Customer Reviews

1,054
4.6 out of 5 stars
Alien [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$10.84 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

472 of 492 people found the following review helpful
on March 29, 2000
Format: DVD
Amazon's reviewer calls this movie overrated and drawn out, while the Leonard Maltin movie guide review seems a bit baffled that some people like this kind of entertainment. Don't listen to either of them. Alien is, quite simply, one of the best movies ever made in both the sci-fi and horror genres. Those who complain that the film takes too long to get going suffer from some kind of cinematic attention span disorder; Ridley Scott draws his scenes out because he wants to build tension and establish a sense of realism before introducing H.R. Giger's terrifying creation. Unfortunately we can all see that the monster is just a guy in a suit during the closing sequences when Scott finally lets us see what the big slimy nemesis really looks like, but otherwise the film hasn't aged a bit since it came out two decades ago. The DVD is great too, with excellent picture quality and a really great commentary track, despite some disastrously inappropriate menu screens (the interfaces are all CG-rendered glitz, which really doesn't go with a movie known for its slow, elegant, quiet suspense). Anyone with any interest in horror or science fiction films in general should pick up this classic immediately.
3535 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
139 of 147 people found the following review helpful
on January 19, 2004
Format: DVD
"Alien" is one of the most intense Sci-Fi thrillers to have ever graced the silver screen or the home theater in any format! It is the film's intensity that provides such an incredible draw to this extraordinary film. If you're looking for a lot of action, this film is not really what you're looking for; "Aliens" is where the intensity and action comes into play in the line of Alien movies; the whole theme behind "Alien" is to scare to pants off of you with extremely intense scenes and if you've never seen this movie before, it may very well do just that! Never before in the history of this genre had there been a film of this magnitude and few have matched it in it's intensity since.
Now, with this latest release, fans of "Alien" are treated to the best release of this film yet. The very first thing you'll notice when you put this DVD into your player is that you have the option of playing either the 1979 Theatrical Release or a 2003 Director's Cut. The 2003 Director's Cut is preceded by an interesting introduction by Ridley Scott himself. This cut is put together seamlessly and the additions to the film add just that much more flavor to the film, making it that much better. The only downside to this edition and I believe this just stems from the time in which this film was made, was the audio. Despite having the options of THX and 5.1 Dolby Surround or 5.1 DTS, the audio playback just isn't what it should be.
Copious amounts of credit and accolades go to the incredible cast for this outstanding cinematic treasure! Although I wouldn't go so far as to say that "Alien" is "the" movie that made Sigourney Weaver a star, I would say that it was the one that made her a superstar! And since the release of this film and the following three in the Alien legacy, she will forever be known for these roles and probably very few others, except maybe her role in "Ghostbusters."
Director Ridley Scott, who has directed some of the most influential films in just over the past quarter century, deserves high praise and acclaim for "Alien" and the direction he took this film in. There are several directors out there that may have made as many or more films than he has but few have enjoyed the success he has had and a lot of that success can be directly attributed to the work he did on this film!
The Premise:
Although never clearly defined as to when, it is the future and America has expanded Earth's atmosphere and is sending mining ships out there... The Nostromo, a civilian mining vessel is making the return trip home from an expedition and the crew is in cryo-freeze for the trip home but "Mother" the ships computer wakes them up to investigate what appears to be an alien SOS message.
As the crew goes through the necessary steps to investigate the signal on a small planetoid, the tension builds right to the moment that Kane (John Hurt) is deep within the bowels of the alien ship and is leaning over what appears to be an egg...
What follows from there is most certainly one of the most intense Sci-Fi thrillers ever to have been brought to the silver screen. I highly recommend this exceptional film to any and all who're fans of movies in this genre. {ssintrepid}
Special Features:
For those that have been waiting for a special edition DVD of "Alien" with all of the bells and whistles, this edition is most assuredly it!
-1979 Theatrical Version (Deleted/Extended Scene Index) (Alien Vs. Predator Teaser Trailer)
-2003 Director's Cut (Ridley Scott Introduction) (Deleted Footage Marker)
-Full Length Audio Commentary with Director Ridley Scot, Writer Dan O'Bannon, Executive Producer Ronald Shusett, Editor Terry Rawlings, Actors; Sigourney Weaver, Tom Skerritt, Veronica Cartwright, Harry Dean Stanton and John Hurt (Both Versions) +
-Behind the Scenes Featurettes:
*"Star Beast: Developing the Story"
*"The Visualists: Direction and Design"
*"Truckers in Space: Casting"
*"Future Tense: Music and Editing"
*"Outward Bound: Visual Effects"
*"A Nightmare Fulfilled: Reaction to the Film"
*"Fear of the Unknown: Shepperton Studios, 1978"
*"The Darkest Reaches: Nostromo and Alien Planet"
*"The Eighth Passenger: Creature Design"
*"The Chestburster" Multi-Angle Sequence with Optional Commentary by Ridley Scott
-Sigourney Weaver Screen Test with Optional Commentary by Ridley Scott
-Still Photo Galleries
-Deleted & Extended Scenes
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
129 of 143 people found the following review helpful
Format: VHS Tape
ALIEN received mixed reviews when it debuted in 1979--largely from science fiction critics, who accused it of being little more than a sort of "Friday the 13th in Outer Space," a blood-and-gore horror flick given a futuristic twist via some problematic special effects. But while these accusations have more than a little truth, it has been an incredibly influential film--and even today, in the wake of CGI effects, it still holds up extremely, extremely well.
The story is well known: the crew of an interstellar craft responds to what seems a distress signal, only to encounter a remarkably lethal alien life form that boards their ship and sets about picking them off one by one. Some of the special effects are weak (the alien spacecraft and the android "revival" are fairly notorious). There is little in the way of character development, the film has a fairly slow pace, and the story itself is predictable; you can usually guess who is going to die next.
BUT. The art designs are incredible: the entire look of the film, from the commercial nature of the spacecraft to the iconographic alien itself (brilliantly envisioned by Giger) is right on the money. Director Ridley Scott encouraged his cast to ad lib from the script, and the result is a shocking sense of realism--and the somewhat slow pace of the film and the predictablity of the story gives it a sense of relentless and ever-mounting paranoia that is greatly enhanced by the tight sets and camera set-ups. With its odd mixture of womb-like organics and cold mechanics, ALIEN is a film calculated to send even the most slightly claustrophobic viewer into a fit of hysteria.
The entire cast, led by Tom Skerrit and Sigorney Weaver, is very, very good--and the film abounds with memorable images and scenes ranging from John Hurt's encounter with the alien egg to Skerrit's search of the ship air ducts to Weaver's terrifying race against time as the ship counts down to self-destruct. Seldom has any film been so consistent in design, cast, direction, and out-and-out fear factor, and although certain aspects of ALIEN are open to legitimate criticism the end result is powerful enough to bring it in at a full five stars. A word of warning, however: you'll need to send the kids to bed for this one. And you'll probably be up half the night afterward yourself! Recommended.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
on January 1, 2007
Format: DVD
At least not in the sci-fi genre. I saw ALIEN at the age of 14 for the first time up on the big screen. And although I never actually found the film scary, even at 14 years old, this film put a whammy on me so bad It made me watch it at least five more times that summer (when I could convince an adult to take me).
I was pulled in by the ultra high sense of realism. This film almost feels like a documentary because of a lot of the subtle hand-held camera work (read; not like the shaky, seizure inducing handheld work of today's films). There's much going on in that film that was revolutionary for the time. Great ideas, design, cinematography, subtle, VERY realistic performances.
Some people knock it for not having complex characters, whatever. It's not that kind of movie. ALIEN works on a completely visceral level. You're along for the ride, not to get to know anyone. You want that, go rent the "French Lieutenants Woman" with Meryl Streep.
It also amazes me how well visually this movie still holds up. It feels as rich and deep cinematically as most anything today due to Ridley Scott's brilliant visuals. You watch this film at certain points and it feels as slick and polished as any current genre film without the hollowness or incompetence. I can't say the same for Star Wars which has 1970's written all over it but was released a mere two years earlier.
I 've also noticed some of the less than appreciative reviews here. Most of the people who don't seem to care for it are people under the age of 25. Don't listen to them. It just clearly shows what most people already know for fact: Younger people nowadays get bored easy as hell and have the attention span of a garden slug.
If somoene isn't getting their teeth kicked in by Jason Statham while he flips backwards over a car speeding at him at a hundred miles an hour while simultaneously taking out three other bad guys with the twin Russian assault rifles cleverly concealed in his dinner jacket they're bored.
Sad but true.
I say screw that. Anyone who considers themselves a true cinephile or movielover has no excuse to not in some way appreciate what is arguably one of the most influential and imitated genre movie of modern times.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
on May 30, 2003
Format: DVD
Many have tried and failed to repeat its success, but nothing can beat the masterpiece that is Alien. Unleashed at cinemas in 1979, the film is a flat-out classic sci-fi horror flick, using extreme moments of suspense to build up the scary scenes. Directed by Ridley Scott, the film is a ground-breaking classic that still holds up amazingly well today, and made an international superstar if Sigourney Weaver.

