Customer Reviews


993 Reviews
5 star:
 (705)
4 star:
 (95)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (111)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin Fans, You're in for a Treat
Get ready for this new two-disc DVD set which is going to teach you a whole bunch of stuff about "Aladdin" you never knew, as well as present you with an aweseome version of the original film.

The film itself is a masterpiece. It won two Academy Awards for its music and features a touching story and compelling cast of characters. The humor throughout the movie...
Published on October 23, 2004 by George Buttner

versus
86 of 97 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Pirated DVDs
At least one seller (SaberHits) associated with this product listing is selling pirated DVDs. The copy I ordered from SaberHits is clearly a pirated DVD. The graphics on the discs look fuzzy. The case has a left-right side configuration for the two discs, with no inserts. The shrink wrap was over top of the slip cover, not just the case itself. The title of the movie was...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon customer


‹ Previous | 1 2100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 97 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Pirated DVDs, April 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At least one seller (SaberHits) associated with this product listing is selling pirated DVDs. The copy I ordered from SaberHits is clearly a pirated DVD. The graphics on the discs look fuzzy. The case has a left-right side configuration for the two discs, with no inserts. The shrink wrap was over top of the slip cover, not just the case itself. The title of the movie was printed on the play side, and Disney never does this. Numerous words are spelled wrong, like authorizde, expont for export, etc. There was no white security strip. There was a strange smell when I opened the discs. According to my Internet research, all of these things indicate a clear fake. I will not use these bootlegged DVDs ever; I'm afraid of what they might do to my player and they are very clearly illegal. I have contacted SaberHits twice about this, with no response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


313 of 376 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally, but beware of alterations!, March 6, 2004
When Disney's Aladdin was released on videotape and laserdisc for the first time in October 1993, it debuted with a PC alteration, immediately into the film, as a line from the opening song was changed because of concerns over Arab stereotyping - "Where they cut off your ear if they don't like your face" became the neutral "Where it's flat and immense and the heat is intense".
As the film makes is debut on DVD later this year, prepare for more changes, albeit subtle. Just like they did with The Lion King, the Disney team is not using the original theatrical presentation of the film, but a re-issue created for IMAX theatres, which featured some redrawn sequences, supposedly necessary because the original footage in question was problematic on the giant IMAX screen (Examples of the changes to The Lion King can be easily found on the web). The difference this time around is that no one ever saw it. The IMAX presentations were financially unrewarding to Disney, and Aladdin was never shown.
The original release had wonderful color composition, especially in the opening scenes introducing Jafar and the Cave Of Wonders, and Pixar's digital images of The Cave's exterior would foreshadow their upcoming quality feature work that Disney would distribute. As far as casting, it sounds like Robin Williams and Gilbert Gottfried had a great time cutting loose in the studio.
With few exceptions, this film is a delight from start to finish. The low rating comes from the fact that the original theatrical version will not be used, but the redrawn IMAX version. It deserves to be part of your collection, but not like this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin Fans, You're in for a Treat, October 23, 2004
By 
George Buttner "Agent0042" (Dayton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Get ready for this new two-disc DVD set which is going to teach you a whole bunch of stuff about "Aladdin" you never knew, as well as present you with an aweseome version of the original film.

The film itself is a masterpiece. It won two Academy Awards for its music and features a touching story and compelling cast of characters. The humor throughout the movie is spot-on, from the antics of Aladdin and the Genie (Robin Williams), to the cleverness of Princess Jasmine, and most definitely the bitingly witty remarks from the main villain Jafar and his sidekick parrot Iago (Gilbert Gottfried.) The entire movie has been remastered digitally with enhanced sound and is presented in widescreen. It is also close-captioned, or you can choose subtitles if you like.

One of the most talked about special features of the DVD set is "Proud of Your Boy" --- a song deleted from the movie after it was decided to remove Aladdin's Mother from the story. With the DVD version, you get the awesome music video of this song by Clay Aiken. However, you also get a bunch more interesting material including the original storyboards from the scene, a behind-the-scenes view, commentary from the people involved with the music, and the original recording of the song by Alan Menken. (Which in my opinion is as at least as good as Clay's, if not better.)

