Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

  • Akira
  • Customer Reviews

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 30, 2015
This dubbed version is awful...try to find the original english dub, pass on this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2001
This is the greatest anime i have ever seen. It is a must have for any anime fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
Everything was perfect. Great product. Fast delivery. Would absolutely use again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2007
Pros: Loads of action, fluid animation, the bikes, the storyline, and the totally 1980s attitude.

Cons: The creepy little kids, Kai and Yamagata needs a bigger part, the two main characters (Kaneda and Tetsuo) always yelling at each other names(hence my title), and the movie seems too short.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
Enjoyed the detailed animation and spooky story! Can watch this many times over!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
My first anime on VHS. It is wonderful to be able to watch the original on disk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
Extremely influential. Must watch for anyone even slightly interested in anime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Very intriguing throw back that's keeps your interest with it's many twists!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2001
Amazing -- as stated before, the key turning point for anime in the states. As an ex-anime fan (I quit watching once I moved to Japan oddly enough) I can still pop this in and enjoy this mesmorizing, subliminal cult classic - even enough to warrant buying a Hong Kong hack version DVD, with AWFUL subtitles.
One should hesitate to call this an anime, for more than a few reasons. At a time I could have easily qualified as otaku, I welcomed obvious elements of this film that you would not find in other movies. Among them are:
-The *BEST* soundtrack in any animated feature, by Geinoh Yamashirogumi (who I'm seeing in Tokyo next month!!). Phenominal, percussion-heavy organic tracks, befitting each scene. A true masterpiece. Cheers to Otomo for not hiring some ..., Japanese pop band like EVERY other anime-producer does. If you like the music, hunt down their other stuff- Ecophony: Gaia is incredible.
-A story open for imagination and interpretation
-No cheese
Things you will NOT find in this feature that are in most animes
-... tunes that are basically regurgitated 80's music with todays technology
-scantilly clad babes with guns bigger than a tank
-Cheese
With the added "Akira Sound Clip" which shoes the making of the music, this DVD makes my DVD recommendation of the quarter, and at an incredible price!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
Finally, the original English Dub! Been waiting for this for over a decade!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.