi before the Civil Rights Movement. But unlike Moody, Weary chose to return to Mississippi and to work for positive change. I Ain't Comin' Back challenges us to consider the power of one life lived in surrender to God's calling. Read it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on January 17, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Reading this book gives one perspective. It takes the reader back to deep South Mississippi - the Mississippi of the 1950's and 1960's. I could taste Weary's desire to leave and never return to Mississippi. It is powerful story of surrendering to God's will in a contemporary setting. Weary and Hendricks team up to paint a compelling picture of the despair and resignation of the marginalized black community of the 1950's and 60's. They paint this picture without going into undue graphic detail; however, they do convey the fear and dread that hung in the air over those who would rise up against the established order of the day. What I also appreciated about this book was the closing chapters' address of prejudices that travel in both directions. It touched on an honest appraisal of the culture of the south that still exists in many States. This book is a good and human depiction of what a life given over Christian principles can accomplish both in heaven and on earth. I liked how Weary and Hendricks made the point that it is not a matter of preaching the gospel or fight for social justice - why can't both be accomplished. It exposes the fallacy of the excluded middle which is present in all too many churches even today! Read the book and see how it can be done - both the Gospel and justice proclaimed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 10, 1999
Format: Hardcover
This book helped me realise how it was to be a black in the deep south in the 50's and 60's but it also gave a lot of hope and with faith in God things were changed
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By teacherlady on August 18, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I've read Dolphus Weary's devotions in Daily Guideposts for years, so I had some knowledge of his work in the Christian community in Mississippi. But what I hadn't appreciated was what his life was like growing up. I am the same age as Dolphus, but I grew up on a farm in the North. I kept comparing my life to his as I read the book. I knew that life in the South for black families was not great, but I had no idea how degrading they really were treated by whites. This was a real eye opener for me of life in the South during the 50's and 60's. But it's also the story of a group of people who are changing all that with through a holistic approach at Mendenhall Ministries- spirituality, education, medical care, etc.- raising people up and building relationship with the white community through Mission Mississippi. The work of Mendenhall Ministries was chosen as one of the 1000 Points of Light during the Bush era. The book is well written and a very interesting read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book was a gift to my husband and he just couldn't put it down. Great voice and honest writing...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again