Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Deathsmiles fans
It's hard for me NOT to rate this game a 5. Keep in mind, I'm comparing it to a long line of Cave shooters: Guwange, Ketsui, Mushihime, ESP Galuda, Deathsmiles, and the DoDonPachi series. If you like any of those games, chances are you'll like this one even more. Compared to the games already mentioned, it's relatively easy to stay alive. It offers a nice balance in...
Published on May 16, 2012 by bydo empire

versus
0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What ever
I hate shooter air plans that swarms the screen with enemy bullets and gives you at the same time the fire power to do minimum effort to breeze through it. Simply ridicules game play.
Published 13 months ago by Naser Alsulaihim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Deathsmiles fans, May 16, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
It's hard for me NOT to rate this game a 5. Keep in mind, I'm comparing it to a long line of Cave shooters: Guwange, Ketsui, Mushihime, ESP Galuda, Deathsmiles, and the DoDonPachi series. If you like any of those games, chances are you'll like this one even more. Compared to the games already mentioned, it's relatively easy to stay alive. It offers a nice balance in the difficulty department, so you won't find yourself getting killed every 3 seconds. As far as the graphics and music, well... there are online videos for that. However, if you like Deathsmiles, I will say that AK completely surpasses it on every level. It's that simple. Personally, I love the scoring systems, and find them to be clearly outlined and well-refined. Like Ikaruga, there is a definitive set of rules to follow if you want to achieve ultra-high scores.
---
And that's where the real challenge comes in. Akai Katana demands that you challenge yourself to learn the scoring system and achieve new high scores. What does this mean exactly? Well for the casual shooter fan, you may find that after completing stage 1, you have a score of 2 or 3 million. But once you learn how to power up and utilize your power, you can actually reach scores around 80 million. That 100-million mark for your 1st extra life is there for a reason. Anyone who understands and practices within the system will eventually get there. Casual shooter fans won't be able to reach that mark even by accident, since there is a sequence to using your powers and a time limit in which to do so. Playing casually and constantly bombing will simply not reward you in any way, and I doubt you'll ever play the game again after your first 15 minutes. However, those who dig deeper will find that this is surely one of Cave's top tier games. I've spent several months simply replaying levels 1 and 2, over and over, to reach new high scores. When that gets old, there is a second game mode, with a significant change in scoring mechanics and gameplay -- in which you can expect to reach scores of 600 million or more. For purists and collectors, the disc also includes a third mode, an arcade port in standard 4:3 format. Again, this mode is complete with different game mechanics and the arcade soundtrack. Cave designed this game with 16:9 HD home-gaming in mind, and it shows. Beautiful hand-drawn artwork like this (sprite-based) is extremely rare, but hopefully will never die. Overall, I would expect this title to become a massive hit in the shmup world. Now that Cave has shifted their focus to hand-held gaming, be sure to pick up this rare gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Cave Shooting Game, May 19, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'm the kind of person who loves seeing classic sprite-based shooters brought to retail, as I'm more of a collector, so these types of games are nice to have on the shelf, with a thick, colored manual, and a disc itself over a download sitting on your Xbox 360 hard drive.

Some may argue that the sprite graphics and game's length doesn't warrant a $40 price tag, but I disagree entirely. I think there's enough room in the video game industry for retail games with sprite graphics, as I find them to be both beautiful and nostalgic. In addition, while some will argue that shooters are short, I believe that there's enough content on the disc to warrant the price. These games are all about replaying multiple times to become better. We used to pay $40+ for Sega Genesis and Super Nintendo games, which are likely some of your best and favorite memories as a gamer, so what's the problem with it now?

IGN argues that $40 is too much when you can buy Skyrim on sale for the same price, but why must one compare the two? Can't both coexist, as they're both completely different? Why must I choose one or the other? Why does IGN think a game like Akai Katana should only be sold as a downloadable game?

It's a shame so many people feel this way.

Akai Katana is hands down one of the most satisfying horizontal shooters I've played in a long time. Great graphics, music, gameplay, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Arcade Port, June 1, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is a port of a 2010 Japanese arcade game. However, Akai Katana goes far beyond just providing a straight arcade port.

First, there is Origin Mode which is a straight port featuring the original 4:3 aspect ratio, but with remastered graphics for HD televisions.

Next, there is Slash Mode which features new gameplay mechanics, scoring techniques, an extra stage, and has been reconfigured and rebalanced to run in 16:9 widescreen.

