Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


231 of 246 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic tour de france
Air Force Gator literally changed my life. Before I heard about this book, I was a 30 year old vagrant living off canned beans and whatever catflesh I could scavenge from the streets of Hong Kong. My days consisted of quick handies for spare change to buy imported American malt liquor, and the occasional bout of public urination followed by subsequent canings...
Published on November 15, 2012 by Chris Kluwe

versus
11 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever read.
"Mr. Ryckert, what you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever read. At no point in your rambling, incoherent book were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having read your book. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul."

This was a terrible...
Published on January 17, 2013 by Don Barzini


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

231 of 246 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic tour de france, November 15, 2012
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
Air Force Gator literally changed my life. Before I heard about this book, I was a 30 year old vagrant living off canned beans and whatever catflesh I could scavenge from the streets of Hong Kong. My days consisted of quick handies for spare change to buy imported American malt liquor, and the occasional bout of public urination followed by subsequent canings.

Then Air Force Gator entered my life.

After staring at the majestic gators portrayed on the cover, I suddenly knew there was more to life than crying in a filthy alley while masturbating to bootleg Who Framed Roger Rabbit porn. The waving American flags in the background inspired me to rediscover my dignity, my self-respect, and my underwear.

I stowed away on a tramp steamer bound for Boston, and after a series of adventures too nauseatingly disgusting for print, I arrived back in the United States where I immediately found a job as a professional athlete making millions of dollars a year.

Thank you Air Force Gator. You saved my life. God bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air Force Gator, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
I just finished this book last night. Of the countless books that I've read about alcoholic alligators that fly airplanes, this is by far my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best dumb thing ever., November 15, 2012
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
Have you ever heard of Air Force Gator? No? Then you're a damn fool. Air Force Gator is the coolest Gator pilot this side of some dumb kids movie that probably has a Gator pilot. The premise is irresistibly alluring. The age old tale of the Gator who overcomes depression and has to deal with his ex-best friend's evil plot is just as good in this book as it always has been. Buy this if you love cool things and America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is silly, immature, and just plain dumb. I can't wait for a sequel., December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
When Game Informer journalist, Dan Ryckert announced he was releasing a book based on his incredibly stupid blog post (which I strongly recommend reading here: [...]), I was more excited than any mature adult should be. I've spent many, many hours with the young man via Game Informer's hilarious video series, Replay ([...]), and have developed a fondness for his sense of humor. His indomitable aptitude and courageous willingness to make a complete ass of himself is truly something to be admired. His debut novel is titled, Air Force Gator. Really, think about that for a second.

Air Force Gator is an enjoyable read, full of absurd set-piece moments and memorable one-liners. Ryckert displays great promise as an author, although, I must note that Air Force Gator lacks a bit of polish in terms of diction, but hey, what the hell. I bought a book about a damn alligator air force pilot.

Some chapters during the middle of the book serve to advance the story in a surprisingly conventional fashion. I felt almost as though Ryckert began to take his story a bit too seriously. Almost like reading a lost draft of The Rock 2.

It is in the introductory and concluding chapters of Air Force Gator where Ryckert shines, finding that perfect balance of self-aware outlandishness and caricature of the American spirit. I spent a lot of time laughing my ass off with Air Force Gator, much to the dismay of my girlfriend, whom I believe lost an ounce of respect for me when Air Force Gator arrived in the mail.

If you're looking for a few laughs with a ridiculous book, look no further than Air Force Gator. I had a blast reading it, and wouldn't think twice about purchasing a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary masterpiece? NO Fun light reading? Absolutely!, January 1, 2013
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
"Air Force Gator...what the hell?!?"

Those were my initial thoughts when I first heard of this, but it did peak my curiosity and as such warranted a purchase. A week and a finished book later and I don't regret my decision.

If like myself you've followed Dan's work with GI you have an idea of what to expect here. If not, let me break it down for you: if you have no interest in action movies, the military, crocidilians, or crude humor this isn't the book for you.

However, if any combination of these peak your interest I feel comfortable in recommending Air Force Gator to you. The hilarious tale of a gator and his revenge on the croc that betrayed him and turned him down the path of drugs and loose women is better than I could have imagined. If I have one concern about the book it's the length - it's a fairly light read, but you'll have a fun time while it lasts.

I for one will be looking forward to more adventures from the mind of Mr. Ryckert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
Read it on a two and a half hour long flight. Thanks to this book it was one of the best flights I've ever had. I laughed, I cried, I was upset when it ended. I bought copies for my entire family as Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single greatest achievement in the history of mankind., November 15, 2012
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
This is the single greatest literary masterpiece in the history of the world. It is destined to overtake the Bible as the most sold book of all time. Dan Ryckert's writing finesse makes Shakespeare look like a tabloid journalist. The moon landing pales in comparison to this monumental achievement of a book. Your life is meaningless until you read this. Dan Ryckert is truly the greatest human being that has ever lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reptilian revolution begins NOW!, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
A hilarious light read, Air Force Gator will make you proud to be an American. Dan Ryckert certainly has cornered his "dumb-agraphic" with this book, chronicling the life of an gator with a past. It only took me two hours to finish, and I smiled all the way through. Clearly a labor of love by the author, and thoroughly enjoyable, I look forward to more books springing forth from the zany imagination of Ryckert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title of review, November 15, 2012
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Paperback)
I haven't read this book, and probably won't. That doesn't matter. This book is so good you don't even have to read it. More nourishing than a pizza sandwich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Cats., November 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Force Gator (Kindle Edition)
Because Cats doesn't have any eusuchians - at least not that I remember. And there certainly aren't rival aircraft-flying eusuchians.

That's a long-standing shortcoming on Broadway, now that I think of it. *writes letter to Neil Patrick Harris*

But this book has those things. And more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Air Force Gator
Air Force Gator by Dan Ryckert (Paperback - November 13, 2012)
$9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.