Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airport Terminal Pack - A Slice of History
The Airport Terminal Pack is the definitive collection of the Airport series of disaster films produced in the 1970s. The release comes in a beautifully made digi-pack case which looks absolutely fantastic. This is surrounded by an outer box, with the title of the set embossed - definitely a quality much higher than originally expected! Inside has a picture montage from...
Published on November 15, 2003 by Trent Nickson

versus
41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definite framing/mastering error on Aiport 1975
There is definitely a mastering error on Airport 1975; the picture is nowhere near as wide as it SHOULD be.
While it's a bit of an exaggeration to say tires and engines are oval, the image is definitely not mastered properly. I'd say the aspect ratio is either more like 2.2:1 when it should be 2.35:1, or Airport 1975 was actually 2.4:1 or so.
This error can...
Published on May 4, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airport Terminal Pack - A Slice of History, November 15, 2003
The Airport Terminal Pack is the definitive collection of the Airport series of disaster films produced in the 1970s. The release comes in a beautifully made digi-pack case which looks absolutely fantastic. This is surrounded by an outer box, with the title of the set embossed - definitely a quality much higher than originally expected! Inside has a picture montage from all the films, and a one sheet insert with a blurb about each film.
Now, about the movies...
Airport was a commercial box office success when it was released in 1970, taking over $100 million at the US box office. Based on a novel by Arthur Hailey, the story is set at an international airport with the main plot being about a passenger who sets off a bomb in an airliner. There are a a few intricately woven sub-plots in the film, which keep the viewer entertained throughout. Wonderfully acted by the cast, which includes Dean Martin, Jacqueline Bisset, and Burt Lancaster. Helen Hayes won the best supporting actress Academy Award for the film, and Maureen Stapleton won the Golden Globe for best supporting actress. The film is also lauded in aviation circles as being one of the most technically accurate "aviation films" in history. A very story oriented film, and fabulous to watch - definitely a must-see!
Airport 1975 is about an airliner that hits a private plane mid-air, incapacitating the pilots. Stewardess Karen Black has to fly the plane - and will they or won't they land safely? This also did well at the US box office, with over $40 million taken. Another all star cast including Charlton Heston, Linda Blair, Gloria Swanson (in her last film role) and Helen Reddy as the singing nun. A lot of the things that happen in this film were spoofed in Airplane, which makes this a must-see so that you get the jokes in that film! A light and fun film, with some unintentionally funny moments - and you won't believe how politically incorrect some of the comments are!
Airport '77 is about a private 747 that ditches in the ocean after criminals try to steal it for the art collection on board. A stellar cast including screen legends James Stewart and Olivia de Havilland, along with Christopher Lee, Lee Grant and Jack Lemmon. Again some technical accuracy as the method to raise the plane is actually used by the US Navy to retrieve submarines. Much more serious than the previous film, it's a delight to watch the cast chewing up the scenery throughout! The acting, set design and costume design (by Edith Head, the costume designer for the first three films) make this film a lot better than it would have been with a lesser cast.
Finally, The Concorde: Airport '79. Suspension of disbelief is required for this one! When I was young I thought it was a great film (kids will think it's quite nail-biting), and now I just find it side-splittingly funny! Great shots of the Concorde throughout (the plane used was the one that crashed in Paris in 2000 in an eerie coincidence), and quite a fun romp of a movie! Cast includes George Kennedy (who was in all the films), Alain Delon, Charo, Robert Wagner and Sylvia Kristel. This pack will mark the first time on DVD for this movie - which is long overdue.
All four movies vary in quality from superb (Airport and Airport '77), above average (Airport 1975), to good or mediocre depending how you look at it (The Concorde: Airport '79).
With the DVD transfers, the quality is excellent for Airport, as it was remastered and received a Dolby 5.1 surround treatment on its 30th anniversary. For the other three films, the picture quality is well above average - my only gripe being that Airport '79 could have done with some restoration as the source print seems a little dirty in places. The sound quality for the latter three films are in Dolby 2.0 mono which is a disappointment, but beggers can't be choosers I suppose!
The extra features in this set are all the theatrical trailers for the movies, which are overall above average in quality. The menu screens have a picture of the aircraft from the movie you're about to see, which I thought was a nice touch!
Definitely an era in movie making to be preserved, and it is fantastic to have these 4 in their own little collection! Congratulations also to Amazon, for having it on my doorstep on the release date of 10 February 2004 - awesome timing considering it had to come from the USA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definite framing/mastering error on Aiport 1975, May 4, 2004
By A Customer
There is definitely a mastering error on Airport 1975; the picture is nowhere near as wide as it SHOULD be.
While it's a bit of an exaggeration to say tires and engines are oval, the image is definitely not mastered properly. I'd say the aspect ratio is either more like 2.2:1 when it should be 2.35:1, or Airport 1975 was actually 2.4:1 or so.
This error can easily be seen by comparing the new anamorphic pressing with the earlier GoodTimes DVD or the Universal LaserDisc release. People look very tall and thin as compared to how they should look (and yes, my DVD player is set for 4:3 Letterbox, not 16:9.)
Note the other three films in this collection are mastered correctly; only Airport 1975 shows this error (of course, the film I bought the collection for an anamorphic copy of.)
I hope Universal corrects this error as they did with the Back to the Future trilogy, and really you probably won't notice it if you aren't aware of it, but once you are the error is very, very obvious and distracting and you'll wonder why the airport has so many short, stubby emergency vehicles. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The law of diminishing returns, August 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Let's cut to the cheese: Some of these movies are not good. The last one especially is a real turkey.