In Alien, the terror begins when the crew of the spaceship Nostromo are instructed to investigate a transmission from a desolate planet, as they are on their way back home to Earth. Upon their arrival, they make a horrifying discovery - a life form that attaches itself to the victims face, using it as a host before breeding inside the body. The life form then removes itself, waiting for the young it has planted inside the human victim to be born and explode through the stomach. A gruesome description indeed, which is why the film is so brilliant. The alien is now on board the spaceship after it exploded through the stomach of one of the spaceship's crew, all because the remaining crew foolishly let him back on board. It's now up to the crew to stop this alien menace, and fight not only for their own survival, but the survival of all mankind.

Sigourney Weaver stars as Ellen Ripley in her film debut role. Weaver is absolutely perfect for the role, and was practically the first girl-power type female heroine who single-handedly carries this international blockbuster right through until the final minutes. John Hurt also plays Kane to excellent effect, especially in his death scene as he frantically wriggles on the table with the alien inside him. Harry Dean Stanton is brilliant as Brett, as is Tom Skerritt as Dallas. Yaphet Kotto is also perfectly cast as Parker, who provides many on-screen laughs. Veronica Kartwright (who later went on to star in The X-Files some 20 years later) stars as the loveable Lambert, the only other female member of the crew along with Ripley. Ian Holm as Ash is absolutely brilliant in his role as the android secretly sent on board to bring back the alien life-form, while - in his eyes, and "Mother's" - all other crew members are expendable. The acting in this film is really first-rate, which is another big factor in why the film works so well.

Many scenes from Alien are classics, and are all equally scary. The first really scary scene we witness is when Kane investigates the egg in which the life-form is waiting to spring out onto his face. The noise it makes is enough to give anyone nightmares, and the deathly silence that proceeds after the event is truly eerie. The first extremely shocking scene we get is when the alien explodes from Kane's stomach. The noises it makes, and the screams of pain and terror from the crew members is most disturbing, rivalling anything previously set in horror films such as the scenes from The Exorcist. Ripley's confrontation with the robot Ash is truly terrifying. After she discovers exactly why he is on board and what the truth behind their the mission, he tries to kill her, by blocking all the exits in the spaceship. It's only when the remaining crew (those who haven't been killed off by the alien) come to her rescue that Ash reveals his true self, spinning around the room with white liquid exploding from every orifice. Before long, Ripley is the only surviving member of the crew. On her own, she proves herself to be a true action hero as she finally defeats the alien on board.

All in all, Alien is a terrific sci-fi horror movie that plays with your senses incredibly well. Nothing happens for the first 30 minutes, and that is exactly the director's intent. By doing so, a feeling of extreme suspense is instantly formed, leaving you on the edge of your seat until the very end. When you think of the film when not watching it, you'll think of the long corridors and the eerie silence that stalks them, as these are the scenes that you remember most vividly because of the suspense created.