You'll also get three other deleted songs from the movie, as well as a new music video of "A Whole New World" and another bonus music video of it from 1992.

There's much more to explore also. You'll get to see "A Diamond in the Rough: The Making of Aladdin," which takes you inside the special effects, the music, the cast and casting and much more. There are several games and fun features, some more interesting than others: Aladdin's Magic Carpet Adventure, Inside the Genie's Lamp, The Genie World Tour and 3 Wishes Game.

You'll also get movie stills, Pop-Up Fun Facts, and many other features. This is definitely one not to miss, if you're an Aladdin fan, or simply want to check out a great DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Classic Disney flick finally available in 2 editions, October 6, 2004
Aladdin" continued Disney's hot streak of family friendly but witty animated classics that broke box office records. Unfortunately, the magic was to last for a couple more movies. No small part of the success of "Aladddin" can be attributed to the songwriting team of Alan Menken and Howard Ashman. Menken and Ashman (who also wrote the winning songs for "Beauty and The Beast" and "Little Shop of Horrors"). Also, the witty self assured direction, like that of "Beauty and The Beast", helped define a hip, new Disney that had something for everyone.

So what's the difference between the "Special Editon" and the "Special Edition Gift Set". Plenty but as to whether it's worth the extra cost depends on how much of a fan you are of the film. The "Special Edition" comes only with the DVDs (the featurettes and documentaries are discussed below). The "Special Edition Gift Set" comes with all that plus six original illustrations on heavy stock of characters from the film. You also get a deluxe book that's housed in a slipcase. It's very nice, indeed. Now, if I were Disney I also would have included the soundtrack and also made this edition a numbered, limited edition. While it might grow in value until the next generation of disc players come out and this is re-released yet again for Blu-Ray discs, it would have been better for fans to do a limited numbered edition. Oh, and I forgot the film frame from the original movie.

"Aladdin" looks great on DVD with sharp, clear images and bright, vivid colors. I didn't detect any analog or digital blemishes worth noting. The Disc looks even better than the laserdisc version issued nearly a decade ago and worlds better than the VHS with crisper, clearer sound and a much cleaner more vivid (and colorful)picture. The "Disney Enhanced" 5.1 soundtrack actually improves the dialogue and songs giving them better clarity and added presence.

The extras are a mixed bag but most of them are well worth having. There's deleted scenes presented in rough pencil animation, deleted songs highlighted by the terrific "Proud of Your Boy". Clay Aiken sings a version of the song for a music video. We also get "A Whole New World" performed by the dipsy duo of Nick Lachey and Jessica Simpson. The two hour "A Diamond in the Rough" is a fascinating glimpse behind-the-scenes of this marvelous movie. We also get to see scenes from the deleted storyline for the film. Pop-up trivia facts can also be programmed to play on the DVD player as well. The two audio commentary tracks feature the directors and producer of the film while the second has some very funny commentary from the various character animators involved in the film.

"Aladdin's Magic Carpet Ride" is the best of the extras included here. It's actually not a game per se but a magic carpet ride that's best experienced on as big a TV as possible with the lights out. It's as close to a thrill ride ever presented on home video. "Inside the Genie's Lamb" is a mildly interesting and entertaining glimpse into the Genie's habitat. We also get "Genie World Tour". This bit of whimsy is fun and Disney directors actually entertained the notion of putting it on during the end credits at one time. It's clever and a witty short. "3 Wishes Game" might keep little ones entertained once or twice although some little ones will need help operating the DVD remote to play the game. Parents stay close by so the kids don't throw the remote at the TV in frustration. You can also select your favorite "Aladdin" songs with onscreen lyrics to help you sing along (God save your neighbors if you're a bad singer).