Still, I give this collection (Airport Terminal Pack, also confusingly titled "The Franchise Collection" on the boxed set) 3 stars because you get all four films for an MSRP of under twenty bucks (often on sale here for even less) and sometimes you just need a classic disaster flick. To be fair, you may not want to watch either of the last two sequels more than once.

The best by a long shot is the first effort. Airport was actually nominated for ten Oscars in 1970 (Helen Hayes was the only winner). Airport '75 (featuring the infamous mid-air pilot transfer) was the basis for many of the spoof jokes seen in Airplane!. The plot started getting ridiculous by Airport '77 (hijacked plane underwater in the Bermuda Triangle??), and a couple years later the script writers evidently decided to let it all hang loose with the (almost) so-bad-it's-good The Concorde...Airport '79.

The best part about this collection? Charting the career progress of George Kennedy's iconic Joe Patroni throughout the decade.

1970: Chief Mechanic ("They don't call them emergencies anymore. They call them Patronis")
1975: Vice President of Operations
1977: Aviation Consultant
1979: wait for it...Concorde pilot! ("They don't call it the cockpit for nothing, honey")

My middle-of-the-road rating also reflects the fact that all four movies are bundled on two double-sided discs, which are in my experience far more likely to scratch or even crack over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Airport, Airport 77, and Airport 79 were great transfers, May 2, 2004
By 
Yarby "yarby" (Medina, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Three of the movies in this set look great, and fortunately...the true classic, "Airport", is one of them. With the exception of the hammy George Kennedy, this movie really WAS a classic.
However, if someone has a copy of "Airport 75" from this "pack" that is in proper ratio, it can only mean that Universal fixed the problem. My guess is that it is more likely that some aren't as discriminating a viewer as those of us who noticed this problem. It certainly isn't that those with complaints with this DVD have the "aspect ratio on their tv or DVD player is set wrong". How could that be if every other DVD looks fine?
Universal is known for shoddy workmanship. Purchase this one at your own risk....as I'm betting they haven't corrected the "Airport 75" transfer problem since the set's initial release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Box Set But Lacking Some Things, March 24, 2006
Just before Christmas 2005 we gave ourselves the best present any home theater fan could want, a 32" flat panel LCD HDTV. This completed our home theater as the prior summer my other half got as a gift of 25 years of service, a 5 disc/DVD progressive scan home theater system with Dolby & DTS 5.1 surround capability. I tell you this because I wanted you to know the circumstances for the following reviews. Since we completed our home theater I have been going back and viewing DVDs in our collection and seeing how they look and sound on the new HDTV and home theater system. This happens to be the first one I pulled out of our collection and viewed.

This set, as you know, consists of the 4 films in the "Airport" franchise. I will try and review them indivually if I can. You may have seen my previous reviews of the Good Times releases for the first 3 films (which have since been deleted from this forum). Anyway, I decided to re-review these films as presented in this collection so here goes. Since I had the first three films in this series from Good Times Video I was glad to see that Universal had released all 4 films in a box set. I was surprised and disappointed with the release. Read below for each film's review in this set.

