Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America, Brace Yourself: Alfie Boe is a Star!
American music fans are in for such a treat because Alfie Boe, alas, has finally hit these shores, bringing a world of talent with him. He has the voice of an angel, singing with such passion, compassion, beauty and poise. This is a once-in-a-lifetime presence, with a voice that is truly a gift from God.
Published on June 5, 2012 by mzcsmith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit weaker cd than most of his others
not a strong one but not a bad one either. Its just ok. Bring Him Home is his signature song.
Published 18 months ago by Tristan T. Herkimer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America, Brace Yourself: Alfie Boe is a Star!, June 5, 2012
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
American music fans are in for such a treat because Alfie Boe, alas, has finally hit these shores, bringing a world of talent with him. He has the voice of an angel, singing with such passion, compassion, beauty and poise. This is a once-in-a-lifetime presence, with a voice that is truly a gift from God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistry and Soul, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
"Alfie" is an amazing album, Alfie Boe's best to date, (and yes I have them all). There is a depth to this album. Alfie infuses himself into each selection, giving each song a part of his soul and then motivating you as listener to connect with it in a very personal way regardless of the individual genre. The man can sing it all and sing it beautifully. Well done, Mr. Boe. You are so much more than just a singer-- you, sir, are truly an Artist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALFIE, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
Alfie Boe sings songs that touch your soul and go straight to your heart, and his voice has the power to move you to tears. This cd is an incredible experience that goes beyond just listening, it surrounds you with beauty, grace, and joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe Continues to Impress, June 5, 2012
By 
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
Alfie Boe, often called Britain's favorite tenor, has risen to the ranks of being able to sell an album/CD using only his first name as a title. While to some that may suggest egotism, knowing Alfie Boe's stage presence and history of warmth with audiences where he performs it only can seem personal - a sense of honesty that doesn't require a lot of hoopla in order to sell a new release. On this new CD Boe (or should we simply refer to him as Alfie?!) offers a selection of beautiful tunes and songs, show tunes and standards, that he makes his own in his beautifully rich tenor voice and communicative singing.

As a tribute to the entire musical spectrum (he is known for opera such as 'La Boheme', light opera such as Les Misérables) he teams with Robert Plant of Led Zeppelin fame in 'Song to the Siren' and honors musical theater's brightest star Michael Ball in singing a duet from 'Les Misérables' - 'Empty Chairs and Empty Tables', the solo spot for Ball in the original London cast as Marius in 'Les Misérables'.

Alfie Boe's selection of songs is a solid one and one that will surely please the growing following this talented young tenor is gathering. The songs on this CD are as follows: ' Being Alive' from 'Company', 'Maria' from "West Side Story', 'When I Fall In Love', 'The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face', a lovely and gentle 'When You Wish Upon a Star' from Disney's film 'Pinocchio', 'Music of the Night' from 'Phantom of the Opera', 'Someone to Watch Over Me' from 'Oh, Kay!', 'Song to the Siren (with Robert Plant)', 'In My Daughter's Eyes' 'Empty Chairs and Empty Tables (with Michael Ball) from 'Les Misérables', 'Wheels of a Dream' from 'Ragtime', 'It Was a Very Good Year', and 'Who Am I' from 'Les Misérables.'
This is one of Alfie Boe's strongest releases to date and a very appropriate on for this season or any season. He can bring warmth into any home! Grady Harp, June 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
The voice of Alfie Boe is so special, it will take your breath away. He can sing anything from opera to rock & pop. Take a listen! This CD will immediately be the #1 on your playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfie could sing the telephone book..., June 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
I often get bored listening to an entire album, but I have this CD on repeat, and have listened to it since it was delivered earlier in the morning. Great sounding CD, and great selection of music! And, YES, he could sing the telephone book, and I would enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Alfie Boe" 101, June 14, 2012
By 
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
For those who wonder what all the noise is about perhaps introductions are in order:

Alfie Boe is a British tenor with a "Cinderella" backstory (if Cindy was at it for almost 20yrs). Alfie was working as a mechanic in a car factory, singing to relieve the boredom, when a customer suggested he audition for a London opera company. He took a chance, got hired for the chorus, toured for a year, and decided to get some real training. Attended the Royal College of Music (4 yrs), National Opera Studio, began singing in UK houses, entered the Royal Opera House's Young Artists' Program when Baz Lurhmann (yeah, the movie director) picked Alfie for the lead his Broadway production of La Boheme in 2002. The principle cast won a Tony.

Alfie toured with the Boston Pops, sang leads in practically every UK opera house, several in Europe, began recording. Then in 2010 Cameron Macintosh, the producer, chose him to play Jean Valjean in the concert celebrating the 25th anniversary of "Les Miserables." Alfie took some heat from the opera establishment for "lowering himself" by singing in a musical. The Les Mis crowd didn't agree. Mid-show standing ovations are extremely rare in musicals, Alfie got over 4 minutes. His career took off in England, and when the 25th Les Mis dvd played on PBS in the States, it took off here too.

Alfie has a motto, "There are only two kinds of music: good and bad. I just want to sing the good stuff." He's a fan of rock (Led Zep, Pink Floyd), roll (Elvis), gospel, blues, jazz, folk, country, musicals, standards, ballads, classical. With a marvelous voice and all that training, if he loves a song, and thinks his voice will suit it, he'll sing it.

It's been awhile since we've heard good, trained voices singing anything. Too many boy bands, pop stars that have to be autotuned, singers that use lush (or loud) arrangements to cover their defects. That's not what you'll hear on this cd. Alfie can power out a note, or turn as soft as a whisper. He has a gift for telling the story of a song, and I have rarely heard any artist pack so much emotion into his voice. There are no tricks here, no technical wizardry, it's a real voice.

So, try some samples, maybe download a song, I think you'll be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe's amazing gift!, June 12, 2012
By 
Janet Davis (Lincoln, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
I am so happy that Alfie Boe's music is now available in the US. He has one of the most amazing voices that I have heard in recent times! I love listening to every song, from Les Mis to opera, ballads, show tunes, and now even rock and jazz. He is able to sing them all with beauty and passion. This new album features a wide mix of amazing songs. He does indeed have a gift and I'm so glad that he's sharing it with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
Alfie Boe's cd "Alfie" is a music lovers dream. This man has a voice that far surpasses anyone in a long time. He has a way to connect with his listeners. You can feel his passion with each note as Alfie becomes one with a song; ESPECIALLY Being Alive or Bring Him Home. When he sings these songs you are brought to tears from the shear emotions he is experiencing. He does that with everything he sings.
Mr Boe is not afraid to try any gendre of music, there is good music in almost every avenue out there and I, for one, am looking forward to whatever this talented young man has to offer in the days, months and years ahead.
If you are a person who likes all types of music, I assure you that "Alfie" by Alfie Boe will be your new all time favorite cd.
Beverly Eagle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, June 9, 2012
By 
Mary M. McFarlane (Tucker, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alfie (Audio CD)
First, a disclaimer: I would rather have dental surgery than listen to anything considered "opera." So it's quite lucky for me that Alfie Boe is one of those rare creatures with a classically trained, incredible voice, and a desire to use it on a much more varied and interesting set list. He also has a great onstage personality and can use it to win over his audience and bring them with him to new (for the audience) kinds of music. Once you get to know his stage personality and skills, you want to see what else he can do. You want to follow his musical journey.
This particular video will appeal immensely to those who love his classical voice and musical theater repertoire, but it also showcases some of what we will likely see from him in the future: extensions into bluesy rock, folk, southern country-rock, etc. This is my favorite kind of singer: someone with fantastic skills and a open mind about music. Looking forward to much more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alfie
Alfie by Alfie Boe (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.