Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous -- a fantastic addition to any Carroll lover's bookshelf
This facsimile of Lewis Carroll's original handwritten <em>Alice in Wonderland</em> is beautifully done. The printing is high quality on glossy paper, making it easy to read the handwriting and enjoy the illustrations. The colors used in the original manuscript appear to be preserved throughout. Even the cover is more attractive than I expected; the book is...
Published on August 17, 2009 by M. Gibbs

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Original
Before it was published for all the world to read as "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", the original adventure story had been written up and given to Alice Liddell as "Alice's Adventures under Ground". Lewis Carroll (a.k.a Reverend Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) had promised to write it for her after telling the story on the "golden afternoon" on July 4th, 1862 and which...
Published on July 26, 2009 by Dave_42


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous -- a fantastic addition to any Carroll lover's bookshelf, August 17, 2009
By 
M. Gibbs (Northfield, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile (Hardcover)
This facsimile of Lewis Carroll's original handwritten <em>Alice in Wonderland</em> is beautifully done. The printing is high quality on glossy paper, making it easy to read the handwriting and enjoy the illustrations. The colors used in the original manuscript appear to be preserved throughout. Even the cover is more attractive than I expected; the book is cloth-bound, which didn't show up well in the photos.

Facsimiles made with such care are hard to come by, especially at this price. As the last reviewer pointed out, this manuscript does differ a bit from the version that was eventually published, but for most people interested in facsimiles, that's not a negative factor. Buy this along with a copy of the original published version and make your bookshelf happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile, February 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful, small, hand written and hand illustrated short book by Lewis Carroll of his original story about Alice's adventures as told to Alice Liddell. The interesting introduction contains photos of Alice and her sisters.
This little treasure makes a great present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile - Product Review, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile (Hardcover)
I like the fact that this is an earlier edition and that it shows what the original Alice in Wonderland (originally called Alice's Adventures Under Ground) really looked like. This is a facsimile of the original that is in the British Library. A lot of the characters that appear in the modern Alice in Wonderland do not exist in the original version. I had the privilege of seeing the original document at the British Library when I visited London several years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Alice! Wonderful Carroll!, August 25, 2010
By 
M. Lagos (Tegucigalpa MDC, Honduras) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile (Hardcover)
This books is so beautiful. I bought it because I saw the 2008 Folio Society edition, and I wanted it so bad, but the price did me no fair fight, so I ended up wishing it. When I saw this one I asked myself if it would be a good-quality book, and, to my surprise I was stunned at how wonderful the facsimile pages looked, and how it felt (and smelled). If you like Carroll's Alice and would like to see ITS ORIGINAL VERSION (for you see it's not Alice's Adventures in Wonderland but Under Ground), then, THIS IS A MUST!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any Alice in Wonderland fan, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile (Hardcover)
This is a must have for any Alice in Wonderland fan. Beautiful facsimile with a great back story. Perfect fit in my Alice in Wonderland collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Original, July 26, 2009
This review is from: Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile (Hardcover)
Before it was published for all the world to read as "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", the original adventure story had been written up and given to Alice Liddell as "Alice's Adventures under Ground". Lewis Carroll (a.k.a Reverend Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) had promised to write it for her after telling the story on the "golden afternoon" on July 4th, 1862 and which Dodgson wrote down and gave to Alice on November 26th, 1864. The original story was shorter than "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", and is missing such key characters as the Mad Hatter, the March Hare, and the Cheshire Cat. And yet despite these missing pieces, there is still a wondrous adventure within these pages.

The first couple of chapters are very similar to the published version, though there are differences. Alice still follows the rabbit into its burrow, and still falls into the depths of the Earth. The mysterious table with the key on it, the food and drink with the instructions to eat and drink, and the tiny door which leads into the garden that Alice desperately wants to get through are all still part of the story. The short four-chapter book also still takes us to the croquet match, the mock-turtle and finishes with the trial, though in abbreviated form.

The foundations are there for the published version, but this shorter version is clearly not up to the level of what was to come. Nevertheless, it makes for an interesting look at the development of the stories which have become world famous and still delight readers of all ages. This version only merits three stars on its own, so I would suggest finding a volume which includes it with the others which allows the reader to look at the story to see how the adventures developed, but still provides the final products with all their fabulous stories intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile
Alice's Adventures Under Ground: A Facsimile by Lewis Carroll (Hardcover - February 15, 2009)
$24.95 $18.95
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.