Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Fool Some of the People Some of the Time...*
* ...and a lot of these people still remain clueless that the NECRONOMICON is a *fictitious* book created by American horror writer H.P. Lovecraft to use as a story-device. Other authors, many of whom were friends of Lovecraft, started using the NECRONOMICON in their stories (as well as other aspects such as his god-like aliens Cthulhu and Yog-Sothoth) of what has come...
Published on April 14, 2001 by Franklin Hummel

versus
74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars =(
.
Given the fact that I expected any publication called "Necronomicon" to be a fake, I thought this one would at least be an /interesting/ fake, in that it might be fun to translate.
I was wrong.
1. It's purportedly in "Duriac," a nonexistent language, supposedly descended from Akkadian. Duriac is actually just a relatively uncommon...
Published on October 17, 2001 by achron


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars =(, October 17, 2001
By 
achron "a_c_h_r_o_n" (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
.
Given the fact that I expected any publication called "Necronomicon" to be a fake, I thought this one would at least be an /interesting/ fake, in that it might be fun to translate.
I was wrong.
1. It's purportedly in "Duriac," a nonexistent language, supposedly descended from Akkadian. Duriac is actually just a relatively uncommon French surname, as well as a type of wheat.
The script appears to be a fairly heavily modified version of the Estrangelo script of Syriac, which is a genuine descendant of Akkadian. Unfortunately, "heavily modified" in this case means "unreadable" - even to transliterate - thus assuring its apparent mystery.
2. Worse:
the text contains 4 distinct pages at the beginning.
it has 15 unique pages at the end.
in between, 16 pages are repeated, without variation, over and over to produce a book which appears to be a few hundred pages, but is in reality a cheap facsimile of an utterly meaningless 35-page text.
=(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for completists, not terribly useful otherwise, January 29, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
I just want to point out to everyone that aside from the preface, there is nothing in english. The entirety of the Necronomicon text is in a psuedo-arabic script referred to as "duriac", and except for a few differing pages at the beginning and end, the rest is just "filler" that repeats every 8 pages (physical pages... or 16 "numbered" pages). It's an obvious hoax, and the authors have admitted as such from what I hear. Nevertheless, it can be a good purchase for Cthulhu-Mythos and Lovecraft completists, and it looks real enough that you can freak out your friends, or use it as a LARP prop or halloween item. I'm satisfied with my purchase, but it's important to know what you're getting before you spend your money. My understanding is that one of the major reasons this was created in the first place was to have a Necronomicon on record at the Library of Congress. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Fool Some of the People Some of the Time...*, April 14, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
* ...and a lot of these people still remain clueless that the NECRONOMICON is a *fictitious* book created by American horror writer H.P. Lovecraft to use as a story-device. Other authors, many of whom were friends of Lovecraft, started using the NECRONOMICON in their stories (as well as other aspects such as his god-like aliens Cthulhu and Yog-Sothoth) of what has come to be called the "Cthulhu Mythos". This book was original published in a limited hardcover edition for one main reason: to get the Library of Congress to catalogue it! Thus an official library record came into existence for the NECRONOMICON. That's why I gave this book a 5-star review.

It was part of a joke, people! If you look closely at the pages of this edition, you will find that the non-existent "Arabic" language it is written in is just random writing which was pasted together and that the same pages of "text" are repeated over and over again in the book. Oh, yes, there are books publsihed which claim to be the NECRONOMICON. There are always people ready to cash in by using a famous name and there are also some people, sadly, who do believe everything they read.

For those not convinced of the fictional nature of the NECRONOMICON, here is something you can do: go to a library, or use the Internet, and try to find ANY mention of the NECRONOMICON in books or newspapers or magazines or anything that was published BEFORE 1900. Keep looking and looking. You will never find it mentioned -- because the title NECRONOMICON did not exist until Lovecraft created it AFTER 1900.