"Airport" (1970)
I was surprised to see that Universal had chose to only release this film offering Dolby and DTS 5.1 surround for the audio. Upon viewing this release I chose the DTS 5.1 surround audio and it was fantastic. It sounded as good or better as I remember it when I saw the film in the first theater that exhibited it in my home town in 1970. The theater was the only one in town that offered the 6 track sound presentation of the several that had that capability back then. The aspect ratio was as good as the Good Times widescreen version and the picture quality was excellent. I was very pleased with the presentation.

My disappointment was in the fact that there was no supplemental materials for the film. As in the Good Times versions there was no kind of tribute to the cast and crew that produced and performed in this film (or any of the others for that matter). Many of the actors and crew are no longer with us and it would have been nice to have some kind of feature with the surviving folks being interviewed about the film and its production.

This movie is based on the first novel I read in high school by the same title and written by Arthur Hailey. The book was both engaging and suspenseful and the film brings it to life on the screen (right down to verbatim dialog from the book). When I saw this film in the theater the first time I was blown away.

Veteran film makers Ross Hunter and George Seaton gather an excellent cast and crew to do justice to the book (material not used in this film was developed to create the script for Airport '75). It's no wonder the film, though panned by critics of its time, garnered 10 Academy Award Nominations, including Best Picture (Helen Hayes received the Best Supporting Actress award)!

Like the book there are any number of plots and sub-plots interwoven masterfully in this film. The film captures the gripping and tense situations of the book along with the domestic troubles of a number of its characters (i.e. Mel and Tanya's ongoing affair, Mel's troubled relationship with his wife Cindy, Vernon and flight attendent Gwen's affair and subsequent revelation of her pregnancy, Dom and Inez's financial troubles due to Dom's mental state leading to his suicide).

Then you have the plots revolving around the worst snow storm in the midwest in years and the airport having to close is primary runway due to pilot error. This results in a plane being stuck blocking the runway and Mel having to figure out how to clear it while fighting with the airport commissioner to close the airport. To add insult to injury Dom decides to explode a bomb on a flight to Rome so that his wife can collect the flight insurance and have a good life without him. The disabled plane needs to return to the airport and land on the runway, the airport's longest, where the other aircraft is stuck or people may die.

All of this and more is crammed into a film that runs a little over 2 hours. The film is better than any daytime or nighttime TV soap opera could ever be! And it is filled with so much excellent talent both in front of and behind the camera. This is a must film for those who are fans of its genre and I think the best of the 4 films in the series. Excellent Academy Award nominated score by the late Alfred Newman who's sons followed in his footsteps and are scoring films today.

Airport 1975 (1974)
For some reason Universal chose to mess with the aspect ratio of this film as it's not quite right as noted by others who reviewed it. Also, I was disappointed at the lack of a 5.1 surround audio track for this film. I know when I saw it in the theater there was a multitrack audio presentation. I am at a loss at it not being presented here in this version. Otherwise the film is presented as best as I guess they chose to present it. Again, no supplemental materials were offered for this film either.

In my mind this sequel should have been the only one done after the success of the original. The script utilizes the material not used from Arthur Haley's novel in the first film (i.e. the chapters about an overworked air traffic controller who deals with his experience with a mid-air collision) and does a different take from the book's chapters.

As is the first film this one is quite suspenseful but slightly dated. It features some hair raising moments when the head stewardess (we all know they are now called flight attendants) has to try to fly the damaged plane after a mid-air collision and the flight crew is either dead or disabled. Next, an attempt is made to place a pilot into the pilotless plane. The film features an all star cast, including Karen Black as the head stewardess and Charlton Heston as her boyfriend and exec of the airlines, and a plausable script with some great special effects (considering it was produced in the mid 1970s). The score was done by John Cacavas who did the scoring for the original Kojak TV series.

All in all, it's the best of all the "Airport" sequels!

Airport '77 (1977)
Again I was disappointed in Universal's lack of a 5.1 surround audio track and no supplemental materials for this film.

