Customer Reviews


999 Reviews
5 star:
 (727)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (97)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Book Second Edition
This is the second edition version. I love having the Big Book on my Kindle, however, the lack of page numbering is frustrating at times - this is a Kindle issue not a book issue.
Published on February 10, 2010 by L. Bellows

versus
100 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Edition
It does have an indexed table of contents, but you cannot search the text and it has no page numbers, a big sin in any group / meeting, whether it's AA, OA, etc. If you can't cite pages or get citations from others, you're going to run into trouble. If you just want to read, you're good. As noted in another review, yes, this appears to be an old edition, the 2nd edition...
Published on December 3, 2011 by A. K. Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Book Second Edition, February 10, 2010
By 
L. Bellows (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the second edition version. I love having the Big Book on my Kindle, however, the lack of page numbering is frustrating at times - this is a Kindle issue not a book issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 139 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the current edition of this book . . ., September 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not the 4th (current) edition of this book revised in 2001 or even the 3rd edition, revised in 1976. I think it may be the 2nd. If you want to follow along with your group reading the stories you may want to get an up to date edition. If you just want to get sober this will do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


205 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lifesaver, March 21, 2004
It perplexes me there are so few reviews of this great book. Last time I checked, there were eight -- at least it's double digits now.

It perplexes me because this book has saved literally millions of lives. For anyone struggling with alcoholism, this is the way to get sober. The principles of the program can -- and have been -- applied to just about any addiction. This program is the foundation of Cocaine Anonymous, Narcotics Anonymous and every other 12 step program. This is where it all started.

My pastor mentioned in church just today how the sprituality of people who've been in 12 step programs is sometimes especially striking. That's true. It's because if a person follows the 12 steps, they will find it a life-changing experience. They will not be exactly the same person they were when they started. For more on this, see a passage in the book known in the program that took its name from the book's title as "the promises."

If you read this book, also read the accompanying 12 Steps and 12 Traditions volume. The two go together -- though if you read only one read this one.

The book is especially helpful in dealing with the issue of a higher power.

The book goes way beyond what someone will find in a typical AA meeting. A person who is attempting sobriety needs this book, a sponsor and the meetings.

This is, statistically, the best shot there is at sobriety. This book and the program it spawned are an extraordinary gift for those who choose to accept them.

The newcomer might find the book somewhat dated. Stick with it. It's worth it. And, as time goes by, it will become clearer and clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Edition, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It does have an indexed table of contents, but you cannot search the text and it has no page numbers, a big sin in any group / meeting, whether it's AA, OA, etc. If you can't cite pages or get citations from others, you're going to run into trouble. If you just want to read, you're good. As noted in another review, yes, this appears to be an old edition, the 2nd edition from the mid 1970s. If you're looking for a version for the meetings, this is not your book. As of this writing in December 2011, the current edition is the 4th edition from 2001 (ISBN 978-1-893007-17-8).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the World's Greatest Books, December 21, 2006
I read the AA Big Book and joined Overeaters Anonymous thinking I was a compulsive overeater. Perhaps I would have been an alcoholic, but my body chemistry never tolerated alcohol, smoking or drugs, so I was spared that. It turned out the weight problem was also a body chemistry thing, and the time I spent in diligent application to the 12-step program led me to realize I wasn't a compulsive overeater after all.

Reading the AA Big Book was fantastic for me, and I recommend it to anyone. If you are not an addict, it will certainly not harm you to try a 12-step program. You are likely to come out, as I did after 10 months, with a deep respect for what these programs do. Miracles are everyday events in these groups.

Some of the people who have written reviews here resisted the tenets of AA because they are unwilling to submit to a higher power. That's human nature. Anything else is itself a miracle.

My concerns about AA prior to reading the book were the opposite. I am a Christian and I was under the impression that the 12 steps are in conflict with that. Such is not at all the case. No one is going to try to hypnotize you!

Nor is a 12-step program going to tell you to avoid medical help. One of AA's founders was a doctor, and right from the start AA began saving lives that doctors knew they could not save. It still happens in AA, daily.

If you are ready to be inspired, read this book. You will understand yourself and other people better. If you don't feel ready to be inspired, maybe you need to read it even more.

I noticed one of the reviews complained about archaic language in the book. It's not that archaic. You don't need a glossary to read it, as you do with the King James Bible or Shakespeare! For me, the language serves as a reminder of how long this organization has been helping people, and of its amazing roots.

Be sure to read the AA 12 Steps and 12 Traditions, too. If you know much about organizations, the 12 Traditions will blow your mind. AA is truly a non profit organization, not one just for tax purposes. Their traditions include the deliberate avoidance of accumulating wealth and property for the organization. It's about addict helping addict, without judgement but also with a centered perspective that casts light on truth.

The simple but powerful structure of meetings--including those held in online chat rooms--as well as the tradition of anonymity make AA a unique safe place. Reading this book is one of the healthiest things you can do for yourself and for the people you care about, addicted or not. You can also read it free online (just Google AA Big Book and it's one of the first entries), but for me that doesn't replace a real book to hold and read. It would be hard to find a better investment than the purchase of the AA Big Book. ---Kathy Diamond Davis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic 'Big Book' to Go, January 13, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the indispensable basic text book of recovery. The stories in this copy of Alcoholics Anonymous are from the 2nd Edition, and therefore may present some 'new' stories to readers of the 3rd or 4th Edition. What a bonus!

Textbooks are for studying, and it's wonderful to have this indispensable material available for review in a variety of forms. Kindle is just one more way that the message of hope is being carried.

"If recovery doesn't come first, nothing comes second."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, October 27, 2011
Would be nice if it were the 4th edition or at least said it was the 2nd. No biggie. Praise BILL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A desire to stop drinking, readiness at the bottom and the application of these TENETS has kept me sober for over 31 years., August 16, 2006
Have just ordered another copy of "The Big Book" as mine has about worn out. Alcoholics Anonymous - the book and program together have stood the test of time. Many tens of thousands of people have become sober long term by keeping the "Big Book" handy. Alcoholics Anonymous literally saved my life. It is a blueprint for living that could benefit anyone. The seriousness of Alcoholism can be identified as an insidious killer of person, family, friends, work reltionships and more. Keep the book around - it can work for you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God for this book, August 18, 2003
By 
Utah Jim (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
I don't know what to say except that this book saved my life.
Thanks Bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a must have for anyone hoping to recover from Alcoholism. This book, along with the program of Alcoholics Anonymous, has made my life peaceful and free of anxiety...finally. Get this book..but most importantly..get a sponsor and start working the steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.