I urge anyone who hasn't seen Alien to pick up a copy and watch it today, because you really are missing out on a landmark film that redefined the way people think of space, and the horror movie genre in general. As they say, "In Space, No One Can Hear You Scream."
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2004
Format: DVD
Sporting a top notch transfer, the latest edition of Alien out classes the original DVD release from 1999. There are a couple of major differences between the two releases. First, the "extended branching" edition or Director's Cut is a minute shorter than the original film. How can that be with 5 new scenes/alterations? Well, Scott went through the original and pruned a minute here or a couple of seconds there. It wasn't that he was displeased with his original version (in fact, he prefers it)but was given the option by Fox to revisit and make an alternate version if you like. Both versions have their merits the major differences are as follows:
1) There's a scene included where the crew actually listen to the "distress" signal. This was available as a deleted scene previously on the laserdisc edition but wasn't integrated into the final film until now. The scene offers a couple of nice character moments and the broadcast itself adds to the eerie mood.
2)While working on Kane in the infirmery, Parker confronts Ripley about her decision to keep them from coming into the ship. She slaps her and they have a brief scuffle. There's also additional comments from Parker.
3) Brent's abduction by the Alien. The scene is longer here and we see Lambert and Parker as they run in after hearing Brent's screams. It's a creepy scene particularly when Brent's blood rains down from above on Lambert.
4)Ripley discovers what the Alien has been doing with Brent and Dallas. It's always been assumed by many fans that the Alien was eating them. This brings a whole new level of horror. Scott has gone on record as liking the scene but cutting it because it A)brought the film to a stand still because of its power and 2) it disrupted the flow and pacing of the original film's conclusion. While both points are true to an extent, it slows it down just long enough to digest (pardon the pun) the truly horrible thing that has happened to the crew.
5)The scene where Ripley encounters the Alien while going back for Jonesy is longer by about 10 seconds. We see the Alien look at the cat in its cage curiously before swatting it aside as if it was unworthy of its attention. To me this demonstrated an intelligence that was only hinted at in other scenes. The Alien recognizes that the creature won't be of any useful purpose.
The original Alien is also included and it, along with the Director's Cut, looks stunning. Scott supervised a digital clean up and restoration from the original negative. Both were then transferred from a high definition video master. The film still retains its dark look without the murky image quality that marred the previous edition.
There's supplementary sections dedication to pre-production which includes Dan O'Bannon's original script for Star Beast as well as pre-production drawings prepared by Mobieus, Ron Cobb and Chris Foss. While there are many details that differ from the final script (which was rewritten by director/producer/writer Walter Hill and his partner David Giler), the basic structure and overall feel is so similar to the final film that there's no doubt who the true author of the script was.
There's also interviews with O'Bannon, Ron Shuset (who helped O'Bannon with the original story), Giler (although curiously no Hill)and others. O'Bannon's comments are particularly interesting (as is his essay before the script)where he discusses the genesis of the idea. With tongue firmly in cheek he states he stole the idea from everyone he could--from The Thing, the obvious source It! The Terror Beyond Space, Forbidden Planet and even his own script Dark Star. Looking at the film, you can see these were all influences on the final product but it's still, uniquely, O'Bannon's script with many of the hallmarks that show up in other scripts he has written.
Production illustrators/designers Ron Cobb, H. R. Giger and others are also interviewed as is editor Terry Rawlings and, of course, Ridley Scott.
Production also includes interesting comments from optical effects director Brian Johnson. Evidently, Scott did go back and reshoot some of the opticals himself because he wanted to oversee as much as he could. He would "purposely" change his mind about the color of the ship, etc. so that it would have to be redone and, the implication is, he could direct the scenes himself.
The section on Post-Production includes pictures of the premiere with the props on display. Sadly, vandels destroyed some of these props shortly after the premiere. There's also a discussion on the critical reaction of the film.
The commentary track has bits and pieces of Scott, Weaver, the rest of the cast (with the exception of Kotto and Holm). It's very informative and provides interesting insights into the film's production.
What's missing:
The original Alien DVD release had Goldsmith's isolated score plus an alternate music track which included bits and pieces of Goldsmith's unused score (portions of the score were replaced by Scott and Rawlings by Goldsmith's score for Freud and Howard Hanson's Romantic Symphony). Sadly, Fox couldn't get permission to use these for some reason (I'd think that Fox owns them but I could be wrong). Perhaps too much money was involved or space on the DVD itself wasn't available.
Personally, I'd purchase this two disc set in a heartbeat. It's got the best looking transfer of Alien I've seen on home video with little to no edge enhancement issues and a beautifully crisp and colorful print. I am keeping my original 1999 disc because the differences between them may make it a collectible.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on May 14, 1999
Format: DVD
It appears that both Leonard Maltin and Marshall Fine are bias against one of the best fim directors ever: Ridley Scott!! As you can see, Maltin discredited Alien for its violence, but if you look up James Cameron's sequel, Aliens which was far more violent, he loved it! And how did Marshall fine watch the film, in slow motion?! His claim that the film takes too long to kick into gear is an utter lie! Even before the Alien pops out of John Hurt's stomach the film is set up masterfully by Scott, who keeps the anticipation and tension on a knife edge, before the fast action really begins, and when it does, the film is damn scary!! Also a message to Chris Coleman and the viewer form Tennessee: without Alien, there would have been no Event Horizon!! This is a landmark film in all respects: sci-fi, suspence, art direction, acting and story. This film, like some of Scott's other classics such as Blade Runner and Thelma and Louise, owns a key trademark for a classic film: one that has been copied many times, yet has never been bettered! Brilliant!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2000