This film was gripping but not as good as the original or first sequel. This, the third of the "Airport" films, is weekest in storyline but great in casting. Jack Lemmon gave a very believable performance as chief pilot of the ill-fated 747, as did Christopher Lee as the staunch businessman with the alcholic, "neglected", socialite wife (Lee Grant). Other's in the cast were very supportive in their performances considering what they had to work with. The actual stars of this film were the navy rescuers who's performance was a real exersise of what they would have done if such an accident had occured in the ocean.

Although this film lacks real substance it's fun to watch on a rainy day, especially if you have seen the previous films. The story is about a wealthy, but ill and dying, collector of many things ranging from art to antique autos (James Stewart playing the role comes off looking somewhat ill too, and he could have been as this was his last theatrical film). His grand, custom Boeing 747 is hijacked by crooks who want to steal his art collection being flown to a newly restored old homeplace he is turning into a museum in Florida. Along for the ride are many old friends and his daughter and grandchild being flown in style.

One of the crooks screws up when attempting to land the 747 after gassing everyone unconscious. The plane crashes into the Bermuda Triangle and sinks. All of the passengers on the plane and the chief pilot are faced with how to rescue themselves before they run out of air to breathe while believing no one knows where they have crashed.

Watch for the small cameo role of Chris Lemmon (Jack's son) as a fighter pilot looking for the sunken 747.

Airport '79 - The Concord (1970)
What can I say, this one's the worst of the 4 films. As someone else said here the only redeeming factor in this film is the fact you get to see the Concord and George Kennedy reprising his role as Joe Patroni.

All in all this is a nice collection dispite its failings and if you are a fan of this genre and this series, it's worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, Universal: here goes another framing problem, February 21, 2004
Buyers beware: all transfers in this pack are fine (even the awful 'Airport 79' and its ridiculous special effects), except that there is a problem with 'Airport 75'. For some reason, the 2,35:1 anamorphic framing has not been properly handled, and as a result, the image retains a slight horizontal squeeze that can be really annoying: the 747's wings looks much too short, its wheels are not circular but oval, and all actors look unnaturally thin (especially Charlton Heston who looks like he could use some bodybuilding...)
After all the trouble we had with the 'Back to the Future" pack, this is another fine mess from Universal...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Botched DVD Release From Universal, July 12, 2004
By 
Todd Erwin "dvdrevue" (Newport Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What is up with Universal Home Video these days?
Airport 75 on this set is not properly framed, resulting in a stretched picture.
Let's see..........
E.T. was botched only because no one knew exactly what each edition actually contained.
Back To The Future had framing issues on films 2 and 3.
Monty Python's Meaning Of Life has all the progressive scan flags set in the wrong position. This is a major blunder, and should have been recalled, as it will affect those who later upgrade their DVD and TV hardware.
Schindler's List should have been a 2-disc set, with audio options as part of the menu on side 2.
I could go on and on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4-Movie DVD Set Yields Fine Quality! .... An Excellent Bargain!, February 18, 2004
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's nice being able to have the entire "Airport" movie "franchise" located in a compact 2-Disc DVD set, which is what Universal Studios Home Video has provided fans here with the "Airport Terminal Pack".

All four "Airport" disaster flicks from the 1970s are here, with all of them featuring crisp-looking Anamorphic Widescreen DVD transfers.

This budget-priced collection comes with two dual-sided discs (one movie per side) -- so there's no pictures or other artwork on these DVDs, unfortunately. But that's only a small complaint, considering what is offered up in this set.

Movies included in this DVD collection are -- "Airport" (1970); "Airport 1975" (produced in 1974); "Airport '77" (1977); and "The Concorde: Airport '79" (1979).

"Airport" (1970) stars Burt Lancaster as "Mel Bakersfeld", General Manager of the fictitious "Lincoln International Airport", located in snowy Chicago, Illinois. Obviously, "Lincoln International" is supposed to represent Chicago's O'Hare Airport, but the name was changed to an artificial one. Many scenes in "Airport" were filmed at an actual U.S. airport -- Minneapolis-St. Paul International in Minnesota.

This initial entry in the series is by far the best (IMO), being nominated, in fact, for a whopping ten 1970 Oscars, including "Best Picture". It was battling some pretty heavyweight competition that year for the top-picture Academy Award -- with the other nominees being: "Patton" (which took the statue), "Five Easy Pieces", "M*A*S*H", and "Love Story".

