Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small Town Detective Tale
My friend tried to explain to me the tenets of deconstruction. The best I could get my head around it was using the theme of American Beauty, "look deeper". In this story Bendis takes small town America and puts it under the microscope revealing the ugliness inside. This is not a heartwarming story to give to the kids, but it is quite good.
Jessica Jones, former...
Published on March 10, 2003 by M. Illarmo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the series, but still great stuff
This volume, containing Alias issues 11-15, takes Jessica out of NYC and to a small town, in search of a runaway who may or may not be a mutant. It isn't about the mystery, though, so much as an opportunity for Bendis to explore Jessica's personality in a new environment. Throughout, we get glimpses of the runaway's journals, which have been lavishly illustrated by David...
Published on July 30, 2003 by Daniel R. Cassino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small Town Detective Tale, March 10, 2003
By 
M. Illarmo (Allston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
My friend tried to explain to me the tenets of deconstruction. The best I could get my head around it was using the theme of American Beauty, "look deeper". In this story Bendis takes small town America and puts it under the microscope revealing the ugliness inside. This is not a heartwarming story to give to the kids, but it is quite good.
Jessica Jones, former super hero turned private detective, is hired to investigate the disappearance of a 16 year old girl. The mother suspects the father harbored impure thoughts and is the culprit. Other suspects include her high school classmates or the always pleasant hate crime. What appears to be an easy case takes a quick turn to the messy by the end.
Fans of Bendis' work on Powers will like this story. Also the art features the unique style of main artist Michael Gaydos and contributions by David Mack and Mark Bagley. Alias "Come Home" is a tightly written and well executed detective story told in the back alleys of the Marvel Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small Town Detective Tale, March 10, 2003
By 
M. Illarmo (Allston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
My friend tried to explain to me the tenets of deconstruction. The best I could get my head around it was using the theme of American Beauty, "look deeper". In this story Bendis takes small town America and puts it under the microscope revealing the ugliness inside. This is not a heartwarming story to give to the kids, but it is quite good.
Jessica Jones, former super hero turned private detective, is hired to investigate the disappearance of a 16 year old girl. The mother suspects the father harbored impure thoughts and is the culprit. Other suspects include her high school classmates or the always pleasant hate crime. What appears to be an easy case takes a quick turn to the messy by the end.
Fans of Bendis' work on Powers will like this story. Also the art features the unique style of main artist Michael Gaydos and contributions by David Mack and Mark Bagley. Alias "Come Home" is a tightly written and well executed detective story told in the back alleys of the Marvel Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the series, but still great stuff, July 30, 2003
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
This volume, containing Alias issues 11-15, takes Jessica out of NYC and to a small town, in search of a runaway who may or may not be a mutant. It isn't about the mystery, though, so much as an opportunity for Bendis to explore Jessica's personality in a new environment. Throughout, we get glimpses of the runaway's journals, which have been lavishly illustrated by David Mack, and development of Jessica's potential boyfriend, Scott Lang (the second Ant-Man).
These aren't the best issues of Alias, or Bendis' best work, but they're still far better than most comics out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars weakest volume of one of the greatest series, December 12, 2010
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
From everything Bendis has written, Alias remains my favorite work by him. The dialogue is uncannily realistic, the plots are always filled to the brim with unbelievable suspense, and the characterization of the protagonist (P.I. Jessica Jones) is probably the strongest in comic book history. 'Come Home' marks the low-point in the series, telling the so-so story of a missing girl from a small conservative town. The premise starts out really strong, but gets weaker with each issue until the resolution hits with minimal impact. The only thing that really bothered me was that some things in this volume are extremely similar to Daredevil: Redemption, where Daredevil tries to solve the case of a murdered child. Even though DD: Redemption was written after Alias, it plays out a lot better than what happens in this volume.

This story's still pretty good, it just isn't up to par with the other collected volumes of Alias.

writing: [7/10]
art: [8/10]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, February 26, 2005
By 
Bingo Pajama (Miami, FL; USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
It is true tht Jessica Jones works best when she's in New York city; but even so, Bendis understands Jessica Jones so thoroughly, an she, herself, is such a compelling character that this is a non-issue.

This is a fairly short volume. Incidentally, there's an issue missing between the last trade paperback and this one. It's a stand-alone issue, and it has no effect on this issue. If this is an issue, I reccomend purchasing volumes two and three at the same time, as Alias #10 is the first issue in the "Underneath" trade paperback.

The artwork, of course, is as wonderful as ever. Gaydos' caracters, facial expressions, backgrounds, and inks are very perfectly suited to this book, and the coloring is great, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars meh., July 15, 2010
By 
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
This is one case where I was attracted to a title because of its creators--primarily the writer, Brian Michael Bendis--but became less enthused after experiencing the actual work. Alias is decent, but this volume in particular seemed rather self-indulgent and more about Big Important Issues than actual story. I don't deny that the Issues addressed are Big and Important, but the presentation here just didn't work for me. YMMV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Graphic SF Reader, September 2, 2007
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
More of the meltdown of Jessica Jones. This is definitely more of your Sex and the City type tale. Neurotic, messed up, needy, can't relate to anyone, and her super hero wannabe days are over. Are things spiralling out of control for the ex-Avenger? This is more of what happens in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALIAS IS AWESOME, May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alias Vol. 2: Come Home (Paperback)
This series is so great! The problems aren't about the end of the world, and that is awesome. Jessica Jones stole my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alias Vol. 2: Come Home
Alias Vol. 2: Come Home by Brian Michael Bendis (Paperback - February 24, 2003)
Used & New from: $9.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.