Format: VHS Tape
In Space, No One Can Hear You Scream....Those are the exact words to the slogan that attracted movie-goers to this masterpiece of science fiction and horror. British director Ridley Scott brings us an excellent story that deals with the unknown. With frightening and terrifying results. One could say that it has elements of John Carpenter's Halloween in it. In a way it does. But in this case, we are not dealing with a psychopathic or sociopathic killer with supernatural tendencies. We are dealing with something alien (no pun intended).
With a superb cast that consists of Tom Skerritt, Sigourney Weaver(in her first role), Veronica Cartwright, Harry Dean Stanton(a Kentucky native), British actors John Hurt and Ian Holm, and veteran method actor Yaphett Kotto, the film tells the story about the seven crew members of a commercial starship that recieves a transmission from an alien planet, while returning to Earth. As per compnay orders, they set down on the planet to investigate. What they find there is an old derelict starship and the fossilized remians of its crew. They also find alien spores/eggs that releases a creature that hugs to a persons' face and implants an embryo inside its victims. When one of the crew members finds an egg, he sufferes the aforementioned fate. When the embryo explodes out of the crewmembers thorax in a bloody scene, the terror begins. For now an alien is running loose on the starship and killing off the crew members one by one. Another shocking event is that the company that the crew works for has put them in this situation because they wanted the alien for its bio-weapons division. In the end, it comes down to a showdown between the last surviving crewmember and the alien. And the results are most horrifying, if not explosive.
This movie is defiantely a classic! A successful fusion of science fiction and horror. All the cast members give excellent performances. Ian Holm gives a remarkable performance as Science Officer Ash, a crewman who is actually revealed to be an android in an unexpected plot twist. Yaphet Kotto gives an explosive if not sarcastic performance as the ill-fated engineer Parker (his death scene as well as Veronica Cartwright's is the most intense and frightening). Cartwright's performance is very convincing as her character becomes hysteric and frightened by the turn of events. And finally, Sigourney Weaver turns in a powerful performance as the iron-willed Warrant Officer Ripley. A woman who holds the fate of the human race in her hands.
ALIEN not only has wonderful special effects(courtesy of 2001 and Space:1999 alumni Brian Johnson and Nick Allder), great costumes, an excellent plot, superb actors, spectacular set design(courtesy of Swiss Artist H.R.Giger), and a wonderful,if not frightening design for the alien itself, it is a truly wonderful movie that relies on the audiences imagination. One that allows suggestibility to enter the audiences minds instead of actually showing some of the violent moments in the film. The soundtrack by Jerry Goldsmith is superb and haunting. And Scott's direction even better. Many of the cast members read parts of the script during the shooting, and some did not know the fate of their characters until it was too late. They did not even see the actor in the alien costume until the scene where Stanton's character was killed off was filmed. No one even knew about the chestburster scene with John Hurt until it was filmed as well. These actual moments in filming the movie are the actors real responses. Not acting. But for real. It was this secrecy, close attention to detail, and the unique script that added to the surprising plot twists in the film. Most of the actors actions in the film are reactions to some unexpected events. That is what makes a good film. Suggestibility and unpredictability.
ALIEN is as intense and violent, if not disturbing as The Exorcist and Halloween. It plays on your senses and does an extremely good job of terrifying its audience. If you want good science fiction and horror, this is the film to watch. I just wish ITC Entertainment distributed this film(seeing as how it was made at Shepperton Studios in England).
Interesting trivia notes: Harrison Ford was once approached to play the role of Captain Dallas in the film, yetvturned it down. He wuld work with Ridley Scott again on another science fiction classic. Blade Runner.
Yaphet Kotto had developed a deep dislike for the tall actor playing the alien, and a fight almost broke between them. Which would explain his character's intense hostility towards the alien and why he wanted to kill it. Very convincing acting on Mr. Kotto's part.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2006
Format: DVD
I first saw this movie at the movie theater when it came out. I was 14. My dad had to buy the ticket for me because it was rated R. Being a SciFi buff I was all psyc'd up to see it and had been anticipating it's release. I'd read all of the pre-release hype I could absorb from Starlog Magazine (do they still publish that?). When I got into the theater I sat right up front, right in the middle. I was lucky (or unlucky as the case may be) to see it in 70mm Dolby, which was a big deal back in 1979. The screen was extra large and curved for the ultimate surround experience of the time. From the moment of the opening credits I was utterly taken aback and awed by the haunting visuals and eerie soundtrack. The tone and subdued pacing were totally unexpected. The space shots and interior of the spaceship were, for the time, uncharacteristically realistic and absolutly compelling. I was utterly and totally pulled into this movie's world like I have never been since. This movie seems to polarize it's audience. Either you get pulled in totally, or you are completely bored. I truly feel sorry for the people falling into the latter category. It's a once in a lifetime experience to be so completely absorbed and TERRIFIED. By the time this movie got rolling I was so frightened I had to close my eyes, cover my ears, and even hummmed to block out the sound! What happened to me was a once in a lifetime experience. I guess I was just at the right age for this movie. To this day I have never been so deeply affected and terrified by a movie. Needless to say I've worshiped it ever since.

