Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good deal
Just a heads up, Alexander is split on two discs. Disc one has the first two hours of the film, and disc two has the last hour of the film plus extras (see this thread for more info: [...]. You'll have to swap out discs to watch the entire final cut. All three films share one thick case with a slipcover. Each movie has its special features. Picture and audio quality are...
Published on January 24, 2012 by Check em

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed
I have two different blu-ray players - and two of the three discs will not play on either of these without crashing. I guess you get what you pay for - great price and bargain only if they can be viewed
Published 22 months ago by Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good deal, January 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just a heads up, Alexander is split on two discs. Disc one has the first two hours of the film, and disc two has the last hour of the film plus extras (see this thread for more info: [...]. You'll have to swap out discs to watch the entire final cut. All three films share one thick case with a slipcover. Each movie has its special features. Picture and audio quality are great for all three films. For under $17, its a great deal, even though Alexander is average at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ancient World Comes Back to Life!, July 13, 2013
By 
Ryan Wilkes (Savannah, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This collection of films is perfect for any fan of movies about the ancient world! 300, Troy, and Alexander are three of my favorite movies and this set is the best deal out there! The packaging is handsome and the blu-ray discs are intelligently contained and easy to get out and put back into the casing. Any fan of these films should definitely invest in buying this set, even if you already have any of these on DVD because the blu-ray quality just makes it so much better. 300 is a beautifully done film and the story of how Ancient Greece was saved from destruction is a classic and timeless tale. Troy really brings a big part of the Iliad to life and transports the viewer back into the carnage and passion of the most famous war in the Ancient World. As for the motion picture, Alexander, I am a big fan of the final edition: Alexander Revisited--The Final Cut. In fact, I love this movie! I think it is one of the best historical films I've ever seen! When I originally saw the film at the theater, I could tell that it had been heavily edited, but I still liked it. However, Oliver Stone's third edition of the film is excellent. The battle sequences are great, and I feel the film made an earnest effort to try and recreate the ancient pagan psychology of the time. Some of the scenes are a little difficult because the ancient world was simply more in touch with nature and the mystery, sexuality, and aimless wonder of life because modern life and society are simply less sincere and more arrogant than the world of the ancients. I think this innocence is endearing because Alexander the Great is such a difficult and bigger-than-life subject to tackle and this movie isn't afraid to showcase some of the most intimate and sacredly personal of feelings aroused by the difficult subject matter of the movie. I thought some of the scenes were really stunningly beautiful, especially the scenes of Alexander with his mother, Olympia, and the scenes set in Macedonia. I loved the parts of the movie that showcased Olympia's devotion to the Greek God Dionysus--the God of wine, ecstasy, theater, animal and plant nature! I always loved the Greek Gods and loved reading stories about them and really enjoyed seeing that aspect of life in the film. Everyone who has seen the Alexander Revisited edition of this film has seen a fine film! These are three great movies! You should definitely add them to your library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Product, August 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great Value, Great Picture. Nice Price for 3 great movies! Troy is one of my favorites, it is hard to beat the action and story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DEAL!!, June 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
3 of my favorite war epics all for one low price in high-def. Movies look phenomenal on bluray and the package only cost 14$ with shipping. 300 is an instant, violent classic while Troy keeps you on the edge of your seat. Alexander is a tad slow, but if you pay attention you'll learn to appreciate it. GREAT DEAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three in One..., December 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It is an excellent idea to use technology today. Having three close by plot movies in blu-ray format was great idea. All the three movies came in a high quality picture and sound and an excellent condition. I like this idea three in one and highly recommend the seller - fast and proper delivery. Thank you for this great combination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some helpful product information., December 19, 2014
By 
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This isn't really a review, but as I found the product description lacking, I decided to compile this list of helpful information below. I hope this will be useful for prospective buyers to know what they're getting:

ALEXANDER (Director's Cut) (2004): 175 minutes - Director: Oliver Stone - Starring: Colin Farrell, Jared Leto, Angelina Jolie - Genre: Epic, history - Plot: A sprawling epic about the life of Alexander the Great, one of the greatest conquerors the world will ever know. R

TROY (2004): 163 minutes - Director: Wolfgang Petersen - Starring: Brad Pitt, Eric Bana, Orlando Bloom - Genre: Epic, action - Plot: An adaptation of Homer's great epic, the film follows the assault on Troy by the united Greek forces and chronicles the fates of the men involved. R

300 (2006): 117 minutes - Director: Zack Snyder - Starring: Gerard Butler, David Wenham, Lena Headey - Genre: Epic, action - Plot: A visceral and stylized retelling of the last stand of 300 Spartan warriors vs. a force of innumerable Persian invaders led by their god-king Xerxes. R

Now let's crunch some numbers. This collection costs $9.96, and contains 3 films. To find the value of the individual film you're getting, we divide the price by the number of films to get an individual price of $3.32 per film, an amazing deal for these action packed and incredibly entertaining Greek epics! I hope this information is useful to you. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of epic battles, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I loved this idea of putting 3 movies such as these on one bluray. I had seen all movies and wanted to purchase them at some point BUT being able to have all 3 in one box is wonderful :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great quality, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Exactly as description said it would be. I really enjoyed watching these movies. Especially the first 300. This is sparta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bundle, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Loved the triple features film. If you don't have any of these movie and need an excuse to buy one of the film, I would suggest this bundle to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best deal, February 19, 2014
By 
sexy dancer "mandy" (spring hill, florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the best deal for three great classic movies on blu ray.
I am highly recommending this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alexander Revisited / Troy / 300 (Triple-Feature) [Blu-ray]
$24.98 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.