Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Alan Dunn's Christmas Cakes
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2011
Alan Dunn never ceases to amaze. Exquisite arrangements, subtle colouring with incredible originality. Based on one other review where the person said that the book was not for beginners, the individual is probably right. Alan Dunn, in this book, is for those who have completed their first gumpaste class, acquired the basics and now want to get incredible accolades for their cakes. If you follow the directions closely, you will win competitions with flowers made from this book. If you want the same quality of flower making, but a little more basic, Alan's "Wedding Cake Bible" is probably the book for you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2010
There are 16 beautiful CAKES in this book.as well as 20 or so flowers and foliage and several candle displays and sprays too.... ... some aimed at the novice decorator - a cool snowman cake, christmas stockings and my favourite - a christmas tree - a beautiful cake !!! ..... and also lot's for the more experienced sugarcrafter too. Alan's books are always an inspiration - I love it......
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2011
I ordered this book just before Christmas and could not put it down from the moment I got it. I have all of Alan's books and this as the other ones is breath taking. He is truly an artist, there are a handful of people who truly know how to work with Gum Paste Alan is truly one he belongs in that group.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
I have bought several of Alan's books. I believe that anyone could learn to make flowers from him. His pictures and descriptions are very well thought out and the pictures show step by step processes. You must have this and all his books in my opinon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2010
The title Christmas Cakes is really what throws you, I was expecting designs and ideas for cakes, but I got decorations so it should say Christmas center pieces or Christmas decorations but really not cakes.
With all of that said it is beautiful. If you are a beginner like myself then this is really not what you are looking for.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
Gorgeous pictorials, perfect floral sugarpaste specimens. The level of detail and artistry makes it one to behold and refer to. Love all his books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Christmas Cakes by Alan Dunn - As always, everything is well explained. Makes reading and practicing quite easy. This book is a must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
Wonderful book. I love all his books and this is no exception. Easy to follow directions and beautiful outcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2015
That's very nice book, I love this book so much. I will try to use this coming Christmas 😍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
Gorgeous flowers and arrangements. Thank you Alan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse