Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most honest, true to text interpretation yet!
For the person who didnt like that it didnt make sense to them, welcome to the concept of nonsense ("The dialogue is filled with non sequiturs" That is Lewis Carrolls text you are commenting on not this movie READ THE BOOK!)

I give this version top marks as it is the only version ive seen that is so faithful to Lewis Carrolls text. The nonsensical situations...
Published on April 10, 2005 by Mr. D. Dwyer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Kate Beckinsale Is Alice in “Alice Through the Looking Glass," Most (Storywise) Faithful Adaptation
Kate Beckinsale, Selene of the “Underworld” series, is Alice in “Alice Through the Looking Glass,” a 1998 made-for-TV movie based on a book by Lewis Carroll, or Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, published in 1871. If I remember correctly, Alice is “seven and a half”-years-old, but anyway, I didn’t hate the idea of Kate Beckinsale playing...
Published 13 months ago by Tsuyoshi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most honest, true to text interpretation yet!, April 10, 2005
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
For the person who didnt like that it didnt make sense to them, welcome to the concept of nonsense ("The dialogue is filled with non sequiturs" That is Lewis Carrolls text you are commenting on not this movie READ THE BOOK!)

I give this version top marks as it is the only version ive seen that is so faithful to Lewis Carrolls text. The nonsensical situations and conversations work perfectly without any actor having to go overboard with silliness. Many versions annoy me as the actors feel that have to act as daft and 'mad, totally mad' as they can. No need! the material is weird enough. This version feels weirder as a result cos the actors play it down a bit and act as if everything is as it should be when it clearly isnt.

The Alice stories were not all happy happy bouncy silly madness. Specifically, Through the Looking Glass has a dark edge to the insanity. And no songs is quite refreshing.

Oh and read the book, there is no plot, Alice is trying to reach the final square to become queen. If this is too challanging, forget Svankmejers version and go straight to the Disney infant friendly version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Disney version..., June 13, 2006
By 
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
Finally a film version that follows the actual book. This movie inspired me to re-read the original. Beautiful filming and entertaining. The only part that threw me was the teenage actress in place of the 7 1/2 yr-old character, though the actress does a very good job. My 7 1/2 yr-old son also enjoyed the film; he was glued to the set for the entire 86 minutes (perhaps because we read Through the Looking-Glass to him last year). However, my 4 yr-old daughter was not interested in the least. This is not a "Disney" production, or even an American film, so don't expect the dumbed-down sparkling simplicity that we have been spoon-fed for so long. A very enjoyable film for an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Necessarily a Children's Film, November 9, 2005
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
I actually thought that I would never find this on DVD. I saw a snippet of the film on television and was blown away! Finally somebody did a slightly twisted yet faithful version of the story. The casting was great too, especially Ian Holm as the White Knight who doesn't look like the Knight from the book but makes you believe he is the White Knight. Geoffrey Palmer is a great choice for the White King and I loved how the costumes at times looked vaguely Seussian.

There are a few moments in the film ("Walrus and the Carpenter", the Train Ride, "Jabberwocky" and the Finale) that are actually rather unsettling at times and might scare younger viewers, so I suggest that Parents watch this film first to gauge whether their child could watch it and not be frightened.

I wish this production team had done the previous Alice story as well. Top Notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect adaptation, perfect acting, perfect direction. What more could you want?, June 16, 2006
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
First I have to say that this movie is first and foremost, a movie for Lewis Carroll fans. If you loved the Disney version or that awful new ABC version, don't watch this one, you won't like it. This is for those who read the books and appreciate the concept of nonsense.

It's done more beautifully than one could expect from a TV production (of course, it's not just TV, it's BBC).

All the acting in this movie is perfect in my opinion. Everyone fits perfectly in their roles, with a special mention of Sir Ian Holm who, at least for me, became the White Knight. His portrayal is so touching it brings me to tears everytime. Interesting trivia is that he played Lewis Carroll himself in a lovely movie called "Dreamchild".

Kate is wonderful in her role, and to be honest, I'd much rather have a grown woman from Britain playing Alice than an american girl trying to fake an accent.

If you read the book and liked it, this is an absolute must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to book, and much more., November 11, 2005
By 
D. VanArsdale (Lompoc, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
Some reviewers complain about confusing dialogue in this production, but most of it is word for word from the book. This film will transport you to a magical fairy land where you will be guided by a beautiful red haired enchantress, or ... it wont. And you don't have to have ever taken LSD to appreciate it, I suppose. Not every scene works for me - notably Tweedledee and Tweedledum's too fast recitation of "The Walrus and the Carpenter," barely audible over a blues guitar. Otherwise these two "boys," who look like aging runaways from Clockwork Orange, deliver well. Overall the performances are charming and suitable for both children and adults. And there are luminous garden landscapes, dreamlike enclosures and mysterious halls. Kate Beckinsale as Alice is vulnerable at times, assertive at others, and always strikingly attractive. You don't have to feel guilty being attracted, since in the movie she plays the role of a young mother who has gone through the mirror in her daughter's bedroom. True, she does age regress in the process, and even cries for childlike reasons in a couple scenes. But neither role nor wardrobe make you see her as a child for very long. She is a real dream girl whose presence would make a nightmare joyous. If you like the Alice books you will probably like this film and will watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An English great...extended with an English Beauty, February 11, 2006
By 
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
I have to say I have always been a fan of the original book, and this movie (though outlandish) is just like the book. It has that imaginary flare with the appeal of modern twists. Like the book it is surreal and playful, with yet had a philsophical side.

Ian Holm (aka Bilbo Baggins) gives an excellent flare to my favorite poem from the book, which I was pleased to hear, "A-Sitting on a gate." He adds a distinct take on the poem I had never heard before.

Kate Beckinsale (Kate Beckin-saul) makes a great appearence as a grown up Alice. Though it is vague why she is Alice and not a child, to explain, she is reading to her daughter and falls into the book herself. The ending poem was magnificant with Kate's voice mingling with the child's in that wonderful English tone, in which all Alice should sound like. She made me wish that she did a reading of the book for purchase!

My only question while watching the film was, where is it filmed? One might assume UK, but sometimes they film in New Zealand..and though I lived there and know everything New Zealand I am still unsure. The one large tree towards the end of the film looking quite familar. Does anyone know?

If you have any ideas, please contact me.

And have fun falling through the looking glass.

L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Adaptation, September 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
This is the best adaptation of Carroll's masterpiece I've seen yet. The cast is supurb and even though Alice is a tad older than 7 1/2, Kate Beckinsale is supurb in the role. The rest of the cast is exceptional as well. The dialogue is straight from the book and has all the sparkle and punch of the original. In my mind, this adaptation leaves the others in the dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Alice Movie that Really Gets it, February 4, 2009
By 
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
No, this is not 100% true to the book. Obviously not, since it starts in the present and stars an adult Alice. But it is one of the few Alices that keeps to the events of the one book, instead of blending both, and it is the only one I have seen to successfully convey the absurdism, the surrealism, the silliness, and the disturbing qualities--as well as the occasional touching moments. The movie is worth seeing if only for Ian Holm's beautifully melancholy rendition of "A-Sitting on a Gate" (or whatever the song is called!). Yes, the filmmakers clearly spent all their money on their cast, and not much on sets and special effects, but they supply in imagination what they lack in budget. (Original review April 2007)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Alice Movie that Really Gets It, April 20, 2007
By 
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
No, this is not 100% true to the book. Obviously not, since it starts in the present and stars an adult Alice. But it is one of the few Alices that keeps to the events of the one book, instead of blending both, and it is the only one I have seen to successfully convey the absurdism, the surrealism, the silliness, and the disturbing qualities--as well as the occasional touching moments. The movie is worth seeing if only for Ian Holm's beautifully melancholy rendition of "A-Sitting on a Gate" (or whatever the song is called!). Yes, the filmmakers clearly spent all their money on their cast, and not much on sets and special effects, but they supply in imagination what they lack in budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an Enchanting Fantasy, December 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice Through the Looking Glass (DVD)
I think the Brits really made an enchanting fantasy tale here (I prefer this one to Hollywood's efforts). All the British voices are especially elegant and persuasive (never overdone)- and witty. Older actors are good here, as often in British TV shows (Americans seem to insist on the younger). I liked the music on the soundtrack (especially with the end credits), and found Kate Beckinsale absolutely lovely, and nice as Alice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alice Through the Looking Glass
Alice Through the Looking Glass by John Henderson (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: $0.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.