Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This disc will turn you into a bluegrass music fan.
Steve Martin continues his career as a blue grass singer. This time he teams up with a five man band from North Carolina who call themselves the Steep Canyon Rangers. These guys can really play and sing. They harmonize so well on the track "More Bad Weather On The Way". This song has only one line of lyric, but the musical instruments playing on it is superb. The disc...
Published on March 15, 2011 by Robert G Yokoyama

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointed
Really, if I could give it a 1/2 star, I would. I naively expected a lot of banjo and fiddle, but most of it was mediocre vocals. There was no foot stomping or even tapping to this. In all honesty, I trashed it before I even got through all of the tracks. And the opening track, all instrumental thank you, was disturbing with it's use of breaks ("pregnant pauses")...
Published 10 months ago by Keith Long


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This disc will turn you into a bluegrass music fan., March 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
Steve Martin continues his career as a blue grass singer. This time he teams up with a five man band from North Carolina who call themselves the Steep Canyon Rangers. These guys can really play and sing. They harmonize so well on the track "More Bad Weather On The Way". This song has only one line of lyric, but the musical instruments playing on it is superb. The disc contains upbeat tracks like "Rare Bird Alert" and "Hide Behind A Rock". These songs are blue grass in the most pure form. I am blown away by the way the guys of Steep Canyon Rangers play the banjo. These two tracks put me in a good mood. I love the humor in the songs on this disc. My favorite track is "Jubliation Day". This is the funniest break up song I have ever heard. "Atheists Don't Have No Songs" is a very funny song about music and observations about religion. My other favorite track is the instrumental tune "The Great Remember". The fiddle playing by Nicky Sanders gives this song a romantic tone that I really like. Paul McCartney lends his vocal talents on the track "Best Love". This track stands out for me. It is the first bluegrass love song I have ever heard. "Yellow Backed Fly" is another enjoyable tune. This song is about the simple joy of fishing. This song has a visual quality that I enjoy. The Dixie Chicks lend their talents on the lovely track "You". The guys harmonize so well on the tune "Women Like To Slow Dance". This song has a spirit of a hoe down. This song is very fun. "Rare Bird Alert" will turn more listeners into fans of blue grass music. I really like this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our homies do it again - "with a little help from a friend...", March 17, 2011
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
The Brevard Music Center in Brevard, NC, annually hosts the Mountain Song Festival. The lead act and one of the main sponsors is the Steep Canyon Rangers, a well-known and loved blue grass group from the area and known to the locals as "The Steeps." During the 2008 Festival, the first that I attended, the Steeps were a few minutes into their second show when lead singer Woody Platt announced that there was an "older guy" backstage who said he could play the banjo and wanted to sit in with the band for a song or two. From between the back curtains walked Steve Martin. The crowd went absolutely wild - the people seated out on the lawn began quickly moving towards the stage - all were clapping and screaming like a bunch of teenaged girls at a Back Street Boys concert, which they were not since the average age in the crowd had to be well north of 50. What followed was a superb performance showing not only Martin's skills on the banjo but the vast musical skills of each member of the Steeps.

This phenomenally talented group continues to display those skills in the CD "Rare Bird Alert." The title song and "Northern Island" feature their instrumental talents and there is some remarkable acapella singing in "Atheists Don't Have No Songs" - not to mention they are joined by Sir Paul McCartney whose unmistakable voice provides the lead vocals in "Best Love." And today, St. Patrick's Day, Steve, Woody, Nicky, Mike, Charley, and Graham were guests on The View.

What a great story all around! What's next? Don't know but plan to enjoy the ride to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Steve Martin, March 16, 2011
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
A strong collection of music from start to finish. My immediate favorites are Jubilation Day for its humor and the Great Remember, for its beauty and sadness. Buy the CD instead of downloading...the illustrations and booklet are fantastic. You'll read every word and study every illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin proves that The Crow was not a one-time project, March 20, 2011
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
Many folks thought that comedian/actor/author/art expert Steve Martin's first bluegrass album was a "one shot thing". It was (and is) a highly entertaining album. Martin, who was playing banjo in his stand-up comedy act early in his career, hooked up with the North Carolina bluegrass band, The Steep Canyon Rangers at a music festival and they've been touring ever since.

Well, The Crow - that first CD - was not a fluke. Martin and "the Steeps" are back with this new album. Martin wrote nine of the 13 tracks here and co-wrote the rest with the band. Four of the songs are instrumentals (and one, More Bad Weather on the Way", could be considered as such, since the only lyrics are the words in the title). The pace is both fast and slow (the beautiful instrumental, "The Great Remember" is the latter). And while most of the album was recoded in the studio, the last three tracks - including the very funny "Atheists Don't Have No Songs" and a bluegrass version of Martin's pop hit "King Tut"- were recorded live in concert. Martin calls on a few "celebrities to attract the non-bluegrass audience. The Dixie Chicks get lead vocals on "You" and Sir Paul McCartney does the honors on "Best Love". Surely these tracks will find a lot of fans of these artists doing single downloads of these tracks, but maybe, just maybe, their fans will be introduced to this down-home style of music.

The handsomely illustrated booklet inserted in the CD sleeve has liner notes on each song by Martin (with a nod - more than once - to his forthcoming movie - The Big Year). No lyrics are included, but are probably on a website somewhere.

I really liked this CD, though I can't say I liked it more than The Crow. But both are five stars in my opinion. So, if you have the first album, run to get this one. If you don't have that one, feel free to start here and work backwards.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more toe tappier than The Crow, March 17, 2011
By 
Jason Breslin (South Salem, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
For those who enjoyed The Crow: New Songs for the 5-String Banjo, you will love this even more!! Once again, Steve Martin's banjo virtuosity shines on this album! Unlike the other album, which was mostly 3-finger style picking, Steve offers an equal share of songs in clawhammer and Scruggs style picking. Also, there are plenty more vocal songs sung expertly by the Steep Canyon Rangers, along with some great guest appearances by the Walrus himself, Sir Paul McCartney, and the Dixie Chicks! Steve has also improved in his lyric writing. Just listen to the words of "Go Away, Stop, Turn Around, Come Back" and the ever hilarious "Atheists Don't Have No Songs"! Why can't I pick as great as Steve?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No question - 5 stars, March 19, 2011
By 
Emil P. (Arnold, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
Yes, I have no reservations whatsoever giving 5 stars to this one. The previous reviews are accurate. Steve's sense of humor comes across not only in several of the tracks, but in the CD art as well. Best Love is a cute, mature love song, thanks to Sir Paul, and The Great Remember is a beautifully poignant elegy. The bluegrass King Tut is even better than the original. I really enjoyed The Crow, but this CD is stronger in all respects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Music Alert!, September 5, 2011
This album is great! I love Steve Martin the actor, author, and comedian - but Steve Martin the Banjo player is even better. The talent with which he and his band play is unsurpassed, and the album art is right, this certainly is the "highest class bluegrass in the world" - give it a shot today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!!!, March 16, 2011
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
I would rate this cd a thousand stars. It delightful...charming...very entertaining!!!
Steve Martin is a very talented and gifted
person-thanks for sharing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, April 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
I bought this for my fiance who plays banjo, and I don't think he was a bluegrass fan until he heard this CD. It will make you smile and is WAY worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe even better than the first, March 19, 2011
This review is from: Rare Bird Alert (Audio CD)
This one is possibly even better than the first. Martin continues to step out as a serious musician. Excellent for bluegrass, folk and other fans who just like good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rare Bird Alert
Rare Bird Alert by Steep Canyon Rangers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.