Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "When you listen to this album...
"...it's like you're reading a book about Ali..." With these words Toumani Diabaté opened his introduction to this, the last recording made with the late Ali Farka Touré. The eleven pieces on this exceedingly beautiful CD tell the story not only of the legendary blues man Ali Farka but of both virtuosi - Toumani at the kora and Ali Farka with the guitar -...
Published on March 23, 2010 by Friederike Knabe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not to bad ..
Good music if you like this sort of stuff.
Published 1 month ago by M Fitzgerald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "When you listen to this album..., March 23, 2010
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
"...it's like you're reading a book about Ali..." With these words Toumani Diabaté opened his introduction to this, the last recording made with the late Ali Farka Touré. The eleven pieces on this exceedingly beautiful CD tell the story not only of the legendary blues man Ali Farka but of both virtuosi - Toumani at the kora and Ali Farka with the guitar - and their close friendship and harmonious collaboration that evolved during the last years of Ali Farka's life.

Anybody who has enjoyed their individual music and recordings for many years and their first, outstanding, joint production of In the Heart of the Moon will want to add this album to their collection. Yet, newcomers to Mali music will find this set of mostly instrumental songs especially rewarding. The tunes, all rooted in the history of the different regions of Mali, are gentle and subtle and richly melodious. Their styles reflect their respective ethnic cultures: Ali comes from the northern Songraï and Toumani from a long line of (southern) Mandé griot tradition. As Toumani explains in the accompanying notes, the melodies have been "refined" over several sessions to perfection; they are the outcome of an ever deepening mutual understanding of the two artists and appreciation of their musical roots and talents. Some of the pieces, familiar to one or the other, had never been recorded before or not in this combination of instruments. Others, were developed ad hoc from traditional melodies and historical stories. All are rich and diverse and illustrate why Mali plays such an important role in West African music. It is impossible to choose a favourite or two. Listen to all of them, many times. A beautiful tribute indeed to both artists.

The recording was made in London and brought Orlando 'Cachaito' Lopez to join the two musicians on bass as well as Ali's son, Vieux Farka and his band for backup instruments and vocals. [Friederike Knabe]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ali & Toumani, May 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
For those who love World Music, this is the epitome. It combines virtuoso performances on both traditional African and modern western instruments. Music for ALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master class from Mali, May 18, 2013
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
This is the second recording collaboration between the late, great blues guitarist Ali Farka Toure (no. 76 in Rolling Stone's table of the `Greatest Guitarists of All Time') and Kora player Toumani Diabate, following-on from their 2005 Grammy winner `In the Heart of the Moon'. Both musicians are from Mali, which has produced a fruitful harvest of musical originality and inspired virtuosity these past 30 years unequalled anywhere else on Earth, and is where so much of the world's really interesting new music has originated.

This collection was released in 2010, following Toure's death from bone cancer in 2006. The sessions were recorded in London just weeks before Toure's death. Cuban bass player Orlando Lopez plays on many of the tracks, and the album was produced by Nick Gold.

If you're new to the music of Mali, this album is an excellent gateway of entry. The mostly instrumental tunes are subtle, complex and have a lightness of touch which simply brings joy to the heart. Many pieces are recorded for the first time with these instruments, so even natives of Mali familiar with the melodies may be surprised and delighted at the result.

Overall it's one sublime listening experience. The music possesses a rare delicacy and finesse; the musicians seem telepathic in the way of world-class jazz musicians, able to predict and follow each other to weave beguiling patterns and transport the listener to the heights of tranquillity.

If you like West African music then buying this should be a no-brainer. For my money it's even better than the Grammy winner `In the Heart of the Moon': this second collaboration is uniformly excellent with no flat spots, you can play it all day and all night long and never tire of it.

Recording and production values are exemplary. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kora Delight, May 13, 2010
By 
John Heselton (Nanaimo, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
This recording was the last one made by two of West Africa's pre-eminent folk instrumentalists, due to the death of Ali Farka Toure. Even though Ali was in great pain, the recording demonstrated sensitivity and a working relationship between the two men that was jazz-like in its inter-play. It is Diabate's kora that shines through with shimmering runs and inventive effects that will surely entrance the listener and will ease the commute to work effortlessly. A sample of the music may be heard at [...], the sponsors of both this recording and the previous 'In The Heart of the Moon' recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great talent, August 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this CD because of the samples I had heard. I thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful harmonies, melodies and refreshing sounds created by such talented and skilful artists. However I did find that towards the end of the CD it became a little monotonous. This impression may change with further playing. It is great music for attentive listening or as really pleasant background atmosphere. It will be one I will play regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, May 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
take two megastars with oodles of talent, put them together for their second outing, sit back and listen in awe! I cannot conceive of something better. A must-hear if not a must-purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow, nice music, June 4, 2010
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
This is a great mix of Kora (African harp) and Toure's memorable guitar. It seem like a jam session in it's ease and flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favorite in my African music collection, April 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album is a must if you like African music! And I think it could be good start for those who have some interest in African music, but didn't quite developed love to it yet.
It didn't came to me as surprise the quality of music resulted from collaboration of this two giants of African music. What surprised me the most is quality of recording, even this probably should be expected as well, since so many African leading musicians have recorded their albums in top studios in Europe in last 8-10 years.
I bought MP3 download from Amazon because I just absolutely needed to listen to entire album after previewing just 3 samples. I love it so much, I'm planning to buy CD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle music for gentle people, March 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
What beautiful music these two create together! I could listen for ever. I have it in my car for long journeys, and it's the ideal for background sweetness while I'm working at the computer. We've lost Ali forever, unfortunately, but this recording is the best-ever epitaph.
Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top drawer, November 27, 2010
This review is from: Ali & Toumani (Audio CD)
Anything you can get your hands on by these two guys is wonderful. Toumani's New Ancient Strings is not to be missed. This is their second and last album together and I couldn't pick one over the other. These guys make me want to go to Mali. Now Ali is gone but his son's second cd is just out and great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ali & Toumani
Ali & Toumani by Ali Farka Toure (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.