Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
I am a big fan of Goodwin's stories and Simonson's art, and when I heard about this edition being shot directly from Simonson's original art boards, I decided to give this a try. I am so glad I did. The story treatment is excellent, the storytelling is smooth and exciting, and Simonson's art (even though maybe not as polished and sophisticated as it is today) is just a...
Published on November 1, 2012 by Alex Sheikman

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HUGE SIZED BOOK... BEWARE
I am huge Aliens fan and wanted to venture out and get some books to get "more of the story." This book is a large-sized book, so pay attention to dimensions or you may get a BIG surprise. Book is a bit too technicial for me, but it is something an Aliens fan might enjoy.
Published 15 months ago by DMC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, November 1, 2012
By 
Alex Sheikman (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a big fan of Goodwin's stories and Simonson's art, and when I heard about this edition being shot directly from Simonson's original art boards, I decided to give this a try. I am so glad I did. The story treatment is excellent, the storytelling is smooth and exciting, and Simonson's art (even though maybe not as polished and sophisticated as it is today) is just a pleasure to see this size. The rendering techniques are really fun and are remenisent of his earlier illustrations for Manhunter (a strip that he illustrated over another Goodwin script), but his figure work is much more solid.

Reading the introduction I learned that most of the lettering was done on different overlays and not on the original art, so in order to put this together Titan scanned both the original art boards and the lettering overlays and combined them to enable for folks to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ALIEN" Art Edition exceeds expectations..., November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a rabid fan of IDW publishing and their "Artists Edition" reprints of original art comic stories, and was excited when I saw the solicitation for this Walt Simonson edition from Titan Books. The cover itself is a knockout, the tone and texture of the reprinted internal pages are amazing, crystal clear with warts and all, the occasional scratch out or white out marks leap off the page. This was one of the first true graphic novel adaptations of a major motion picture, and Archie Goodwin and Walt Simonson had made a name for themselves as a team during their stellar run on DC comics "Manhunter" series that ran in Detective comics, and the team brings an epic moodiness and tone to this story. The adaptation is so well done that over 30 years later, none of the books original impact is lost. Toss in facsimile pages of the original Goodwin script, and some gorgeously colored Simonson pages and you have a world-class package. This edition falls squarely in "must-have" territory, it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny (and then some), October 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Whether you're a fan of Ridley Scott's film "Alien" or a fan of comic book artist Walt Simonson, this book is for you. Be warned: the book is oversized at 13.8" x 1 x 19.9". It's scanned directly from Walt's original art and reproduced at the same size. Since the pages are scanned from the originals they include corrections, paste-ups and even coffee stains. Also included in the book is Archie Goodwin's script, Walt's two page try-out for Fox (featuring a very different alien, since there were no reference pictures available), an interview with Walt and letterer John Workman, and an afterword by Walt. As a great companion piece to this book, order this one too:Alien - The Illustrated Story (Facsimile Cover Regular Edition). And If you're a fan of Mr. Simonson as I am, this book is even better:Walter Simonson's The Mighty Thor: Artist's Edition HC (rather pricey now).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for any Alien fan and/or makes a great gift., September 21, 2012
This review is from: Alien: The Illustrated Story (Paperback)
Titan Books recently published a new edition of Alien the Illustrated Story and I've been lucky enough to get a copy of it to review. Originally published by Heavy Metal Communications in 1979 and written by Archie Goodwin with art by Walter Simonson, this book design features scenes directly from the the blockbuster film by Ridley Scott. The story is well known to many due to the success of the Alien film franchise as it has entertained for two generations and still stands strong. The illustrated story has been out of print for nearly thirty years and this fresh version really stands out on its own as this new edition has been meticulously restored using original artwork from Simonson's studio. When you first start flipping through the pages, this book instantly reminds you of how some scripts, scenes, and sequences are simply timeless. This book would make a great gift for any Alien fan or comic collector. (Continue this review here: <...>)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reprint of the great 1979 graphic comic book, November 17, 2012
This review is from: Alien: The Illustrated Story (Paperback)
In outer space, the civilian mining ship the Nostromo completed its mission and is heading home with the crew sleeping in a cryo-frozen state. The Nostromo computer Mother wakes everyone up after receiving an alien distress message. They head to the source of the SOS and soon crewman Kane and others explore an alien ship where he finds an egg. At that moment humanity meets an Alien species.

This is a reprint of the great 1979 graphic comic book as Archie Goodwin brings the film's plot to life while Walt Simonson's fabulous illustrations enhance the tale with his pre computer generated art. Fans will appreciate this super adaptation of a fabulous horror science fiction movie.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Culture Breakdown, March 18, 2013
This review is from: Alien: The Illustrated Story (Paperback)
The Good: Great artwork. Very recognizable characters. The entire movie boiled down to less than 65 pages without missing anything even vaguely noticeable. An impressive accomplishment.

The Bad: I liked the movie enough. I'm not fanatical about it, but I think it was a good film. Good really isn't enough to fully enjoy the comic version. This really is solely for those who have an obsessive love of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - Bigger is better, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having been obsessed with W Simonson for the longest time, I'm happy to add this to my collection. Love the oversized printing and the great paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien: The Illustrated Story (Paperback)
all around incredible a masterpiece of the graphic novel genre!!!!!!! great artwork, the colors are fantastic!!!!i wish prometheus was like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the single best comic book film adaptations, ever!, November 28, 2012
This review is from: Alien: The Illustrated Story (Paperback)
I have a copy of the original print of this, and i must say it's pleasing to see this widely available again. Goodwin and Simonson do absolutely stellar work on this book. Unlike some adaptations, this one pulls no punches, or softens the impact to reach a wider audience. This is Alien with all it's horror, language and gore made into graphic novel form. I can't recommend this enough to any fan of the Alien franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a piece of history in Simonson's art, 80s style, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien: The Illustrated Story (Paperback)
This is what you have to expect:
1) the alien story (solid)
2) the usual Simonson's style (good, but "classic")
3) the coloring style typical of the 80s (bad respect to actual standards obviously)

make your choice (consider that I bought the b&w oversized hardcover version , too! I said enough....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Alien: The Illustrated Story
Alien: The Illustrated Story by Archie Goodwin (Paperback - September 4, 2012)
$14.95 $10.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.