All in all a terrific package well worth picking up. "Aladdin" is a funny, charming and entertaining movie with the Disney team at their peak. The "Special Gift Edition" is truly for the hardcore Disney fan that collects everything Disney. The two disc "Special Edition" is more for the casual fan or those that love the movie but just don't collect Disney stuff. I had some reservations about the DVD release as I was afraid they might screw it up but they didn't. The only thing missing is a discussion about the original song lyrics that were changed for home video release due to concerns about their anti-Arab sentiments. Also, we don't get any new footage of Robin Williams but we do see some vintage stuff from his very funny recording sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Disney delight!, May 8, 2001
By 
D. Litton (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aladdin [VHS] (1995) (VHS Tape)
Disney's "Aladdin" isn't as spectacular as some of it's other films like "Beauty and the Beast," but it's proves itself to be worthy entertainment for adults and children alike. The dazzling animation and animal characters will provide hours of mockery and cheers from children, while the superb comical talent and witticism of Robin Williams will be a sheer delight to both sets. The movie tickles my fancy in new ways; I loved it.
The story centers around a "street urchin" named Aladdin, who'd give anything to live within the walls of the Sultan's palace. One day in the marketplace, he meets a girl who turns out to be the princess, but he is soon arrested at the hands of Jafar, the Sultan's advisor who has a thirst for the throne. Jafar takes Aladdin far into the desert, to a place known as the Cave of Wonders, where he ventures inside to find a magic lamp containing a giant blue genie with a flare for comedy. Aladdin uses the lamp to make himself a prince, in hopes that he may win the heart of Princess Jasmine and finally live in the palace. But Jafar has different plans. Spurned by the princess and annoyed by the Sultan, he makes it his life's goal to retrieve the lamp and become master of the universe.
While this movie doesn't have the grandeur and magnificence of Disney's spectacle pieces, it's clear that it doesn't need that look or feel to make it work. This movie is basically a Disney comedy, possessing a simple story for children while the dialogue will appeal more to adults as well. It's not a very serious film, which makes it even easier to enjoy the comedic lightheartedness it brings with it.
That comedy rests on the shoulders of Robin Williams, who provides the voice of the Genie. Some of his best work is done in this film, and he brings some of the funniest one-liners and gags ever to a movie that works well with them. And since his character is one of animation and not reality, then the possibilities are endless. You'll laugh until you cry watching Williams in action, as he switches many different forms, voices and attitudes.
Everything else for a typical Disney movie is right in place: there's the setting, the Arabian town of Agraba, overlooked by a palace complete with dome-topped towers and sparkling white walls, all with a certain Disney touch. There's the main protagonist, Aladdin, who hopes for a better life and then gets one. There's Princess Jasmine, the maiden whom everyone wishes for their own. And there's the villain, Jafar, complete with talking parrot Iago, who provides comic relief in the midst of his master's evil doings.
I wasn't expecting much from "Aladdin," which is why I liked it so much. Perhaps people expected a bit too much out of it, being a follow-up to "Beauty and the Beast," but in order to enjoy it, you just have to sit back and relax and let it roll over you. The comedy is the best thing about it, and Robin Williams succeeds beautifully at bringing a warm and funny nature to the picture. "Aladdin" is laugh-out-loud funny! I loved this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a Disney Masterpiece, June 23, 2004
By 
Liz "LoftyKitten" (Colorado Springs, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aladdin [VHS] (1995) (VHS Tape)
When this movie first came out it was obvious that it would become an instant classic. 12 years later it has indeed continued to touch the hearts of children.
One of Disney's finest, this movie brings everything together. The animation is simply beautiful, the voice acting very convincing, the plot both imaginitive and entertaining, and the original songs are a masterpiece on their own. The characters are all believable, and gauranteed to touch a special place in your heart.
This movie has a great supply of adventure and humor, with a healty dose of morals thrown in for good measure. The title character Aladdin learns throughout the course of the film the significance of being himself. We also witness the value of friendship, the importance of freedom, and the fact that people are people no matter where their life has put them. While the film portrays these messages very touchingly, it does so without making the lesson heavy handed.
Whether you're sharing the magic of this movie with your children, or indulging in your own entertainment, Aladdin won't dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Ah-Bah-Bwah., December 7, 2004
By 
C D. McLeod (McKinney, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Aladdin is one of the last great animated films from Disney, and a lot of the credit is owed to the bad guys. The voices of Jafar and Iago are dead-on perfect for their characters and when combined with Robin Williams in a role where he can really cut loose, they create movie gold.

In a classic poor-boy-makes-good story, it would be easy to ignore the villian and concentrate on the "heart of gold" and love-interest storylines, but directors Clements and Musker gave plenty of screen time for the wonderfully sneering and arrogant Jafar. The interplay between him and Gottfried as Iago is nearly as fun as listening to Williams's wide selection of impressions and verbal explosions (my favorite is Bill Buckley with "restrictions and quid pro quos").

Some of the extras are snooze-inducing, but the commentary is engaging, especially if you've seen the film a few times. This is definitely worth the upgrade from your old VHS copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Whole New World of Extras, July 26, 2004
Disney's Platinum Editions are rapidly becoming a must buy not only for the Disney enthusiast, but also the general film buff. The annual release of the Disney top titles with a whole new set of extras spanning over two discs is now a real date-for-the-diary. The latest for the Platinum treatment is Aladdin - one of Disney's biggest hits of the 'Golden Era' (now sadly ended).

The film deserves it's fame and success. Beautifully written,designed and animated, the studio should now look back at it and see how it should be done. The songs by Ashman and Menken (with help from Tim Rice post Ashman's death)are excellent without a weak link among them. The same can be said for the vocal talent on display. Although Robin Williams' Genie has always received the most praise and attention, my personal favourites are Jonathon Freeman's witty Jafar and Gilbert Gottfried's abrasive Iago.

The extras, looking at the line-up, don't seem as exhaustive (and exhausting!) as Lion King or Beauty and the Beast's but there definately seems to be an emphasis of quality over quantity. The main attraction on these discs is always the never-before-heard songs. Unlike the previously mentioned films, Aladdin will not have the songs intergrated into the film. This is probably due to the fact that the main deleted song (Proud of your Boy) was originally to be sung by a character that did not survive into Aladdin's final scipt - Aladdin's mother. The reprise (Humiliate your Boy) was to be sung by Jafar which seems to point to both versions being replaced somewhat by Prince Ali and it's Jafar sung reprise.

A commentary by the Disney artists is always welcome and the Howard Ashman tribute should be another highlight. A lot of the extras seem to be depressingly child-friendly (hopefully this won't alienate the buffs) with the Magic Carpet Ride sounding like a carbon-copy of the poular Timon and Pumbaa Safaris available on the Lion King releases. An in-depth making of sounds wonderful but I for one could have lived without the pathetic padding that is the 'All New Music Video'.

With Bambi apparently the next for the full platinum treatment and 101 Dalmations, Jungle Book and Little Mermaid to follow (one per year and just in time for Christmas!) Disney shouldn't need to worry just yet that they are running out of decent movies to polish. I just wish they'd start making them again. In the mean time we can indulge ourselves in past glories and buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A disney classic re-born on DVD!, October 14, 2004
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the tale of a street thief named "Aladdin" who falls in love for the beautiful princess Jasmine, he discovers a magic lamp with a witty Genie to grant him three wises including him to make him a prince, and must defeat the evil sorcerer Jafar.

This movie is the most spectacular movie of 1992, the higest grossing movie of that year and a instant classic for it's great disney animation, some groundbreaking effects, a sharp sense of humor from the Genie played by Robin Williams, Gilbert Godfried whom is perfect as Jago the Parrot, and great songs by Howard Ashman & Alan Menken such as the memorable " A whole new world".

The 2-Disc DVD set is amazing with awesome extras like commentary, featurettes, fun games, behind the scenes on how this remarkable animated movie was made, still-and-art gallery, publicity and more makes this a definite must buy for your DVD collection, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a true masterpiece!!!!, January 7, 2005
When I was a bit younger, this movie came out, and it was my favorite. When it came out for DVD, I got really excited. My youngest sister, who is five, had never seen this movie before, so I bought it as a Christmas gift for her. She adores it just as much as I do! I was so tickled with it, and yes...I'll admit, I did buy a copy for myself too. I just couldn't pass it up. This is a timeless classic that doesn't ever deserve to leave the shelves in stores, and it most certainly can't leave the shelves in out hearts. The DVD is a great way to share the magic with younger generations, Don't pass this up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Aladdin (Disney Special Platinum Edition Collector's Gift Set)
$139.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.