Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!
I did not buy it from Amazon.com, but just wanted to contribute my two cents.
The watch is just simple gorgeous. Looks and feels well made. The model I purchased seems to have been refurbished because of some marks in the hands. So I guess the issue of the loose hands issue has been addressed in some cases. I don't mind the tiny marks as long as the watch is working...
Published on June 9, 2012 by Rob

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but poor quality
I purchased this watch for my husband for Christmas last year. It was stunning, and he was constantly getting compliments, The price seemed too good to be true, and after 10 months of gentle wear, I can assure you that it was. The winder no longer works, The silver tone turned brassy in just a few months. I had the company replace it once because the hands stopped...
Published on October 30, 2012 by Heather


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but poor quality, October 30, 2012
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
I purchased this watch for my husband for Christmas last year. It was stunning, and he was constantly getting compliments, The price seemed too good to be true, and after 10 months of gentle wear, I can assure you that it was. The winder no longer works, The silver tone turned brassy in just a few months. I had the company replace it once because the hands stopped moving altogether, even though the watch was (at that time) still winding. The replacement was not any better. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money on a skeleton watch that will really hold up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
I would just like to take a moment to inform potential buyers of an issue I had. Firstly, I would like to say that Timezone123 has good customer service and they WILL work with you if something goes amiss. That being said, when I ordered this watch I had done a fair amount of previous research on the watch itself; how it works what the movement looks like and other aesthetics. Originally, I was very satisfied with the delivery, presentation and overall look of the timepiece. However, upon closer inspection of individual components I found that the watch was either a fake or that, as the seller told me, the manufacturer (Akribos) had altered the design.

The most notable alterations were as follows: the pictures provided by Timezone123 included intricacies on the skeleton movement itself front and back, yellow components of the movement and a semi circular auto-rotor (which winds the watch using natural wrist motion). The watch I received had none of these features, in fact, the only parts of the watch that looked similar to the pictures were the band, the outside case and the face with the numbers. The explanation I received was that the pictures were what Akribos provided them.

In conclusion, the seller might want to take new pictures so that they are not advertising an item that looks nothing like the product they are selling. Again, good customer service, was easy to return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, June 9, 2012
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
I did not buy it from Amazon.com, but just wanted to contribute my two cents.
The watch is just simple gorgeous. Looks and feels well made. The model I purchased seems to have been refurbished because of some marks in the hands. So I guess the issue of the loose hands issue has been addressed in some cases. I don't mind the tiny marks as long as the watch is working. Mine is. The time in mine is accurate. For the price, if any issues were addressed, this is hands down one of my favorite watches. For the price I see it being sold, it is surely an incredible value if you get a working one. Parts and labor of putting a watch like this surely exceeds the selling price. I think that some flaws forced the manufacturer to liquidate them at a huge loss. I have sent old Swiss watches to fix to close friend, a Swiss watch Master at the Jewelry district in Los Angeles, that gives me the lowest prices and the cheapest fix was more expensive than the cost of this watch. I took the chance, got a good one and love it dearly. Reminds me of an ORIS and feels like one. BTW 1 ATM equals around 10 Meters water resistance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice watch for the price, March 8, 2012
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
I picked this watch up for as a gift for my Father-In-Law since I thought that the idea of not having to change the battery ever would appeal to him. I have a pretty extensive collection of watches myself half of which consist of high quality automatic skeleton watches. In the past I have shied away from Akribos since I felt that the quality and craftsmanship are not up to par with some of their competitors such as Stuhrling which make watches in similar price ranges but are still not up to spech with watch makers such as Xetum but make nice timepieces nonetheless. I purchased an Akribos for myself a couple years ago only to return it the following day as the crown separated from the case upon adjusting the time which is something done more frequently and that is much more common when owning an automatic watch in comparison to a quartz movement that will run until the batteries die. I was shocked but not all that surprised considering the price I paid for the watch at the time.
Seeing this particular watch, the contrast between the face and hands plus the automatic, skeleton design made it very appealing and it has the look of a much more expensive and sophisticated piece. I put the watch through a good standard test before purchasing checking the time for a minute against my Xetum, checking the crown and ensuring it was secure as well as looking at the space between the crystal and the bezel to make sure the seam was consistent in build. The crown when winding does not feel as well seated though in comparison to the majority of my other automatics so I am not sure how long it will last. Surprisingly the watch was built with precision and I am considering an Akribos for myself now as a watch to wear on a more daily basis when working around the house.
The only thing I must add is that I have always found Akribos leather straps to be a tad stiff and not all that comfortable to the touch. I have never worn one though so the strap may break-in well.
Overall not a bad timepiece and I give it three stars since the design is nice, the watch seems sturdy but I really do feel that the leather could be higher quality and the build could be more solid overall. Considering the price though in conjunction with the overall design aesthetics of this particular watch I would say that this is a good start for a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Water resistant depth is not 99 feet,but 33 feet, which is not waterproof., April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
Water resistant depth is not 99 feet,but 33 feet("1 ATM" marks on the steel back), which is not waterproof.
By the way, the list price is not same with the tag, which is $495.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great looking watch but that's it., December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
This watch is beautiful and that is where it stops unfortunately. Has trouble keeping time even when it is wound completely. If you keep the watch on all the time (even when you sleep) it is less likely to stop. Although it is water proof taking it off during shower or bath might be a gold idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Watch but..., July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
I bought this watch last year. It immediately caught my eye and I fell in love with it. Despite mixed reviews, I took my chances and bought the watch. When I got the package, the watch was poorly wrapped in a fake and thin leather bag. The watch would slow down every time the second hand reached 40 seconds, and after a while wouldn't work at all. I soon exchanged it, and the new model worked very well, and lost only about 15 seconds a day. I wore it fairly often. recently, I put the watch on my desk, and a piece from the band fell off, and I was going to bring it to the jeweler. However, soon later, the crown fell off as soon as I pulled it. I am now questioning whether I should invest more money into the watch. If you really want this product, don't set your expectations too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful watch, keeps lousy time, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
I bought this watch because it is beautiful and had a great price. Unfortunately, it does not keep good time. I had thought that it was self-winding, but this does not seem to be the case at all. Even when wound fully by hand it slows down or stops during the course of a normal days wear.

I haven't contacted the seller yet, so it may be resolved with a replacement. Admittedly, I did not read the reviews before I purchased the watch. I wish that I had, as I might not have ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Low expectations met., January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
I had a few reservations after reading other reviews but I liked the design... the watch is fine when being worn (besides a couple of times when I adjusted the time that the watch stopped working) for me the big issue is that the power reserve is 3-4hrs at most, I can handle the cheaper fit and finish to hit the price-point but I wear the watch all day while constantly moving and the watch dies each night around 3-4am - I own 3 other automatics (admittedly only 1 is of a similar price-point to this) and they all have 10hr+ power reserve which means I can go to bed and when I wake up I don't need to wind the watch forward every single day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very beautiful but lacks in quality, December 8, 2013
This review is from: Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt (Watch)
the watch itself is beautiful and one of the nicest i own. for its price it was a very good buy but i do have some reservations about the quality. the band itself had some peeling on the sides after only a month or two of light use but that did not bother e as much as the fact that it stopped working after a few months. when i called to send it back they were very helpful but you have to pay your own postage.

so overall it was a very nice watch but if you are looking for quality this isnt for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Akribos Xxiv Men's Saturnos Skeleton White Dial Automatic Black Leather Strap Watch Ak410wt
$72.96 $56.12
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.