There are many good things to say about the movie, but some points I'd like to make I've not read others mention. To me the real "star" of this movie is NOT the Alien...well not just the Alien. It's the Alien-ness of the whole movie. It's the daring alchemy of mood, pacing, and imagery. The sequels that attempt to trade on the "scary monster" miss out entirely on what makes this movie great and scary. It does not matter IN THE LEAST that the monster is not quite up to the technical capabilities of todays movies. That's because it's not just the monster that's scary, it's the way it is presented. But that said, the monster...is REALLY freaking scary, even by todays standards... One other thing I'd like to mention is the great sound. If you are a "listener" there are lots of neat little details to behold in this movie that really work to support the atmosphere. My favorite example is when, in one climactic scene, a crew member enters the shuttle and closes the hatch. The change in atmosphere is immediate and profound just in the sound alone.

I'd also like to mention that I saw the re-release of this movie when it was in theaters and was rather disappointed. It was shown on one of those postage stamp screens in a small theater, and the visual effects did not seem quite as realistic as I had remembered them. Sitting behind me was a group of teenage boys that talked and generally annoyed those around them while the movie got going. While initially annoyed, they became my favorite part of seeing the movie again. For as they talked I realized they had no idea what the movie was about, or what to expect. It was funny to hear them complain, how they were bored, that they should have seen something else as the movie got going. But when the first bit of action happened, the scene in the alien ship, it suddenly got really quiet except for a few whispered comments like "...WTF was that!" From there on I could tell they were hooked, and as things got going even freaked. It was great to see this movies power held up.

All I want to say is, if you've never seen this movie do your best to not let anyone spoil the plot for you. See it on a really good screen with a really good sound system. Turn down the lights and forget about popcorn. With a little luck, and an open mind, you're in for the scare of your life...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2000
Format: DVD
That was the fitting tagline to this 1979 classic. Alien is certainly a masterpiece of the Sci-Fi/Horror genre. Ridley Scott's richly atmospheric and lavishily detailed direction immediately makes this a film that stands high above all of its rivals.
The story itself is simple and harkens back to those 1950's space creature pictures. The production design is simply marvelous. The design of the Nostromo is filled with realistic details, and creates a claustiphobic atmosphere. H.R Giger's contribution is simply breathtaking. His design of the derilict spaceship and the Alien itself has been much imitated since. The seven foot creature is truly a work of art. Only Aliens came close to really recaptuing the striking horror and beauty of the creature.
The cast which featured Sigourney Weaver in her debut, Tom Skerritt, Ian Holm. Yaphet Kotto, John Hurt, Veronica Cartwright and Harry Dean Stanton is diverse and each adds something to the film. The music score by Jerry Goldsmith is filled with all sorts of eerie & strange sounds and creates a stomach churning atmosphere.
The pace of the film is slow by todays standards, but it's what creates the build up for the several shocking encounters with the Alien. The 20th anniversary DVD is fiiled with extras, looks and sounds terrific and is a must have for fans of this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Alien Anthology [Blu-ray]
Alien Anthology [Blu-ray] by Sigourney Weaver (Blu-ray - 2010)
$35.15

Prometheus (Blu-ray/ DVD + Digital Copy)
Prometheus (Blu-ray/ DVD + Digital Copy) by Noomi Rapace (Blu-ray - 2012)
$7.99

Aliens [Blu-ray]
Aliens [Blu-ray] by Sigourney Weaver (Blu-ray - 2011)
$11.37
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.