Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 25, 2002
Cinderella II. Lady and the Tramp II. Lion King II. Pochahontas II. The Hunchback of Notre Dame II. Return of Jafar. The list of direct-to-video stinkers made by Disney seems to be endless. Fortunately, Aladdin and the King of Thieves is the exception.
Released early on before Disney decided to defile it animated classics, Aladdin and the King of Thieves features a solid, new storyline that does not simply rehash the original. Maybe this extra attempt at quality was made to get Robin Williams to reprise one of his coolest roles? After two movies and countless tv episodes, Aladdin and Jasmine are finally getting married. Then the forty thieves show up and trash the wedding, and Aladdin goes on a quest to find his father and a unique treasure with the golden touch. While not targeted to older kids like Disney's Atlantis was, this movie is slightly darker than the two that came before it, which is a good thing. A lot of this comes from the forty thieves, who sing about robbing, plundering, in an endearing kind of way. There is a sword duel conveyed in hellish reds, murky blues, and shadows, and lightning is used to symbolize Aladdin being wounded. And the villain's demise is quite original, not the usual "falling to their death" we've seen over and over. In fact, I daresay Atlantis even borrowed the demise for their film's climax. All in all, it's an entertaining, never-boring, thrill ride, and ties up the saga nicely, with a nod to the street merchant who began this whole thing.
The songs in Aladdin and the King of Thieves are not up the quality of the original, but they are much better than all the other Disney DTV's. The two songs the forty thieves sing are quite hilarious and memorable, the romance song didn't make me cringe at all, and the opening number gets the ball rolling really well. The only semi-clunker is the father and son song, but that wasn't bad either. The animation isn't cinema-quality, but it's also above-average and commendable. My only curiosity with this movie is some of the Genie's jokes. The animators went with whatever ad-libs Robin Williams came up with, and even after six years of watching this movie, I still can't understand most of them, especially the homages to past comedians. This is the only part children won't understand.
Aladdin and the King of Thieves is a high-quality Disney DTV, and as things stand, their ONLY high-quality release ever. Worth picking up on video, or even on the eventual DVD release.
33 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2007
I was really pleased (and relieved) that "Aladdin and the King of Thieves" was a well-made sequel, especially after the embarrassing debacle of the straight-to-video "The Return of Jafar". I rented "Jafar" when it was released, watched it for the first 15 mins., then turned off the VCR in disgust. Everything about it was cheap: cheap story, cheap animation, and cheap execution. It was barely up to Saturday morning cartoon fare, let alone Disney's high standards. Especially disappointing was the exclusion of the comic genius of Robin Williams; didn't Disney realize his voice IS the Genie? A glaring oversight on their part.
Thank goodness they made up for it with this concluding sequel to the Aladdin saga. While a notch below the original, AATKOT restored most of the magic missing from "Jafar".
The subplot of Aladdin getting to know his long-lost, charmingly roguish father was well-handled and poignant. But as with the original film, Williams stole the show as the mischievous and all-powerful Genie, a perfect character for Williams to morph from one impersonation and/or satirical situation into another.
I had it on VHS, but definitely want it on DVD to add to my Disney collection. A fitting conclusion to one of Disney's most treasured animated films.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2004
"The Return of Jafar" was a big step down from the grand Disney hit "Aladdin." Everything about it - the animation, the acting, and the music - was low-quality. But probably the biggest disappointment was that Robin Williams, the perfect Genie, was gone. It was little more than a long Saturday morning cartoon.
"Aladdin and the King of Thieves," on the other hand, is a surprisingly well-made and entertaining direct-to-video cartoon sequel. Not only did the creators return Robin Williams to do his excellent job as Genie, but they also cast none other than John Rhys-Davies (Indiana Jones, The Lord of the Rings) as Cassim, Aladdin's long-lost father. Their acting is the best part of the film.
While the animation is by no means as good as that of the original "Aladdin," it is fairly well-done, and much better than that of "Return of Jafar." The locales and characters are colorful and original. The songs of the movie are only so-so, but the music is better. The storyline with its plot-turns moves along fairly well and keeps the viewer's interest as Aladdin and company search for Cassim's coveted treasure, the Hand of Midas.
All in all, the Aladdin trilogy is redeemed from the failures of the middle chapter by this surprisingly well-made and entertaining film. Hopefully, the entire trilogy will one day be available on DVD.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2011
I got it to replace the VHS that I had when my son was little. That was over 20 years ago. The DVD was in excellent quallity and perfect condition. My grandchildren and I watched it together and loved it. I would suggest it to anyone that mentions it and I have already suggested it to my friends.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2006
One of the best disney movies i have ever seen.

It has great songs, and i'd love to find a cd with them on.

I especially like the song 'Thin Air', and also 'There's a Party in Agrabah'.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2005
Robin Williams is back as the Genie,cool,huh?,this movie starts out when Al and Jas are finally getting married,when the wedding gets demolished by the 40 thieves,and Aladdin's dad is really alive!,and this adventure is a father and son expedition for the golden hand of Midas,you'll surely enjoy it!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 27, 2015
Video quality is not as good as first movie but is very funny. Musical numbers were not as good either abd fid not really hold my daughter's attention but might still be good for older kids or those who are really big aladdin fans. Great for adults who Remember this from their childhoods. Was a fun trip down memory lane for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
They gave Robin Williams a million bucks and an apology to return as the genie's voice (dumping all of the footage and recordings made by Dan Castellaneta). The best thing about the final entry in this series is Robin Williams.

The plot involves Aladdin's delinquent dad, the king of thieves. Aladdin has obvious daddy issues, heretofore not mentioned. Aladdin forces a reconciliation with his old man before he finally marries Jasmine. There are some new tunes (entirely forgettable). They take a wet road trip, searching for treasure on the open seas. The best thing about this movie is not having to deal with Jafar, again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2016
Packaged well, received on time. The movie is excellent. My favorites are the two that Robin Williams
(R.I.P.) did the voices of the Genie. What a loss to the movie industry when Robin lost his life. I
salute him and the career he showed so much talent in.+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
In lieu of the passing of, in my opinion, one of the greatest Comedians of all time Robin Williams....someone made the perfect statement by saying, and I quote, "He's finally free from the bottle in Aladdin." However Robin, your legacy will cheer the hearts of many forever more. God be with you till we meet again😢
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.