"Airport" did manage to garner one of the other major Oscar awards however -- with Helen Hayes winning for "Best Supporting Actress" (besting Karen Black, Lee Grant, Sally Kellerman, and fellow "Airport" co-star Maureen Stapleton). Ironically, both Black and Grant would themselves go on to co-star in future films in the "Airport" series.

Although clocking in at a fairly-lengthy 2 hours and 17 minutes (2:16:30 to be precise), "Airport" never drags, in my view (even though about half the "action" here takes place on the ground at Bakersfeld's busy and weather-plagued airport). But, I like the film all the more for this type of "ground-based" storyline -- coupled later in the film, of course, with the intertwined plotline of Van Heflin as a disturbed bomb-carrying Rome-bound passenger.

The combination of on-the-ground and in-the-air sequences form an overall well-balanced story. And, while the "special effects" are indeed dated (very much so in fact, with the 707 shown climbing out of Chicago so obviously being a toy, complete with alternating blinking lights), they still served their purpose well enough in this movie to convey what needed to be conveyed. And despite the imperfection of the special effects, I've always liked the rather "realistic" feel that exudes from this motion picture. The genuineness of filming at the real Minneapolis Airport (MSP) shows through in the many scenes depicting the terminals, gates, etc.

In addition to Lancaster, Hayes, Stapleton, and Heflin, the first "Airport" film also co-stars Jean Seberg, Dean Martin, Jacqueline Bisset, George Kennedy, Barry Nelson, Dana Wynter, Gary Collins, Lloyd Nolan, and Barbara Hale.

Several sub-plots comprise the rich overall story of "Airport". One of these sub-plots is the love affair that married man Dean Martin is having with sexy, half-his-age stewardess Jackie Bisset. Dean was 52 when he made this movie; while Jacqueline was a mere 25. Some (old) guys have all the luck. ~wink~

Also look fast in "Airport" for young, 12-year-old Lisa Gerritsen, as Burt Lancaster's daughter ("Libby"). Lisa, later that very year (1970), would be cast in the role of "Bess Lindstrom" in the popular CBS-TV sitcom "The Mary Tyler Moore Show".

And...if "Airport" watchers are really quick, they'll be able to spy Marion Ross (of "Happy Days" fame) as one of the passengers on board "TGA Flight 2".

Many humorous moments pepper the script of the original "Airport", particularly with respect to one certain passenger, who is forever complaining about something ("474 dollars and they give you stale nuts!" ~LOL~).

And there's also the oft-times very funny "Mrs. Ada Quonsett", played by Oscar-winner Helen Hayes ("The salad dressing had garlic in it. I think you should tell [your chef], my dear, that very often elderly people can't tolerate garlic .... gives them gas"). :)

The Boeing 707 aircraft shown in the first "Airport" film was borrowed (leased) from Flying Tigers Airlines, and re-painted to display the livery of "Trans Global Airlines", which also, like the airport's name, was a name manufactured by the filmmakers.

Only one 707 was actually used to make the movie, although the impression of THREE different planes is alluded to in the picture -- one being the aircraft we see land (as "Trans Global 45") at the very start of the film; another being the plane Dean Martin pilots on the Chicago-to-Rome flight ("Trans Global Flight 2"); and the third being the jet that we see take off early in the movie, which causes a Meadowood resident some grief due to the rattling dishes on the dining-room table as the jet roars overhead ("We give thanks to Thee in the name of ... [deafening jet noise] ... JESUS CHRIST!!"). Pretty slick "sleight-of-planes" I've always thought.

One thing that strikes me as very odd concerning the first "Airport" film is the "G" rating that it apparently received from the MPAA. In my view, the film should have garnered a "PG" for the several instances of mildly foul language, if for no other reason. Add to this the rather mature subject matter -- involving people being blown to bits by homemade bombs, open conversation regarding abortion, and the three separate cases of infidelity/adultery alluded to in the movie -- and I'd say that a "G" rating was a tad bit on the lenient side.

Some "Airport" (Plane) Trivia:

A Trans Global 707 pilot says the following line at one point in the movie....

"If he [Patroni] tears this ship apart, I hope you've got eight million to pay for it."

To put the above very-"dated" statement into today's (dollars) context --- The CHEAPEST jetliner you could purchase from Boeing today will run you approximately 45-million dollars; with a new Boeing 777-300ER setting you back up to 253-million bucks.

