Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning
This is a book that you can spend hours looking at. The book is beautifully designed with a lenticular cover, moth print end papers, and huge color photos of McQueen's work. It's also a lot bigger and heavier than I expected considering the very reasonable price. The text is informative, and the pictures are sharp and clear so that you can really see the workmanship...
Published on April 28, 2011 by Renee Miller

versus
25 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry it's a disappointment
Despite all the raves here, I have to say this book is a big disappointment.

It was produced before the exhibition, obviously they needed to have available at museum shops. But as a result it really misses the opportunity to document one of the most amazing museum presentations ever produced. As is, the book lacks all the flair and theatricality of the show and...
Published on August 3, 2011 by Dr. Doom


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning, April 28, 2011
By 
Renee Miller (Womelsdorf, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
This is a book that you can spend hours looking at. The book is beautifully designed with a lenticular cover, moth print end papers, and huge color photos of McQueen's work. It's also a lot bigger and heavier than I expected considering the very reasonable price. The text is informative, and the pictures are sharp and clear so that you can really see the workmanship and details that went into the clothes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a McQueen fan..., May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
... BUY THIS BOOK! This book serves as a wonderful compendium of McQueen's work. The collections noted range from "Jack the ripper stalks his victims" through "Angels and Demons". If I were to nit-pick: A - some of the photos could have benefited from better lighting and B - there needed to be more examples from his tenure at Givenchy. Not all of his collections are on display at the Met exhibit and so in this book, not all of his collections are used (Neptune, Pantheon Ad Lectum, etc.). I have not finished reading the passages in the forward, nor the interview with Sara Burton, but this book is more of a visual feast than a good read. The size is comparable to the price and the quality of the book is excellent. I'm still waiting for a giant 1,000 page book on his entire career, but in the mean time, this catalog will suffice nicely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Tribute, April 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
This is an INCREDIBLE book. I love the transforming cover! Based on the upcoming exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum in New York, the book includes statuesque models painted white like mannequins adorned in Mcqeen's designs. Many of them are headless (obviously done in post production), some are faceless (also post production) - I think this anonymity adds to the power of his works. I have to say, I was delighted I had ordered my copy in advance when I found out the newly wed Duchess Kate Middleton had decided to have her dress designed by Alexander McQueen's house!!! Between the upcoming opening and how stunning Kate's dress was this book is sure to be a sell out!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DONT BUY THE OTHER BOOK BUY THIS BOOK, May 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
Remember that first McQueen book that came out, the horrible one, that all of us McQueen fans wasted our money on? This book is the opposite. Its what I was expecting and then some. Its a high quality testament to his legacy, its done beautifully and at 27$ its a steal, you must buy this book. the cover of the book is a hologram of mcqueens face which morphs into that skeleton you see on picture. Its amazing. THANK YOU book gods!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion as Art, May 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
Alexander McQueen (17 March 1969 - 11 February 2010) was an icon in the fashion industry. He is currently the subject of a spectacular exhibition of his works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and this book serves as a catalogue for that exhibition. From the lenticular cover by Gary James McQueen ('Lenticular printing is a technology in which a lenticular lens is used to produce images with an illusion of depth, or the ability to change or move as the image is viewed from different angles') to the layout or deign of the book itself to the extraordinary photography (by Sølve Sundsbø) this book is an art piece by itself.

McQueen drew notice with his fashions that made femininity collide with masculinity, gowns and dresses that created a continuing dichotomy between life and death, lightness and darkness, predator and prey, man and machine. His uses of fabric and elements not usually considered wearable resulted in very bizarre and at the same time hauntingly beautiful creations that, placed on mannequins, could be considered sculptures. And that is how the exhibition and the catalogue are constructed. 'The Romantic Mind' shows soft fashion lines against a concrete backdrop, 'The Romantic Gothic' recalls a term McQueen used for his designs - 'the Edgar Allen Poe of fashion', 'Romantic Nationalism' is a display of the Scottish versus the British mindset transformed into clothing, and the Objects gallery reveals strange objects of many types that explain how he viewed the world.