How do I know all this? Read my biographical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The useful part is available elsewhere, December 28, 2001
By 
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
While this back-to-front read might be an interesting conversation starter to place on your coffee table, Achron's Oct. 7 review is correct -- the text comprises a preface by L. Sprague de Camp (which is also reprinted in the more useful http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1568820704/002-9569671-8448844 ) and 16 repeating pages of fake language.
Don't be fooled. The Necronomicon doesn't exist, and de Camp's preface is available in a book that contains more you can actually read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not that I expected to get the actual Necronomicon but, May 4, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
at least I thougth I'd get an interesting book that the author had put some work into. Am I the only one who have noticed that, except for the preface and a few pages at the beginning and the end of the book, there's only 8 DIFFERENT pages repeating throughout the book?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Phoney - Buy only to collect, June 21, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
While the English versions of the Necronomicon should be obvious cheap fiction to you this "original" version shouldn't even be considered more than a novelty. I thought it would be fun to flip through this because I enjoyed Lovecraft's Necronomicon references (I was wrong).

The writing is original alright... totally made up nonsense. It ISN'T Arabic or any related language, it's just artistic scribbles.

On top of that the pages just repeat themselves. The exact same pages are seen throughout the book. You could make this book yourself by creating your own symbols, writing them on a few pages to look like words, and then photocopying those pages over and over until you have enough to look like a book.

It's just something to look at... like a poster or something. It's nothing mysterious, nothing anyone can translate or even read. There is more fun to be had with a phonebook than this (at least every page is different in a phonebook).

To recap... You can't read this. No one can read this. No one ever could read this. There are not that many pages and the ones that are there just repeat themselves. There will never be and "original" because the Necronomicon isn't real. If you buy this book, buy it knowing that it's a prop, it's just there to look neat or to talk about (you could see if a friend notices that there are so few unique pages in it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Creative Decoration, January 20, 2004
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
This book makes for a good shelf decoration, at best. While it is intriguing that the bulk of the text is in Arabic, the Necronomicon is indeed a work of fiction. For those skeptical of the truth, merely go to [...]
As this site in particular says, "the Necronomicon is a book of evil lore which first appeared in the works of the writer H. P. Lovecraft (1890-1937). This book became so popular that people started to write more stories featuring it, creating hoaxes, and finally writing entire Necronomicons (at the present writing, almost a dozen have appeared). The most popular of these is the Simon Necronomicon, first published in 1977, which is mainly Sumerian mythology with a little Lovecraft and Aleister Crowley thrown in for good measure. Another, the Hay Necronomicon, came out in 1978 and claimed to be a deciphered work by the Elizabethan thinker Doctor John Dee. None of these date to the specified period, and some (such as the Hay work) have been admitted to be hoaxes."
Everyone is so quick to say that the Necronomicon does exist, and begs for others to disprove its existence. That has been done. If you want to scream from the rooftops that it does, you should have evidence to back you up. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR PROVING YOUR CLAIMS.
Although I would recommend this book, it would be amongst peers that understand that it is purely a work of creative fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, June 23, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
This book is all in an Arabic language with the only English text being the preface by L. Sprague De Camp .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry kiddies, it's fiction, fiction, fiction, all the way., June 10, 2004
By 
John D. Obrien (Old Bridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
I had to respond after reading some of these reviews regarding "The Necronomicon." Lovecraft himself is probably laughing in his grave right now. To this day I still can't BELIEVE how many people insist on believing in the authenticity of this book. It's a fascinating phenomenon, one worthy of study in a college course on willful self-deception. But anyway...the first time I came across "The Necronomicon" outside of Lovecraft was in the early 1980's, at a store called "The Magickal Childe" in Manhattan, where I was practically a regular, LOL (it finally closed a few years ago, damn shame too, it was a fantastic little place). I was about 16 at the time. Myself and 2 other friends chipped in for the (gorgeous) leatherbound hardcover edition by "Simon". We passed it around for a year or so, trying out some of the rituals, etc. (hey what can I say, we were young and stupid). I wish I had that book now, it would be worth some money...anyway it happened that one afternoon I was there buying some oils or something and we actually spoke to one of the employees who not only confirmed that the book was "made-up" but that the person who "ghost-wrote" it was still a regular at the shop. Before that book (and since), there were other books published called "Necronomicon", and they are ALL fictional creations, either deliberate hoaxes or publicity stunts. Which brings me to the reviewer who insists that the book is real...you've "studied" the Necronomicon for the past 12 years? Oh really? Where, might I ask? Is there a college or university teaching a course on it (outside of classes in English and fiction)? I think not. If you had, you would have found enough scholarly data to demonstrate that the book isn't real. Your "history lesson" is nothing of the kind. Where did you access the two books you cite, may I ask? Perhaps you can provide citations? Editions? Page numbers, quotes, etc??? Better check the publication date of THOSE books, too...fact is, there are NO references of ANY kind to a book titled "Necronomicon" prior to Lovecraft's time. Period. End of story. If you want to read a GOOD book, find a copy of "The Necronomicon Files" by Daniel Harms and John Wisdom. They have studied this subject, in depth, for REAL...you will be enlightened, I promise you. The same goes for the reviewer who discusses Dr. John Dee. My dear, do you really think just because a book says it's a translation by John Dee, that it's REAL? Dear lord, sweetie, but you are FAR too trusting. Do some research. REAL research. Open your minds; accept the fact that just because you believe - or WANT to believe - does not make it so. (Of course, this is also the problem with religion in general, but I digress.) Most people, however, will not want to enlighten themselves on issues like this: they CHOOSE to believe, and that's good enough for them..and all the facts, research and investigation in the world won't change their minds...so ultimately there's no point in trying to help them. They are secure in their ignorance. For everyone else...start with "The Necronomicon Files", and work from there. As for this book "The Necronomicon"...it's fun, but that's it. Stupid, silly fun. Unless you're a lonely, alienated, unhappy, impressionable teenager, that is. Then it's dangerous. Because even though none of these books are authentic...I can say from experience that occasionally the "magic" WILL work. Why? It's a question of belief. If you believe anything strongly enough, and if your psyche is supercharged enough with the thrill of doing something that you honestly believe is an ancient ritual to "Elder Gods", chances are you'll get a result. It may not be pretty, but you'll get SOMETHING. Such is the nature of faith, and the reason religions continue to flourish in the 21st century. If you're looking for "real" grimoires, may I recommend "The Book of Black Magic and of Pacts" by Arthur Edward Waite, or "The Book of the Sacred Magic of Abra-Melin the Mage". Even Aleister Crowley's "Magic in Theory and Practice" is worth a read. Read anything by Eliphas Levi. Check out the "keys" of Solomon. Anything from the library of The Golden Dawn. But don't waste your time with any "Necronomicons". Even if you can believe strongly enough to make the (messy) magic work, the book itself is fiction. I'm sorry if that's boring, or stuffy, or a downer...but it's the truth. Have fun!!!