$8-million today would probably get you one landing-gear bogey, one cramped toilet cubicle, three "Fasten Beat Selt" signs, and a proverbial bag of peanuts. And that's about it. :)

----------------------

"Airport 1975" is the second of the four films, and the second-best too (IMO). Charlton Heston (in his second of at least three different roles as an airline pilot in his acting career) saves the day in this "Airport" entry, as he boards a stricken Boeing 747 jetliner in a most unorthodox fashion, via a mid-air transfer, which looks pretty authentic even by today's higher standards. This film isn't any "Casablanca", but it's still pretty fun to watch anyway. Plus, it's significant for being Gloria Swanson's final film.

The 747 Jumbo Jet we see in "Airport 1975" was leased from American Airlines for the making of the film (you can easily recognize American's red, white, and blue markings). And that plane is still flying today (at least as of October 2005), operating as a freighter for United Parcel Service (with registration number N675UP).

"Airport 1975" Trivia:

A funny gaffe/goof (sort of) .... Why do you suppose it is that all the passengers are forced to use the much more dangerous and risky escape route of the emergency evacuation slide at the end of the movie, but Mr. Heston and Karen Black seem oblivious to any potential danger of the Boeing 747 aircraft bursting into sudden flames, and simply stroll calmly and very slowly down a regular staircase, which was wheeled up to the front of the plane?

You would think that at least the very sick girl (Linda Blair) would have been allowed to exit the plane in a less-jarring, normal fashion (via the air stairs), instead of being shoved down the escape slide. Not to mention the ancient Gloria Swanson. ;)

----------------------

"Airport '77" gives us another star-laden cast, including Jack Lemmon, James Stewart, Lee Grant, Christopher Lee, Joseph Cotten, Olivia de Havilland, and a very young-looking 22-year-old Kathleen Quinlan. This time 'round, it's again a Boeing 747 that's in trouble, being hijacked by a band of art thieves into the Bermuda Triangle, with disastrous results. The footage of the watery crash of the doomed 747 looks stunningly realistic. Nice job by the special effects' team on this one.

And thank goodness we get the original, uncensored soundtrack for the '77 film on this DVD....as opposed to the re-dubbed audio that was necessary for commercial TV airings of the movie, which featured ludicrous and laughable dubbed-in dialogue to replace the original foul language. Such as Jack Lemmon screaming to a hijacker: "You miserable son-of-a-BULL; I'll take you apart!" .... LOL!

It would have been nice, though, if Universal could have placed on the DVD as a bonus item the additional video segments that were used on the TV version of the '77 movie, which are very rarely seen anymore.

----------------------

"The Concorde: Airport '79" is the weak link in the "Airport" chain. By far. But it's still good for an (unintentional) laugh or two -- and for George Kennedy's fourth appearance as fiery "Joe Patroni" (this time as a pilot, "Captain Patroni").

An additional (and sorrowful) reason you might want to tune in to the '79 "Airport" offering is the fact that the Concorde we see in the movie is the very same aircraft that crashed tragically in Paris on July 25, 2000. In fact, if you look very closely, you can make out the real-life aircraft registration number (F-BTSC), which was not painted out by the filmmakers.

----------------------

"Airport" features two different multi-channel 5.1 Surround soundtracks on this DVD (a Dolby Digital track, plus a DTS one). I cannot comment on what the DTS track sounds like (as I don't have a DTS set-up), but the Dolby 5.1 track sounds very good. It's rich with details, with the rousing Alfred Newman music score coming through with flying colors.

The last three movies in the series sport only Mono audio tracks (of the Dolby Digital 2.0 variety). But these all sound quite nice to my ears as well. Each movie also includes three subtitle/caption options (English, Spanish, French).

The 16x9-enhanced Widescreen versions we get in this collection all look mighty fine. I'm especially fond of the picture quality of the original "Airport" film, which is rich with vivid colors (especially in the several scenes which take place in the rather plush-looking "executive offices" on the second floor of "Lincoln International Airport"). Plus, the stewardess' uniforms look bright and colorful as well. (And what's contained inside the uniforms isn't half-bad either.) ;)

We also get each film's original video aspect ratio -- 2.35:1 Widescreen for each of the first three movies; and 1.85:1 Widescreen for "Airport '79".