There is a fine Preface written by Andrew Bolton who curated the exhibition, an Introduction by Susannah Frankel, an interview by Tim Banks with the now almost equally famous Sarah Burton (designer of Kate's Middleton's Royal wedding gown). 'The exhibition, organized by The Costume Institute, celebrates the late Alexander McQueen's extraordinary contributions to fashion. From his Central Saint Martins postgraduate collection of 1992 to his final runway presentation, which took place after his death in February 2010, Mr. McQueen challenged and expanded the understanding of fashion beyond utility to a conceptual expression of culture, politics, and identity. His iconic designs constitute the work of an artist whose medium of expression was fashion. The exhibition features approximately one hundred ensembles and seventy accessories from Mr. McQueen's prolific nineteen-year career. Drawn primarily from the Alexander McQueen Archive in London, with some pieces from the Givenchy Archive in Paris as well as private collections, signature designs including the "bumster" trouser, the kimono jacket, and the three-point "origami" frock coat will be on view. McQueen's fashions often referenced the exaggerated silhouettes of the 1860s, 1880s, 1890s, and 1950s, but his technical ingenuity always imbued his designs with an innovative sensibility that kept him at the vanguard.'

This is a fine tribute to a fashion designer and conceptual artist who died far too young but whose contributions to contemporary fashion and art will live on. This book is likely to become a collector's item, so handsomely designed and present as it is. Grady Harp, May 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live McQueen, May 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
I bought this book in preparation for the exhibit at The Met, opening this month. I am sooo pleased with the beautiful photographs and lengthy introduction in the beginning/interview with Sarah Burton at the end. This weighty catalog is insight into a great mind, and a great addition to any fashionista's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous., May 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
Amazing book. I didn't know what to expect because the price was pretty low so I was surprised when I received it. Good quality photos and I loved the quotes. Plus, the cover is really cool. Great for people who love fashion and art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!!!!!, May 7, 2011
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
I went to the exhibit that accompanies this book at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. It is a magnificent exhibit that showcases McQueen's skill as a fashion designer and master tailor. The clothes and accesories in the exhibit are beautifully featured in this stunningly bound catalogue. Photographs do not do McQueen's vision justice, you'll need the exhibit for that. However, if you cannot make it to the show,do pick up this book. If you are interested in fashion, art, and history, look no further. Its such a shame that the world lost such a unique individual. No one will ever take his place or be able to replicate what he did. Kudos to the Met and Anna Wintour for acknowledging the work of this amazing visionary with a superb exhibit and companion book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An homage to genius..., May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
When McQueen died, there seemed to be hole in fashion. One of the greatest creative minds had simply vanished and it felt like we had lost years of future innovation. Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty reminds us that although the man has past, his efforts and influence on sartorial innovation never will.

I read this entire tome in a single day. And having read it, I feel much more connected to McQueen than ever before. It is a publication that not only chronicles his life but, explores his processes, his techniques, his innovation and of course, his legacy.

And despite the collection of quotes, deep biographical writings and insight, this book is not so much about the words but, the images. The Met have captured the true essence of McQueen through visual displays of his aesthetic and mindset. From flowing gowns that look ethereal across a double page spread, to the finest detail of a mannequin's skin tone, it all resembles a dream, the surreal fantasy that McQueen bought the world.

This book, with its comprehensive look at the past and optimistic and exciting look into McQueen's future through Sarah Burton, is something you must really buy for yourself. I cannot be in New York for the exhibition but, have a little piece of the real McQueen with me. And my never ending admiration for him is enhanced through this book.

A great homage to the genius that was and ever will be, McQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Grand Canyon, May 13, 2011
By 
porkchop (Richmond, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) (Hardcover)
You can look at these photos all you want, you're never going to be able to see it all. There's so much beauty in here, I was borderline angry looking at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art) by Andrew Bolton (Hardcover - May 31, 2011)
$50.00 $29.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.