Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air Hogs Sharpshooter
The Air Hogs Sharpshooter is very fun to fly. It would be good for a beginner because it has a high durability. It has crashed many times into walls and furniture, and it still flies perfect. The helicopter is a 2-channel, so it can't hover. You can only control up and down movement(throttle), and rotation. By design, the helicopter always tilts forward given it constant...
Published on December 15, 2011 by Amelie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Fragile, Too Frustrating for Long-Term Fun
Sadly, this toy helicopter spent more time on my son's Christmas wish list than it did in his hands. My son took great care and, within an hour, had learned the controls well enough to fly the helicopter from his bedroom down the hallway to the living room.

I feel fortunate that we picked this up for less than $15 instead of paying full retail price. I estimate...
Published on March 13, 2012 by Jared Castle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air Hogs Sharpshooter, December 15, 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
The Air Hogs Sharpshooter is very fun to fly. It would be good for a beginner because it has a high durability. It has crashed many times into walls and furniture, and it still flies perfect. The helicopter is a 2-channel, so it can't hover. You can only control up and down movement(throttle), and rotation. By design, the helicopter always tilts forward given it constant forward movement. A beginner could pick up the helicopter and fly it perfectly in only a few tries. The controller is infrared so bright lights will interfere with the signal and cause the helicopter to drop. The helicopter's channel can't be changed so if you buy more than one, make sure they have different frequencies lik frequency A,B, or C. The trim is adjusted using a small knob on the controller. You have to be careful during trimming because a perfect trim ensures a straight forward flight. Once you have mastered the up and down movement and the trimming, the helicopter will be simple to fly. I can already fly it through the hallways. There is no working propeller in the tail. The Sharp Shooter is coaxial so it doesn't need one. A coaxial helicopter has two main propellers spinning in opposite directions, and cancelling out each others torque. The missiles are launched using a red button at the top right of the controller. After you press the 'fire' button, the missile fires after a few seconds. The missiles only fire one at a time. When you insert the missiles into the helicopter, the added weight will increase the forward speed of the helicopter. The helicopter charges in 30-40 minutes and can fly for up to 10 minutes. After every flight the helicopter needs to cool down before recharging or you will damage the battery. This is normal in all electric helicopters. You should not drain the battery every flight because you will kill/use up the battery. You should leave 1/5 or 20% of battery power after flight. You should also drain the battery once in a while to use each battery cell. This battery situation is normal for all helicopters. Unfortunately the battery in the Sharp Shooter can't be replaced so when it needs to be changed, you will have to buy a new helicopter. That is why it is important to take care of the battery. All in all the sharp shooter is a great helicopter. I would recommend this, but if you don't want to buy this because of the battery problem and lack of replacement parts, then look to the 3-channel Syma S108G, another great helicopter, but with forwards and backwards control included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Fragile, Too Frustrating for Long-Term Fun, March 13, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
Sadly, this toy helicopter spent more time on my son's Christmas wish list than it did in his hands. My son took great care and, within an hour, had learned the controls well enough to fly the helicopter from his bedroom down the hallway to the living room.

I feel fortunate that we picked this up for less than $15 instead of paying full retail price. I estimate my son got about two weekends of enjoyment out of the Air Hogs Sharpshooter before a series of problems regulated the helicopter to the toy bin. Many things cause the helicopter to drop out of the air like a stone:

* Signal interference;
* Outdoor wind conditions;
* The trim is touchy and difficult to master.
* Controller charging is frustratingly brief.

Speaking of charging, I was stunned to discover that this helicopter takes 6 AA batteries. Even though we use rechargeable batteries, I would have preferred a lower-cost solution.

In summary, I can't recommend the Air Hogs R/C SharpShooter at full retail price. Even if available at less than $15, I'm not sure the savings outweigh the frustration and disappointment sure to follow.

Rating: One star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars for the price stick with the Syma or other better brands, December 25, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
they are much more durable, flyable and forgiving than these... here was a multi product review i did:
So for xmas a two 107Gs, a 109G and a 111G as well as two Air Hog Sharpshooters arrived at the house for the kids. The Sharpshooters are just not worth it especially for the money - i think they were even more than at least one of the Syma's - they are cheaper made, no forward/reverse - never can really find trim and one piece blades. one broke on the second flight.

Now, the Syma's - Im absolutely impressed. I had bought two mallstore copters last year which were junk. Impossible to fly, and no where the quality or durability.

I like all three of these, and here is my take:

107G's are the most nimble of the three - quick to the air, stablest in hover and seem to move the quickest when low to the ground.they have skids so pretty decent on the land - and if rolled over on side, a quick throttle boost can right them back up on the skids.

109G - love the look (military), seems a little beefier and for the kids its great --moves nicely controlled.

111G - most sensitive of the three, but makes it interesting. Seems to be the hardest for the kids to fly. tends to pull back when trying to just hover or lift off.nice looking though and frankly i like the difference the three bring to the table.

all around, very impressed with the Syma Brand and durability - did not expect the quality and product after the Air hogs experience and mall bought mini's. Pleasantly surprised and look forward to a couple more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A bad Christmas toy!, December 25, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
Controls do not work properly. After trying for over an hour, we got the helicopter's blades to spin only a few times. After which, it immediately dove to the right and then to the ground. My son was very disappointed since the other one I bought for his brother worked. Same company but a different model. The worst Christmas gift my son ever had. DO NOT BUY! I just printed my return label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its okay, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
I was given this by amazon for a mistake made in my order, its okay but, the left missle dont fire and that makes it unbalanced,I would complain about it to amazon but after the whole helicoptor blade order screw up, by the seller and hassle to get it fixed,I am switching brands to a coptor that I can get replacement parts for,You Break an AirHog,,they dont make parts to repair them,and for that, this is my last airhog,to bad was going to take the kid up step by step to the big ones,AirHogs loss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad helicopter, August 4, 2013
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
I basically have 2 issues with thw Air Hog:
1) it is very unstable and difficultt to trim. Unlike the syma helicopters the air hog keeps spinning and spinningand it is really difficult to trim and stop the spinning. Thus the flying experience is mediocre at best.
2) It does not allow for wall charging only charging through the remote control whch means more battery drain. Tjhe syma helicopter gives you the choice of remote control or through a Usb whch you can plug into the wall with an iphone charger.
The only neat thing about the air hog is the missiles, but this does not make up for it's shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good rc, May 14, 2012
A Kid's Review
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
We got this. It was fun. I learned to fly it. Cave man!

Yeah sorry about my caveman. Anyway I don't fly it anymore because my dad forgot the controller was on the back of the car and it fell off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars helicopter review, January 20, 2012
By 
Ted G. (Texas hill country) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
Very unstable outdoors because of it's light weight. Any breeze at all causes the helicopter to crash. Disappointing for kids and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Flop, January 19, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
Don't buy this toy! It lasted two days and then would fly no more, evidently that is common for this toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 20 minutes of durable fun, January 12, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue (Toy)
I bought 2 of these helicopters for christmas channel a and channel b and both still only have a battery life of 20 min.
This is a pretty durable product, i flew it into glass, wood, metal, at a fan, a cat got it, and it is still operational.
ONLY Problem is: It doesnt have a very long battery life. not a bad toy for the money, just wished it last longer.
Not too hard to fly, go easy on the throttle ;)
It shoots too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Air Hogs - Sharp Shooter - Blue
Used & New from: $34.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.