One thing I did notice regarding aspect ratios (AR): On the first film, the ratio actually changes after the completion of the opening credits. While the titles are being displayed, the AR (on my screen) measures approximately 2.43:1. But when we come upon the first camera cut after the title sequence, the ratio changes to a slightly-less-wide 2.24:1 on my screen (but factoring in overscan, I suppose this would amount to approx. the advertised AR of 2.35:1). If you watch closely, you can definitely see the ratio change on "Airport" at the point I mentioned, with a small (but definitely noticeable) increase in the "height" of the on-screen image.

I also checked a copy of the older GoodTimes version of the film, and this subtle ratio change also takes place on that particular version. Whether the GoodTimes "Airport" print is exactly the same as this newer 2004 Universal release, I cannot really say. But they do look very nearly identical. I noted, too, that the "titles" of each of the chapters for the original "Airport" film are identical on both the GoodTimes release and this Universal DVD. 18 chapters each, with the exact same monikers to describe them. Whether this is a "hint" as to whether it's the same DVD print, I could not say. But, perhaps it is. Universal, I noticed, does not repeat the same GoodTimes descriptions for each chapter on "Airport 1975" (although the number of chapters is exactly the same -- 18). But, obviously, the "1975" Universal transfer has to be "new", considering it's 16x9 enhanced, and the GT version is not.

EXTRAS .... The only DVD bonus features are the Theatrical Trailers, which are included for each of the four films. It's fun seeing the original trailers for these movies, especially the tension-building trailer done for the first film (which runs for almost 3-and-a-half minutes). Interesting, too, is being able to spot some "alternate" takes in some scenes shown in the "Airport" trailer vs. what ended up in the actual film.

PACKAGING .... The "Terminal Pack" comes in a Digipak case, with an attractive (and pretty sturdy) outer slipcase cover, which includes raised lettering for the title (on both the front of the case and one of the spines). The discs are a bit difficult to remove from their individual trays, but they seem to "loosen up" after a few removals, being somewhat easier to extract from the packaging after taking them out multiple times.

A one-sheet paper insert comes with this DVD set, supplying a brief description of all four movies (but no chapter index however). The insert is nicely done, except for one error in the synopsis for "Airport '77", in which it says that Jimmy Stewart's character is among the passengers trapped aboard the ill-fated 747. Jimmy, in fact, was not a passenger on the plane.

The 1-page insert is housed in a nice-looking, photo-laden pocket on the left side of the three-panel Digipak case. I really like the look and feel of this DVD case. Very handsome.

Note about the cover art: Universal decided to make a slight change to the front cover of this boxed set. Originally, there was to be a picture of Jack Lemmon featured on the cover. But, in the final version that was released, Jack's picture is replaced by an image of Karen Black. (I wonder how Karen was able to win out over the bigger star name of Mr. Lemmon. Curious.)

----------------------

Would you like to see yet another "Airport" sequel? ........

I've talked with some people over the years who have said they'd love to see a new (fifth) installment in the "Airport" movie series. I, myself, wouldn't mind seeing that happen at all, although I seriously doubt that any new installment could top the original 1970 film. But, ya never can tell.

How does this sound for a potential sequel? ---> An "Airport" film that re-creates the near-disastrous horrifying ordeal of a real-life British Airways flight (Flight 009), in which all four engines of a Boeing 747 failed nearly simultaneously while in flight after flying through an unexpected cloud of volcanic ash on June 24, 1982.

The pilots were finally able to figure out what they were up against, and the engines were re-started. But the landing wasn't an easy one, due to the plane's windshield ("windscreen" in aviation parlance) being almost totally covered with ash and soot. All four engines were complete write-offs after the incredible harrowing flight, with massive amounts of ash having been sucked into the running powerplants.

That suspenseful episode in aviation history is written about in riveting detail by aviation author Macarthur Job in Volume #2 of his excellent series of books entitled "Air Disaster". That chapter plays out like an edge-of-your-seat motion picture.

If that British Airways 009 near-catastrophe was ever brought to the big screen, perhaps the pre-release Trailer for the movie would sound something like this:

"Coming Soon from Universal Studios .....

The exciting "Airport" saga continues into the 21st Century, with "AIRPORT 2009: MAYDAY -- ALL ENGINES OUT!" .....

An adventure in heart-stopping suspense and high-flying terror! .....

