Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource to get you up to speed QUICKLY and efficiently with the TI89.
This is a great tool to quickly learn the ins and outs of the TI89. I have the Titanium but this will work even for the plain old TI89. Yes, you can read the manual and use TI's online resources but who has time for that? If you are going to be using this for Calculus including differential equations etc this is the fastest way to get the most out of your device...
Published on October 17, 2011 by Kersi Von Zerububbel

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb but Incomplete
Anything by Mathtutordvd will be sure to please but
in this case I am asking that the company put the
ENTIRE course on Amazon.

Specifically, This TI-89 Tutor is a two volume set
but you can only order vol.I on Amazon. Vol. II must
come from mathtutordvd.com. Why is that a problem?
Because you are charged $9.99US minimum for...
Published on May 28, 2011 by Andrew J. Perash


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource to get you up to speed QUICKLY and efficiently with the TI89., October 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
This is a great tool to quickly learn the ins and outs of the TI89. I have the Titanium but this will work even for the plain old TI89. Yes, you can read the manual and use TI's online resources but who has time for that? If you are going to be using this for Calculus including differential equations etc this is the fastest way to get the most out of your device. Excellent tool. Another home run by MathTutorDVD.

NOTE:
Some of the lettering on the video showing the calculator screens seems hazy. This is NOT because the video or its production is bad but because the screen resolution on the TI89 is abysmal. In fact there are many complaints, especially by older folks like myself, who find reading the TI89 menus a royal pain. But because the calculator does so much so well and because TI has a lock on the calculator market the TI89 is used extensively in educational circles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to use the ti-89 - start with volume 1, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
Jason is very clear and repeats when the going gets difficult. You can either sit and listen or work along with him. The two volumes together make an excellent coverage of how to use the ti-89, which is the most difficult calculator to learn to use I have ever come across, with an official manual that is very far from clear. There are all kinds of tips and tricks that you wouldn't find without these tutorials.
I have one caveat. Instructions for programming it are not included. Given how much the calculator can do there may have been an assumption that this is not necessary. At university level maths I need to be able to do my own thing. Please, Jason, write volume 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
For me being a hands on person watching this video is so much better than trying to figure out written instructions. Very clear and easy to follow! Excited to get started on learning not only this calculator but for my next math class. Then the other possibilties of down loading updated information. Thank you again for making life easier for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the complicated far less so., April 30, 2012
By 
Farty Baby (Halifax Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
These videos cover, item by item, most of what this calculator can do. Without tutorials like these I suspect that most math students are sitting down at exams not fully using the power of this calculator and thus not getting the highest marks. The videos are clear and nicely broken down so that each segment covers a single topic or closely related group of topics; thus making it easier to skip what you do know.
My use of the calculator prior to watching these videos was like having a car and not knowing that it had back seats, a trunk, or that the windows rolled down.
Many thanks to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well organized and clearly presented, September 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
I really enjoyed this DVD on the TI 89 calculator. The explanations of the various modes of the calculator are presented by the use of an animation of the calculator. You can work along with your Ti89 and get used to various menus. I find it much easier than trying to read the manual. I highly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The TI-89 is a great calcuator with a somewhat steep learning curve of its own., October 5, 2014
By 
Martin Katahn (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
This is a great way to learn how to fully use this calculator. I can highly recommend all the MathTutor products for high school and first year college math students. (Those are the DVDs I have actually watched and studied; I use it together with the Great Courses lectures on math.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product to learn from., January 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
I really enjoy math tutor DVD's. I probably own around 8 different videos from them. I definetly recommend giving them a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb but Incomplete, May 28, 2011
This review is from: Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1 (DVD)
Anything by Mathtutordvd will be sure to please but
in this case I am asking that the company put the
ENTIRE course on Amazon.

Specifically, This TI-89 Tutor is a two volume set
but you can only order vol.I on Amazon. Vol. II must
come from mathtutordvd.com. Why is that a problem?
Because you are charged $9.99US minimum for shipping.
Yikes!

The price for the dvds is the same for either site but
10 bucks to ship a $27 dvd is not right. If Jason can
afford to ship for free off Amazon than please put up
Vol II. All their stuff is so great.

Here's Hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Algebra and Graphing: TI-89 Calculator Tutor: Vol 1
$26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.