Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Entertaining, And Very Action-Filled Anime Worth Getting
If you've seen or heard about anime series like Pokeman or Angelic Layer this series has a somewhat similar but still different story plot but also a very fun series to watch. The main part of the story is a new fast-action sport mania called Air Tracks(AT), the AT's are basically powered roller blades that can proper a person to amazing speeds allowing them to perform...
Published on December 5, 2008 by Rich(Anime&Games Will Always P...

versus
6 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Juvenile and Entirely Formulaic
The reviews so far on here are misleading. This series is entirely formulaic and hardly deserving of 4 or 5 stars. At absolute best it's only a 3 star series.

It's basically extreme sports, loosely based off of rollerblading and skate-boarding, with some magic thrown in. The main character is a bit of a loser, gross at times, and almost always juvenile. As...
Published on July 7, 2009 by Russell J. LEBAR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Entertaining, And Very Action-Filled Anime Worth Getting, December 5, 2008
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
If you've seen or heard about anime series like Pokeman or Angelic Layer this series has a somewhat similar but still different story plot but also a very fun series to watch. The main part of the story is a new fast-action sport mania called Air Tracks(AT), the AT's are basically powered roller blades that can proper a person to amazing speeds allowing them to perform incredible aerial acrobatics and tricks giving them the sensation of flying almost. This new sport gives rise to groups calling themselves StormRiders, These groups battle each other for either the glory of defeating another rival group or winning much needed parts and equipment from the other rival StormRiders they defeat. Thus a young man named Minami "Ikki" Itsuki after loosing to a leader of a storm rider group becomes enthralled with the abilities of the AT's and the feeling of flight that he's always craved as a young child. Minami lives with four girls who he finds out were nearly legendary famous former StormRiders themselves but seem reluctant to discuss their past AT time with him. After a few episodes Minami decides to form his own Stormrider Group consisting of his friends to become legends in the StormRiders groups as well. The series is dramatic but not to hard-core like Wolf's Rain so while there might be some serious scenes it keeps pretty light-hearted for most of the series. There is plenty of fan-service as well as a few topless scenes but no adult hentai scenes to really worry about. The series was an a incredible find for me and I'm very happy to have gotten this set, so while this is not your mecha or supernatural fighting anime this series is still worth a look at you might be surprised at how much you enjoy the series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actually a great anime..really, August 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
When i watched the first episode online i thought "ugh another sport anime", but after some time I saw a bit of style in it. It's very comical, and call out on the anime special effects where people get noodle arms and such. This is definitely a guy anime, not just because of the nudity but because the humor hits home. This anime has a techno type style to it. The soundtrack also helps this style with some actually good beats that fit the situation and rarely repeat the same crap again and again. Lots of fan service, some good hard headed antics, and hilarious moments make this a great anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great anime, May 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
If you like anime, you'll love this one. This was a great series, that had great potential. Wished that they would've kept it going. Pick this one up if you haven't already done so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but incomplete (not for kids!), January 23, 2009
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
This is a great anime series. It combines elements of a sports anime with elements more akin to mecha or fighting anime. It bears noting that this anime IS NOT FOR KIDS! There is foul language, nudity and some light boy on boy kissing as well.

The animation quality and voice acting are great. The soundtrack for this series is amazing as well. It follows the beginning of a teen aged boy's journey into the fictional sport of Air Trek, where inline skates have been paired with powerful and tiny motors. Living with a surrogate family composed of four sisters Rikka, Mikan, Ringo and Ume the main character Ikki is drawn into the somewhat shady world of Air Trek, a world that the sisters he lives with seem to know quite a bit about but are hesitant to let him into the world of Storm Riders (the term that Air Treck users refer to themselves as).

This series was canceled after a single season in Japan, so if you wish to know how the story ends you'll have to get a hold of the Manga. The manga remains in production and has yet to be completed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic but entertaining, June 2, 2010
This review is from: Air Gear: The Complete Series (DVD)
I'm usually not into anime like this. I prefer Ghost in the Shell or Cowboy Bebop. And even though there is a lot of juvenile humor all over this series, I still felt compelled to keep watching. Sure, it's formulaic; a young man discovers that he's secretly gifted at something he's never tried. And through constant trials, becomes everyone's hero.
Except with motorized roller blades. Apparently, there's a legend about a roller-blader that... Anyway, the plot has been used before.
What I liked about Air Gear was the characters. They each actually have some depth, and react to the situation with their own insecurities. That is, when they're not pooping in front of everyone.
Air Gear is a light, fun series that kept me entertained. I do wish someone would pick up the project and finish it though. The show ends about half way through the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, April 27, 2009
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
just got it today very happy and for all that dont know it is in Jap sub's or in English!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved the box set, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
I've been wanting to get this series for awhile now and was thinking about getting the Funimation S.A.V.E. Edition but when I saw the box set used-like new I couldn't resist getting it and with a great price. Thank you very much for letting me add this series to my Anime Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, March 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
My product came in the condition as described and the dvds look like they haven't even been used. Also came before the date amazon said it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just pure fun to watch! (and listen to), November 19, 2009
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
This is a bunch of fun wrapped in awesome. Yes, it's dirty and rude but whatever! Very R rated, so no kids. I'm not gonna repeat the other reviews so... However, I do recommend this one just for it music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air Gear, January 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Gear: Complete Box Set (DVD)
I watch this anime online, this anime is awesome. Lot of Bad language, Nudity and also little of boy on boy kissing. The anime is not for kids under 16
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Air Gear: The Complete Series
Air Gear: The Complete Series by Kyle Jones (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: $19.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.