More thrilling than "Airport"!
More tension-filled than "Airport 1975"!
More realistic than "Airport '77"!
More EVERYTHING than the awful "Airport '79"!! (~LOL!~) .....

Based on the true story of British Airways Flight 009 (known as "Speedbird Nine"), Director James Cameron weaves a tale so frightening, so realistic, and so nail-bitingly suspenseful, it's like no other picture to come before it! .....

Starring: James Woods (as Captain Paul Richardson), George Clooney (as First Officer Jack B. Graves), and Jeff Bridges (as Malcolm Fitzgibbons, Chief of British Airways Maintenance). .....

Gird your loins and tighten your seat belts; and get ready for unparalleled excitement aboard a Jumbo Jet in desperate trouble at 37,000 feet!! .....

It's coming fast!
It's "Airport 2009: Mayday -- All Engines Out!"
Rated PG-13.
Crash-landing soon at a theater near you!!"

-----

Think I should call Universal and pitch them the idea? (Or should I wait until I can get Leo DiCaprio to agree to play the Captain?)

:-)

----------------------

In conclusion .... Universal Home Video has provided nice, clear anamorphic Widescreen versions of all four "Airport" films here, with pleasing soundtracks, plus the original trailers -- all in one low-priced, space-saving, two-disc DVD package. Hard to gripe about those stats. I recommend the "Airport Terminal Pack" without reservation.

(Review edited on February 12, 2006, to include additional information.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Airport '75 DVD, February 21, 2004
By 
Yarby "yarby" (Medina, OH United States) - See all my reviews
I logged onto Amazon to post my complaint about the "Airport 75" DVD, only to see that someone had beaten me to the punch about the same complaint. The transfer of this movie was most frustrating to me. Due to the presence of Karen Black, this is one of my favorites in the series.
To begin with, the transfer contains an abundance of grain, especially in darker shots. However, there are worse issues with this picture than that.
The entire picture has been squeezed, left to right. In some scenes, it is far more noticeable than others. However, it is evident right from the start of the movie. As the passengers are being "introduced" in the first part of the movie, they all appear tall and skinny. And the jet engines and tires aren't round, either!!!
At times this is tremendously distracting. Given the choice, I would have rather had information trimmed from either end of the screen, than to have to put up with this mess.
I'll probably keep the set, given that the other movies (including the outrageous "Concorde") look pretty decent. And I doubt "Airport 75" will ever get another transfer....unless enough people complain!!!!!!
However, Universal should be ASHAMED of treating a member of this "franchise" in this way!!!
I am so tired of the movie companies putting out lousy copies of movies on an unsuspecting public!
If you, as I and some other posters, have received this defective disk of "Airport 75", I suggest you call them at 818-777-1000. Perhaps if enough people complain, they will fix this "screw-up" as they had to fix the one on the "Back to the Future" set!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for Disaster Fans!, March 12, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While short on Bonus Features, this collection of the four AIRPORT films is a definite must-have for genre fans.
AIRPORT - the original and most suspenseful, with an amazing cast, is almost like a time capsule, it so perfectly cpatures the style and feeling of air travel circa 1969. Some exceptional performances and a true Hollywood blockbuster. GRAND HOTEL in the sky!
AIRPORT 75 - loved this one as a kid, and watching it now creates great nostalgia, though it's really pretty awful. The psychedelic colors, cartoon dialogue and camp performances make it ROCKY HORROR in the sky! (Gloria Swanson and Karen Black don't even look like real people!)
AIRPORT 77 - surprisingly good, considering it's essentially POSEIDON ADVENTURE with wings. Great cast takes it very seriously and turn in solid performances given implausible story. Special effects aren't bad considering the time. You might enjoy this one more than you expect!
AIRPORT 79-The stinker of the bunch, in fact it could be one of the worst movies ever made and I'm sure stars like Alain Delon and Robert Wagner look back and wonder why they were sharing screen time with Martha Raye and Charo. This is LOVE BOAT in the sky, but not as much fun. Bathroom humor, John Davidson's tongue and awful blue screen/toy plane effects make this sheer agony.
George Kennedy gets special recognition for making it through all 4 films with his dignity in tact. As JOE PATRONI, he's consistently committed and watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Airport Terminal Pack
Airport Terminal Pack by Jerry Jameson (DVD - 2013)
$19.98 $9.31
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.