EDIT: I see this review got only a 1 star vote - looks like I stepped on some Necronomicophiles' toes. A[...] Or maybe Peter Levenda's surfing the web, voting "Thumbs Down" on any negative reviews of the book. Sigh.

Thirty years later and the fun never stops with this thing...lol...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiction & Honesty, October 24, 2005
By 
This review is from: Al Azif: The Necronomicon (Paperback)
People like to slander the various editions of the Necronomicon as vicious hoaxes and money making schemes at the expense of a gullible populace. I admit, after first reading Lovecraft's short essay on the history of the Necronomicon, I was a believer. He had me, hook line & sinker... for about half an hour, until I did some rudimentary research. I think it should be obvious to people that the Necronomicon was the product of a very gifted author, and nothing more. In my mind, though, all subsequent editions are not equal. The English "translations" may be entertaining fictions, but they are somewhat dangerous in that they actually do convince people that they are reading thousand-year-old necromantic truths, truths many people in fact swear by. This edition, however, has no such pretensions. It is a well intentioned work of fiction, and, I think, a work of art. The calligraphy may be fake, but it is beautiful, and the preface is riveting. The fact that the book reads back-to-front simply adds to flavor. I too have examined one of the original limited edition hardback copies of this book, number 276, held here in the UCSB Davidson Library's Special Collections department, treated just like the real thing, which goes to show how well and completely done this charming work of fiction is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Al Azif: The Necronomicon
Al Azif: The Necronomicon by Abdul Alhazred (Paperback - January 1, 1973)
$25.00 $18.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.