Finally, there is Climax Mode which is a rebalanced and harder version of Origin Mode featuring the additions (extra stage, widescreen) from Slash Mode to challenge players who have mastered the other modes.

The gameplay mechanics are a bit complicated to grasp, but are a lot of fun once they click. In a nutshell, it involves flying your aircraft and shooting enemies to release collectable items, summoning a powerful ninja phantom, and cashing in items for massive scoring gains. The game systems are all explained in great detail within the full-color instruction manual. Akai Katana is one of the best looking 2D games out there. Even the game menus are attractive, ensuring that no aspect of this game was left unpolished.

Definitely buy this if you are a shoot-em-up fan, and give it some serious consideration even if you are not. This is a good entry point for newcomers to the genre, and a great way to add some diversity to your game collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, June 14, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have always enjoyed shumps in the past(life force, r-type, gradius) but it wasn't until recently where i just stumbled upon Mush 1.5 a japanese import for the 360 and once i saw it was region free i had to have it. I then purchased Espgaluda 2 and Don Don pachi and enjoyed them all.

Once i heard Akai Katana was being released in the US i pre-ordered it immediately and i have to say, it's one of the best shumps i have ever personally played. Everything from the graphics to the music is incredible and i love the side-scrolling style of it as well.

I say definitely pick this one up and support it so we can see more of these come over to the US
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality CAVE arcade game, upgraded for 360., November 30, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Akai Katana is a side scrolling shmup, with planes, tanks, ships, and massive amounts of bullets. There are a number of planes and pilots to choose from, offering a variety of shot types and subweapons, and three game modes with different game play and scoring mechanics.

There is a bit of a learning curve to grasp the game mechanics, however they are worth learning. The difference between a new player and an advanced player is astronomical: a new player may shoot stuff and use bombs when in trouble, while an advanced player manipulates enemies to quickly charge up their gauges and spends most of the challenging sections as an INVINCIBLE NINJA, all while collecting huge amounts of point items and looking stylish in the process.

There are many subtle strategies to learn. For example, collecting bomb items clears the screen of bullets (not just using them). Thus, you can hold off on collecting bomb items until a tough section for an easy screen wipe.

Akai Katana has three game modes. While they may look the same from the first 10 seconds, they offer different game mechanics and scoring systems (one of which is drastically different), so it's a good idea to give them all a try and see which one you like.

The scoring systems are all really fun, and make the game vastly more interesting than simply shooting and dodging. These involve creating large numbers of gold items, which you cash in for huge point spikes. It takes a while to learn, but looks awesome when correctly executed.

Boss fights are definitely the highlight of the game. At first you face a human enemy who is sort of floating there. They fire a few volleys and get you warmed up, and then things hit the fan as they summon giant battleships, planes, and cannons to fly all over the screen shooting massive waves of bullets. The in-game scale gets a little weird looking (I'm not sure why a summoned bomber is ten times the scale of a regular one) but whatever, it's seriously cool looking.

The HD sprites are fantastic, with a high level of detail and animation in them. Optionally, you can choose origin mode if you want to see how the game originally looked in arcades.

I also have the Japanese release of this game. Interestingly enough, the North American version has some additional on-disc patching that makes formatting the screen on 4:3 arcade monitors easier. This may not be important to those playing on HDTVs, but for those looking for an authentic arcade experience it's really handy. Thanks to whoever got that into the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good shmup game, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I like the shmup games and akai katana is so good graphic and i am enjoying play the game. A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Shooter Game,Not Much Story Obviously but Entertaining Still, March 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
A classic good old fashioned shooter game that brings a little feeling of nostalgia when I play it and remember bygone games from the Sega Genesis and nintendo 8-bit days. The game is definitely not meant to be played by those who have a risk of seizures as the multitude of flashing lights and other effects is beyond extreme,even though I don't have that risk I did have to stop about every thirty minutes or so to sort of clear my head and refocus my eyes a little. Still the game is good fun for those who can forgo current graphics and just be entertained by the overall fun of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shooter, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Love this Game !...The action , the sound, the music, the graphics, the gameplay - you like Side scroll ship shooters.....Just get this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is a really fun arcade game and really brings back memories good times at an arcade just playing a game like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akai Katana - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The game is fun but frustrating, I highly recommend it for sky shooter and top down arcade fans.
The sound, graphics and controls are on point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Akai Katana - Xbox 360
Akai Katana - Xbox 360 by Rising Star Games (Xbox 360)
$39.99 $11.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.