Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on July 8, 2016
I don't even understand this. So this is an hour longer than the other version on Amazon and it's supposed to only be a minute longer. As taken from the Alien wiki: "The Director's Cut of Alien is an alternate version of the 1979 film, released in 2003. Contrary to the vast majority of so-called "director's cuts", it is actually a shortened version of the movie, decreasing the run time by around a minute, and features several alternate scenes not included the original theatrical version. Its creation was overseen by Alien director Ridley Scott." So please tell me how this is the Director's Cut. The other Alien available for purchase is most likely the Director's Cut as it says it has a "1 hour 56 minute" run time.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
Never got to finish it, your renting program sucks... this movie was made back in 1979, why would I have to rent it again when it will be on TV in the near future. stupid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
Ridley scott's classic ALIEN from 1979 has been given another blu-ray re-issue
by 20th Century fox
the first blu-ray release of ALIEN was back in 2011 but released with only little bit of extras
the extras are 2 Audio commentary tracks, one by Ridley scott
the 2nd commentary from some of the cast from the film
there's also Deleted & extended scenes aswell
the Making of Documentary that was produced for the 2003 special edition dvd is Gone from this blu-ray
no idea why 20th century fox didn't carry over the making of Documentary from the special edition dvd
that had new interviews with ridley scott and some of the cast and crew from the film
i think that is a total insult for fans
there's no reason why 20th century fox could've easily added the 2003 making of Documentary to this 2011 blu-ray
Quite a pathetic release if you ask me

it's now 2014, and 20th century fox have decided to re-issue some of their classic films again on blu-ray
as 35th Anniversary blu-ray editions
and ALIEN is one of those classics chosen for a 35th anniversary release
and i tell you what it is nothing special just another waste of money
this new blu-ray re-issue is just a re-packaging of ALIEN that's all it is
it's packaged as a cardboard box with a big thick booklet included and some photo cards
plus the ALIEN BLU-RAY case
the ALIEN BLU-RAY DISC is exactly the same as the 2011 release
with the exact same extras as the 2011 release
there are no new extras like a new featurette to celebrate the films 35th anniversary
all 20th century fox has done is just re-package the blu-ray release with a new booklet with some photos
and now they're trying to sell it just to get more cash, what an insult
personally as fan of the film i think it's a big insult.
if you already have the 2011 blu-ray release just keep it
it's a big waste of money to get this 35th anniversary release unless you want the new booklet of photos that come with it
i personally can't see the point, waste of money
i gave this 35th anniversary release just 1 star.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
The movie quality sucked. The audio was horrible to the point I couldn't understand much of what the characters were saying. The video quality wasn't much better. The movie itself is a classic and that's not my issue it was a quality alone.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
nomas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2016
Not compatible with iTunes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2011
Question: What good is the color Teal? What great work of art has ever had a predominate Teal cast? What great photo? Do they even make Teal filters for cameras?
The answer is a resounding no.
And more importantly, did Ridley Scott use a Teal filter when he photographed the movie Alien? Once again: The answer is a resounding no!
So why would the morons who remastered this warm, rich, amber film drain all the life blood out of it and convert it to a bleak, cool greenish blue vomit color?
Currently there is a group of idiots in Hollywood who are taking warm, rich, amber films and draining all the life out of them with the accursed never before existing Teal filter.
I was so shocked and angered by this transfer that I immediately got out my Alien 20th Anniversary Edition DVD and popped it in for a direct comparison.
It is night and day. The DVD has less resolution sure, but its colors and contrast are vastly, let me repeat, vastly superior to the new Blu-Ray of Alien.
Let me make this clear: LV-426 was an Orange/Brown planet not a sickly vomit colored Teal planet.
Do not under any circumstances stand for this type of abortion of a director's work. Has Ridley Scott ever made any film that was not warm, rich and amber?
I mean come on, this is his trade mark.
I give this film only one star because it is one of the greatest films of Sci-Fi, but this transfer is the worst possible transfer of a film ever besides Fellowship if the Ring which was also a victim of Teal and Aliens that went from being a predominantly electric blue film to being a sickly vomit colored Teal.
Avoid them all.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
Alien is a fantastic film, probably the first film I saw that incorporated elements of both sci-fi and horror genres so expertly. The blu-ray itself is the same as past blu-ray releases, the only thing new here is the reprint of the comic from the 70s and some cards of artist H.R. Giger's work.

I think it's a great set for an awesome movie (though I wish there was a little more Giger stuff in honor of his recent death).

The one star is because Amazon packaged this item in an envelope instead of a box. Seeing as blu-ray discs are fragile and require protection, and the fact that envelopes offer no protection, my copy was delivered to me smashed and beyond repair. So thanks.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
Dvd Skipped alot
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
The rating isnt for the film rather the service. This is my second time renting through amazon, and i waa hoping my first experience was a fluke, but the buffering and stalling completely ruined the movie for me. On netflix my movies stream fine, but on the clunky amazon viewer it is burdened.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse