Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - Great Guidance
Straight forward writing on the Al-Anon Steps and Traditions. Al-Anon focuses on emotional sobriety for people struggling with the effects of addiction on their lives - their own substance/emotional addiction or those of a friend or family member. Identifying what emotional sobriety (and thus emotional addiction) is and isn't can be a process akin to building tiny...
Published on July 6, 2010 by C. O. Moed

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 12 steps
This is a different version of the descriptions of each strep, written by a minister, or with more Bible references than the copy being used now, available at AA or Al Anon meetings.
So I realized, the 12 Steps can be the standard 12 Steps, but different issues of this book can have different peoples' explanations of them, which can also be helpful.
I got it...
Published 18 months ago by Patricia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - Great Guidance, July 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
Straight forward writing on the Al-Anon Steps and Traditions. Al-Anon focuses on emotional sobriety for people struggling with the effects of addiction on their lives - their own substance/emotional addiction or those of a friend or family member. Identifying what emotional sobriety (and thus emotional addiction) is and isn't can be a process akin to building tiny villages inside a small glass bottle - subtle details that emerge bigger pictures. This book is clear and concise and comforting to read while muddling through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for people with eating disorders too, June 15, 2012
By 
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
Men and women with eating disorders, as well as people suffering from alcoholism, often have co-dependent relationships that cause even more pain and destruction in their lives.

When a person with an eating disorder contacts me and continually describes the problematic person in their life, describes how much sacrifice and pain is required to maintain the relationship, I am likely to suggest Al-Anon meetings.

Understanding that both people in a relationship contribute to the nature of the relationship is vital for making healthy decisions in life. When a person's disorder blocks their awareness, distorts their thinking and dulls their feelings they can get caught in relationships that undermine souls while feeding disorders.

Al-Anon helps people to separate out their disordered thinking from realistic appraisal and begin to take healthy action in life and in relationships.

The "12 and 12" as it is called in meetings is part of the fundamental structure of a system that has helped many thousands of people to free themselves of sticky co-dependent relationships. It helps people create healthy relationships, both in starting new relationships on a healthier basis or transforming co-dependent relationships into something that is respectful and caring.

I highly recommend this book and Al-Anon.

Joanna Poppink, MFT
Los Angeles psychotherapist, speaker
author of Healing Your Hungry Heart: recovering from your eating disorder
eatingdisorderrecoverydotcom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve Steps Y& Twelve Traditions, August 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
This book is very good explanation of Al-Anon. It is a very important start to the program.
I would suggest it to anyone and I feel it is a book to keep on the book shelf when finished reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The help I needed, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
Those of you considering this book, get it! It describes each step, gives an example and points to consider. Al-anon is new to me and this book has really helped my study of recovery and AA, to see what this disease really means to my husband and to his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource., June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
I'm going through a 12-step program. There's lots of literature, but it helps to have books that say the same thing in a different way. Some of the concepts of a program like this are difficult to grasp, so various points of view are valuable to understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Steps, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
I bought this conference-approved book for Al-anon study, having my own copy of it helps me continue my studying between meetings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Anyone In Al-Anon, February 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
This CAL (Conference Approved Literature) explains in depth the 12 steps of Al-Anon in easy to understand and apply language. The 12 steps read simply, but they are much deeper in their meaning than the literal words define as. I found this book very helpful as I continue in my recovery.

A suggestion:consider buying the book from an AFG (Al-Anon Family Group) in your area, it helps support them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 12 steps, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
This is a different version of the descriptions of each strep, written by a minister, or with more Bible references than the copy being used now, available at AA or Al Anon meetings.
So I realized, the 12 Steps can be the standard 12 Steps, but different issues of this book can have different peoples' explanations of them, which can also be helpful.
I got it in order to follow along with the group, so I ended up getting a different copy that was exactly like theirs, and this one is just another view on things, which is helpful, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for newcomers starting Al-Anon!, December 3, 2012
By 
Jennie Watson (Madisonville, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
I highly recommend this book. I purchased it along with the Al-Anon Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions workbook. It explains the history behind Al-Anon and really helps me to work the program. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking to get involved with Al-Anon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions (Hardcover)
liked this product
it explains a lot to help you with the twelve steps
i would recommend this to everyone that would like to learn the twelve steps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions
Al-Anons Twelve Steps & Twelve Traditions by Al Anon (Hardcover - Dec. 2005)
Used & New from: $2.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.